2013, Thu, Dec 12

Anne Sauvanarges

Literature as an Experiment: Gilles Deleuze and Literature

Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari describe art as a capturing of forces. From their early works on, Deleuze´s book on Proust (1964) or Guattari´s texts on writing as a form of therapy for example, literature plays an eminent role in their philosophy.

The artistic effect of literature is not reducible to a purely linguistic dimension, but rather calls for a new semiotics that can not be traced back to the discursive exclusively: a capturing of forces, a new semiotics of the affects, a logic of sensation.

Moderator: Melanie Sehgal


Anne Sauvagnargues is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Paris Ouest Nanterre, and is in particular engaged with the contemporary philosophy of art, especially in reference to the thinking of Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari. She is a member of the editorial board of the journals Multitudes and Chimères. Amongst others she published Deleuze. De l'animal à l'art, Paris : PUF, 2004 ; Deleuze. L'empirisme transcendental, Paris : PUF 2011. Numerous articles of her also have been released in German.

Do, 12. Dezember 2013

Anne Sauvanarges

Literature as an Experiment: Gilles Deleuze and Literature

Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari bestimmen die Kunst als ein Einfangen von Kräften. Literatur spielt eine äußerst wichtige Rolle in ihrer Philosophie, seit den ersten Aufsätzen von Deleuze über Proust (1964) und den frühen Texten Guattaris über das Schreiben als Therapie.

Der künstlerische Effekt der Literatur lässt sich dabei nicht auf eine sprachliche Dimension reduzieren, sondern fordert eine neue Semiotik, die sich nicht exlusiv auf das Diskursive zurückführen lässt: ein Einfangen von Kräften, eine neue Semiotik der Affekte, eine Logik der Sensation.

Moderation: Melanie Seghal


Anne Sauvagnargues ist Professorin für Philosophie an der Universität Paris Ouest Nanterre und hat insbesondere zur gegenwärtigen Philosophie der Kunst, vor allem mit Blick auf das Denken Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattaris gearbeitet. Sie ist Redaktionsmitglied der Zeitschriften Multitudes und Chimères. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen u.a. Deleuze. De l'animal à l'art, Paris : PUF, 2004 ; Deleuze. L'empirisme transcendental, Paris : PUF 2011. Auch auf deutsch sind zahlreiche Aufsätze von ihr erschienen