2013, Sat, Jun 22

The Whole Earth - Conference

Curated by Diedrich Diederichsen & Anselm Franke

© Alex Slade, 2013

© Alex Slade, 2013

From eco-psychedelia to Internet neoliberalism: The CONFERENCE will revolve around questions of the legacy of the California counterculture. How did some of its concepts become global principles of new capitalistic “frontiers”? Roundtable discussions will explore the historical sources of, and connections between, discursive and political issues such as the ecological movement, cybernetics, anti-conformist cultures, new artistic practices that dissolve boundaries, and the transformations in these areas right up to the globalist network capitalism of the 1990s. Thus, the conference investigates the background conditions of the discourses that today, in the framework of the Anthropocene, are being negotiated, updated, or – in some cases – forgotten.

Conference Day 1 | Conference Day 2


2 pm Cybernetics and Holism

With Avery F. Gordon (writer, sociologist), Lars Bang Larsen (art historian, curator), and Laurence A. Rickels (theorist, therapist)

The panel will open up different perspectives on two ideological reference points of the counterculture: on the one hand, cybernetics, which originated in military research, and on the other, visions of holism derived from natural philosophy, esotericism, and ecology. The discussion will revolve around various motifs of inclusion and totalization: what does it mean when a system’s “outside” disappears?


Avery F. Gordon is a Professor of Sociology at the University of California/Santa Barbara and Visiting Faculty Fellow at Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths, University of London. Her work focuses on radical thought and practice. She writes about imprisonment, war, and dispossession.

Lars Bang Larsen is an art historian and curator, whose works consider aesthetic and theoretical questions related to counter cultures from the 1960s on. He recently completed his PhD thesis in art history, A History of Irritated Material. Psychedelic Concepts in Neo-Avant-Garde Art, at the University of Copenhagen.

Laurence A. Rickels is a professor of art and theory at the Karlsruhe Academy of Fine Arts and teaches media theory and philosophy at the European Graduate School. From 1981 to 2011 he taught German literature, comparative studies, art, and film at the University of California, Santa Barbara.


4 pm Structural Adjustments

With Mercedes Bunz (cultural scholar, reporter), Katja Diefenbach (theorist) and Tom Holert (historian, writer, artist).

The motifs and achievements of the counterculture have found especially fertile ground in the context of changing organizational forms in the economic, political, and educational-psychological spheres. A certain notion of empathy and spontaneity, the accompanying dissolution of the linear and hierarchical chains of decisions, and the values that emerged from the critique of a world dominated by corporations have become building blocks of a new training, management, and corporate culture.


Mercedes Bunz conducts research on digital media, society, and criticality. She heads a research team on digital publishing at the University of Lüneburg. Her most recent publication is Die Stille Revolution. Wie Algorithmen Wissen, Arbeit, Öffentlichkeit und Politik verändern, ohne dabei viel Lärm zu machen.

Katja Diefenbach is part of the Berlin publishers’ collective b_books, where she is responsible for the series Materialism and Politics. She teaches at the University of Fine Arts, Hamburg. She conducts research on French philosophy and epistemology of the present and has published works on transgression, subculture, and net criticism.

Tom Holert is an art historian, writer, and artist. The subject matter of his work ranges from contemporary and postmodern art to visual culture, politics, war, mobility, glamour, and the governmentality of the present.


6 pm End of Philosophy, Beginning of Cybernetics?

With Hans-Christian Dany (artist, author), Erich Hörl (media theorist, philosopher), and Eva Meyer (philosopher, author, filmmaker)

The ascent of cybernetics has frequently been linked with political and metaphysical problems of philosophy arising from the Second World War, the Holocaust, and the atomic bomb. Whether this crisis was to be diagnosed as historical or metaphysical, technological or cultural, played a surprisingly minor role. What kind of a rethinking is forced on philosophy by the rise of a digitally based global machine as envisioned by some neo-cyberneticists today?


