2013, Fri, Jan 11

Island: Times

With Claire Colebrook (Department of English, Pennsylvania State University, University Park), Nikolaus Geyrhalter (Documentary filmmaker, Vienna), Daniel Rosenberg (Department of History, University of Oregon, Eugene), Jan Zalasiewicz (Department of Geology, University of Leicester). Moderation: Reinhold Leinfelder (Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften, Freie Universität Berlin)


This island seeks to sensitize our perception to the simultaneous and divergent temporalities implicit in the Anthropocene idea. If our being-in-the-world can be seen as one immersed in the times and spaces surrounding it, then we could consider our experience of time as a condition, a status subject to negotiation as well as manipulation. Cultural, biological, and geological times seem to fold onto one another, partly compressed to discrete quantities of condensed happening, partly expanding to unfathomable re-scalings beyond our capacity for foresight. Cyclic turns, hallucinatory curvatures, disassociative textures, unquantifiable times converge onto the complex continuum of being. In terms of the political task to enact decisions, how does the transformation of our times influence our ability to take a proscriptive or retrospective view on our actions and their effects?

Claire Colebrook (University Park, PA) is professor of English at Penn State University. Her areas of specialization are contemporary literature, visual culture, and theory and cultural studies. She has written articles on poetry, literary theory, queer theory, and contemporary culture. She is the editor of the book Extinction published in 2012 as well as co-editor of the Series "Critical Climate Change" and member of the advisory board of the Institute for Critical Climate Change.


Nikolaus Geyrhalter (Vienna) is a director, author, producer, and documentary filmmaker. Within his films he tries to eliminate the hierarchies between materials, things and persons by a specific formal approach to static camera shots and a focus on processes of human labor, decay and ritual. His most well known film "Our Daily Bread" (2005) shows processes of food production without commentary or subtitles.


Reinhold Leinfelder (Berlin) is a geologist and professor at Freie Universität Berlin (head of the study group Geobiologie und Anthropozänforschung) and at Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. He ia a memberof the Wissenschaftlicher Beirat der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen and of the Sachverständigenbeirat für Naturschutz und Landschaftspflege des Landes Berlin.


Daniel Rosenberg (Eugene, OR) is professor of history at the Robert D. Clark Honors College, University of Oregon. He specializes in questions of historical representation.With Anthony Grafton, he is author of"Cartographies of Time: A History of the Timeline" (2010) and with Susan Hardin, "Histories of the Future" (2005). He is editor-at-large of Cabinet: A Quarterly of Art and Culture. His current work concerns the history of data.


Jan Zalasiewicz (Leicester) is a senior lecturer in geology at the university of Leicester, UK, and member of the Stratigraphy Commission of the Geological Society, London,a body of scientists which has been notably involved in analyzing the Anthropocene phenomenon. He teaches various aspects of geology and earth history and is a researcher into fossil ecosystems and environments across over half a billion years of geological time.

An event within the framework of
null

Fr, 11. Januar 2013

Insel: Zeiten

Mit Claire Colebrook (Department of English, Pennsylvania State University, University Park), Nikolaus Geyrhalter (Filmemacher, Wien), Daniel Rosenberg (Department of History, University of Oregon, Eugene), Jan Zalasiewicz (Department of Geology, University of Leicester). Moderation: Reinhold Leinfelder (Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften, Freie Universität Berlin)


Diese Insel will unsere Wahrnehmung für die simultanen und divergierenden Zeitlichkeiten sensibilisieren, die der Idee des Anthropozäns innewohnen. Betrachtet man das In-der-Welt-Sein als etwas, das tief in seiner zeitlichen und räumlichen Umgebung verwurzelt ist, dann könnte unsere Erfahrung von Zeit als ein verhandelbarer, ja manipulierbarer Zustand begriffen werden. Kulturelle, biologische und geologische Zeiten falten sich in- und übereinander – teils komprimiert zu einem diskreten Quantum verdichteten Geschehens, teils ausgedehnt in unermessliche Breiten –, die unsere Fähigkeit, Voraussagen zu treffen, bei weitem übersteigt. Zyklische Wendungen, dissoziative Strukturen, unmessbare Zeiten verbinden sich zu einem komplexen Kontinuum des Seins. In wieweit sind wir – mit Blick auf die politische Aufgabe, Entscheidungen umzusetzen – in der Lage, die Folgen unserer Handlungen vorausschauend oder rückblickend abzuschätzen und zu bewerten?


Claire Colebrook (University Park) ist Professorin für Anglistik an der Penn State University. Zu ihren Forschungsgebieten gehören zeitgenössische Literatur, Bildkultur und Kulturwissenschaft. Sie hat über Lyrik, Literaturtheorie, Queer Theory und zeitgenössische Kultur publiziert und ist Herausgeberin des Buchs "Extinction" (2012) und Mitherausgeberin der Reihe "Critical Climate Change" (Open Humanities Press) sowie Mitglied des Beirats des Institute for Critical Climate Change.


Nikolaus Geyrhalter (Wien) ist Regisseur, Autor, Produzent und Dokumentarfilmer. In seinen Filmen durchbricht er Hierarchien zwischen Materialien, Dingen und Personen mit einem spezifischen Ansatz statischer Kameraeinstellungen und einem Fokus auf Prozesse menschlicher Arbeit, Verfallsprozesse und Rituale. Sein bekanntester Film "Unser täglich Brot" (2005) zeigt Prozesse der Lebensmittelherstellung ohne jeglichen Kommentar oder Untertitel.


Reinhold Leinfelder (Berlin) ist Geologe und Professor an der Freien Universität Berlin (Leiter der AG Geobiologie und Anthropozänforschung) und am Rachel Carson Center for Environment and Society an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Er ist Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen und des Sachverständigenbeirats für Naturschutz und Landschaftspflege des Landes Berlin.


Daniel Rosenberg (Eugene)ist Professor für Geschichte am Robert D. Clark Honors College, University of Oregon. Er ist auf Fragen der historischen Repräsentation spezialisiert. Mit Anthony Grafton ist er Ko-Autor von "Cartographies of Time: A History of the Timeline" (2010), mit Susan Hardin veröffentlichte er "Histories of the Future" (2005). Er ist freier Redakteur von Cabinet: A Quarterly of Art and Culture. Seine aktuelle Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit der Geschichte von Daten.


Jan Zalasiewicz (Leicester/London) ist Senior Lecturer an der University of Leicester und Mitglied der Stratigraphy Commission der Geological Society, London, einer Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern, die eine herausragende Rolle bei der Analyse des Anthropozän-Phänomens spielen. Er unterrichtet verschiedene Aspekte der Geologie und Erdgeschichte und erforscht fossile Ökosysteme und Umweltphänomene über eine halbe Milliarde Jahre Erdgeschichte.


Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null