2013, Sun, Jan 13

History on an Expanded Canvas: The Anthropocene’s Invitation

Dipesh Chakrabarty

Keynote by Dipesh Chakrabarty (Department of History, University of Chicago). Introduction and talk: Jürgen Renn (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)


If climate scientists have become social historians, how can one translate their findings and construct an aggregate, common narrative that is not only legible to both localized sociologies and planetary geophysics, but effectively integrates both these positions? Post-colonial theorist and historian Dipesh Chakrabarty reflects on potentialities of past and future narratives within the Anthropocene. What kinds of empowerment and disempowerment do these collaborative and multifaceted storytellings imply for the Anthropocene? Chakrabarty engages with the proposed necessity of associating the histories of the earth and that of humans in order to effectively open up intellectual pathways towards the dissolution of modernity’s misunderstandings concerning human agency and capitalistic freedom.



Dipesh Chakrabarty (Chicago)is professor in the Department of History and the Department of South Asian languages and Civilizations at the University of Chicago. He is a founding member of the editorial collective of Subaltern Studies and a founding editor of the journal Postcolonial Studies. His current projects are on the implications of the science of climate change for historical and political thinking, democracy and political thought in South Asia, and a cultural history of Muslim-Bengali nationalism.


Jürgen Renn (Berlin) is head of the department of “Structural Changes in Systems of Knowledge” of the Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin, honorary professor for History of Science at Humboldt Universität, Berlin, and adjunct professor for philosophy and physics at Boston University. His research interests include structural changes in systems of knowledge in the natural sciences, comparative studies of the emergence and development of mechanical thinking in Europe and China, and studies on the relativity revolution.


An event within the framework of
null

So, 13. Januar 2013

History on an Expanded Canvas: The Anthropocene’s Invitation

Dipesh Chakrabarty

Keynote von Dipesh Chakrabarty (Department of History, University of Chicago). Einführung und Gespräch: Jürgen Renn (Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin)


Wenn Klimawissenschaftler zu Zivilisations- und Gesellschaftshistorikern geworden sind, wie kann man dann ihre Erkenntnisse übersetzen und eine Gesamterzählung konstruieren, die nicht nur lokalen Soziologien oder einer planetarischen Geophysik verständlich ist, sondern beide Positionen integriert? Der Historiker und postkoloniale Theoretiker Dipesh Chakrabarty, denkt über das Potenzial vergangener und zukünftiger Erzählungen innerhalb des Anthropozäns nach. Welche Arten der Ermächtigung beziehungsweise Entmachtung repräsentieren diese kollaborativen und vielfältigen Erzählungen? Chakrabarty schlägt eine Verbindung von Erdgeschichte und Menschheitsgeschichte vor, um die Missverständnisse der Moderne über menschliche Handlungsmacht und kapitalistische Freiheit neu zu diskutieren.



Dipesh Chakrabarty (Chicago) ist Professor am Department of History und dem Department of South Asian Languages and Civilizations an der University of Chicago. Er ist Gründungsmitglied und Mitherausgeber der Zeitschrift Postcolonial Studies. Seine aktuellen Projekte befassen sich mit den Implikationen des Klimawandels für das politische und historische Denken, für Demokratie und politisches Denken in Südasien und der Kulturgeschichte des muslimisch-bengalischen Nationalismus.


Jürgen Renn (Berlin) ist Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin und dort Leiter der Abteilung „Strukturwandel von Wissenssystemen, zudem Honorarprofessur an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Freien Universität Berlin. Zu seinen Forschungsinteressen gehören die langfristige Entwicklung von Wissenssystemen, der interkulturelle Austausch von Wissen sowie Transformationsprozesse von Wissensstrukturen und ihre gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen.


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null