Hans-Christan Dany lives and works as an artist and writer in Hamburg. Since 1989, he has published numerous pieces in books, catalogs and magazines, including Springerin, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Texte zur Kunst, Die Beute. Following his book "Speed. Eine Gesellschaft auf Droge" (“Speed. A Society on Drugs”) his latest work is due to appear in August: "Morgen werde ich Idiot. Kybernetik und Kontrollgesellschaft" (“Tomorrow, I’ll Be an Idiot. Cybernetics and the Control Society”).

Erich Hörl is a professor of media technology and media philosophy at the Ruhr University Bochum and heads the Bochumer Kolloquium Medienwissenschaft (Bochum Colloquium on Media Studies). He is currently investigating the general ecology of the media and technologies and the history and perspectives of cybernetization.

Eva Meyer, philosopher, author, and filmmaker, currently teaches at the Zurich University of the Arts. Among her publications are Zählen und Erzählen. Für eine Semiotik des Weiblichen (1983) and Frei und indirekt (2010). She collaborates with Eran Schaerf on audio-drama and film projects.


Conference Day 1 | Conference Day 2

Sa, 22. Juni 2013

The Whole Earth - Konferenz

Kuratiert von Diedrich Diederichsen & Anselm Franke

© Alex Slade, 2013

© Alex Slade, 2013

Von Öko-Psychedelia zum Internet-Neoliberalismus: Die Diskussionen der KONFERENZ kreisen um Fragen nach dem Erbe der kalifornischen Gegenkultur. Wie kam es, dass einige ihrer Konzepte zu globalen Prinzipien neuer kapitalistischer "Frontiers" wurden? Roundtables erörtern die historischen Quellen und Bezüge von Diskurs- und Politikfeldern wie der Ökologiebewegung, der Kybernetik, der anti-konformistischen Kulturen, der neuen Kunstpraxen im Zeichen der Entgrenzung sowie deren Transformationen bis zum globalistischen Netzwerkkapitalismus der 1990er-Jahre. Untersucht werden damit die Hintergrundbedingungen jener Diskurse, die heute im Begriff vom Anthropozän verhandelt, aktualisiert oder auch vergessen werden.

Konferenztag 1 | Konferenztag 2


14 h Kybernetik und Ganzheitlichkeit

Mit Avery F. Gordon (Schriftstellerin, Soziologin), Lars Bang Larsen (Kunsthistoriker, Kurator) und Laurence A. Rickels (Theoretiker, Therapeut)

Das Panel erschließt unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf zwei ideologische Bezugspunkte der Gegenkultur: die aus der militärischen Forschung hervorgegangene Kybernetik einerseits und aus Naturphilosophie, Esoterik und Ökologie stammende Visionen von Ganzheitlichkeit andererseits. Gegenstand der Diskussion sind verschiedenen Motive der Einschließung und Totalisierung: Was bedeutet das Verschwinden eines Außerhalb der Systeme?


Avery F. Gordon ist Professorin für Soziologie an der University of California/Santa Barbara und Gastdozentin am Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths, University of London. Ihre Arbeiten befassen sich mit radikalen Formen des Denkens und Handelns. Sie schreibt über Gefangenschaft, Krieg und Enteignung.

Lars Bang Larsen ist ein Kunsthistoriker und Kurator, der sich mit ästhetischen und theoretischen Fragen zu Gegenkulturen seit den 1960ern beschäftigt. Kürzlich promovierte er mit der kunstgeschichtlichen Arbeit A History of Irritated Material, Psychedelic Concepts in Neo-Avant-Garde Art an der Universität Kopenhagen.

Laurence A. Rickels ist Professor für Kunst und Theorie an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Karlsruhe und unterrichtet Medientheorie und Philosophie an der European Graduate School. Von 1981 bis 2011 unterrichtete er Deutsche Literatur, Komparatistik, Kunst und Film an der University of California/Santa Barbara.


16 h Strukturanpassungen

Mit Mercedes Bunz (Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Reporterin), Katja Diefenbach (Theoretikerin) und Tom Holert (Kunsthistoriker, Publizist und Künstler).

