2013, Fri, May 31

The Blue Planet – The History of an Image

Conversation with Anselm Franke

What happened when humankind saw planet earth for the first time? What effects do iconic images such as the blue planet or the atomic mushroom cloud over Hiroshima have on our perceptions? How did it come about that romantic tradition and belief in progress shared a symbiosis in the California of the 1970s?

In HKW Wissensclub # 3, curator Anselm Franke and Silvia Fehrmann discuss and explain why images and ideas from 1970s California continue to influence our society to this day. If you are interested in new questions from the realms of art and scholarship, HKW.Wissensclub is just for you.


From 2006 - 2010, Anselm Franke was director of the exhibition hall "Extra City" in Antwerp, where he curated a number of projects, including "Sergei Eisenstein – The Mexican Drawings" and "Mimetismé". He was co-curator of Manifesta 7 (2008) and the Brussels Biennial (2009). He is currently co-curator of the "Forum Expanded" at the Berlin International Film Festival and visiting lecturer at the Goldsmiths, University of London and the Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. In 2012, he was curator of the Taipei Biennale. He has been head of the visual arts and film department at HKW since 2013.


Moderation: Silvia Fehrmann

Fr, 31. Mai 2013

Der blaue Planet – die Geschichte eines Bildes

Gespräch mit Anselm Franke

Was geschah, als der Mensch zum ersten Mal die Erde sah? Wie wirken ikonische Bilder wie der blaue Planet oder der Hiroshima-Atompilz auf unsere Vorstellungen? Wie kam es dazu, dass im Kalifornien der 1970er Jahre die Romantik-Tradition und der Fortschrittsglauben eine Symbiose feierten?

Im HKW Wissensclub # 3 erläutert Kurator Anselm Franke im Gespräch mit Silvia Fehrmann, warum Bilder und Ideen aus dem Kalifornien der 1970er Jahre bis in unsere Gesellschaft einwirken. Wer sich für neue Fragen aus Kunst und Wissenschaft interessiert, findet im HKW.Wissensclub den richtigen Rahmen.


Anselm Franke war von 2006 - 2010 Direktor der Kunsthalle "Extra City" in Antwerpen, wo er u. a. "Sergei Eisenstein - The Mexican Drawings" und "Mimetismé" kuratierte. Er war Ko-Kurator der Manifesta 7 (2008) und der Brüsseler Biennale (2009). Er ist Ko-Kurator des "Forum Expanded" der Berlinale und hat einen Forschungsauftrag an der Goldsmiths, University of London und an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. 2012 war er Kurator der Taipei Biennale. Seit 2013 ist er Leiter des Programmbereichs Bildende Kunst und Film am HKW.


Moderation: Silvia Fehrmann