Die Motive und Errungenschaften der Gegenkultur erweisen sich gerade im Umbau von wirtschaftlichen, politischen und pädagogisch-psychologischen Organisationsstrukturen als besonders erfolgreich. Ein bestimmter Begriff von Empathie und Spontaneität sowie die damit verbundene Auflösung linearer und hierarchischer Entscheidungsketten und die aus der Kritik an einer von Unternehmen beherrschten Welt hervorgegangenen Werte werden zu Bausteinen einer neuen Verwaltungs-, Unterweisungs- und Unternehmenskultur.


Mercedes Bunz forscht zu digitalen Medien, Gesellschaft und Kritikalität. An der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg leitet sie ein Forschungsteam zum digitalen Publizieren. Zuletzt erschien von ihr Die Stille Revolution. Wie Algorithmen Wissen, Arbeit, Öffentlichkeit und Politik verändern, ohne dabei viel Lärm zu machen.

Katja Diefenbach ist Teil des Berliner Verlagskollektivs b_books und lehrt zur Zeit an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste, Hamburg. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind französische Philosophie und Epistemologie der Gegenwart. Neben zahlreichen Artikeln zur Frage des Politischen im Postmarxismus publizierte sich auch über Transgression, Subkultur und Netzkritik.

Tom Holert, Kunsthistoriker, Publizist und Künstler, befasst sich mit zeitgenössischer und nachmoderner Kunst sowie visueller Kultur, Politik, Krieg, Mobilität, Glamour und der Gouvernmentalität der Gegenwart.


18 h Ende der Philosophie, Beginn der Kybernetik?

Mit Hans-Christian Dany (Künstler und Autor), Erich Hörl (Medientheoretiker, Philosoph) und Eva Meyer (Philosophin, Autorin, Filmemacherin)

Der Aufstieg der Kybernetik ist immer wieder in Verbindung gebracht worden mit den politischen und metaphysischen Problemen der Philosophie im Ausgang von zweitem Weltkrieg, Holocaust und Atombombe. Ob hier eine historische oder metaphysische, eine technologische oder kulturelle Krise zu diagnostizieren war, blieb dabei erstaunlich unwichtig. Zu welchem Umdenken ist die Philosophie angesichts einer digital basierten Weltmaschine – wie sie sich manche Neo-Kybernetiker heute erträumen – gezwungen?


Hans-Christan Dany lebt als Künstler und Autor in Hamburg. Seit 1989 zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen in Büchern, Katalogen und Zeitschriften wie u.a. Springerin, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, Texte zur Kunst, Die Beute. Nach seinem Buch „Speed. Eine Gesellschaft auf Droge“ erscheint im August „Morgen werde ich Idiot. Kybernetik und Kontrollgesellschaft“.

Erich Hörl ist Professor für Medientechnik und Medienphilosophie an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum und leitet das Bochumer Kolloquium Medienwissenschaft. Aktuell forscht er zur allgemeinen Ökologie der Medien und Techniken sowie zu Geschichte und Perspektiven der Kybernetisierung.

Eva Meyer, Philosophin, Autorin und Filmemacherin, lehrt gegenwärtig an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste. Zu ihren Publikationen zählen u. a. Zählen und Erzählen. Für eine Semiotik des Weiblichen (1983, NA 2013) und Frei und indirekt, 2010. (Zusammen mit Eran Schaerf arbeitet sie an Film- und Hörspielprojekten.) Letztes Hörspiel: Das digital geborene Ich (2011). Letzter Film (mit Eran Schaerf): Protesting (2010).


Konferenztag 1 | Konferenztag 2


The Whole Earth. Kalifornien und das Verschwinden des Außen wird gefördert vom Hauptstadtkulturfonds.

Unterstützt von der Botschaft der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika und von FWD I Präsentiert von tip, taz – die tageszeitung, De:Bug, ExBerliner, reboot.fm