2013, Fri, Jan 11

Geontologies: A Requiem to Late Liberalism

Elizabeth A. Povinelli

Keynote by Elizabeth A. Povinelli (Department of Anthropology at Columbia University, New York). Introduction and talk: Ethel Matala de Mazza (Institut für deutsche Literatur, Humboldt-Universität, Berlin)


Much critical theory has attempted to think life outside of the “human,” yet most applications of the Anthropocene have focused on how humanity might find a way to keep its way of life without loosing the “human.” Is the Anthropocene, then, a framework for humanizing or environmentalizing capitalism without losing capitalism? Departing from the premise that Western political theory is rooted in the carbon cycle, where life is seen as a metabolic ring of growth, reproduction and degeneration, Povinelli tackles the “carbon imaginary” of biopolitics. She considers the diverse local arrangements of “life” in relation to the technological procedures of maintenance and renewal. What forms of being are privileged to lay claim to life or to preserve the earth’s being-processes?



Ethel Matala de Mazza (Berlin) studied German literature, philosophy, linguistics, and art history in Bochum, Paris, and Munich, and is a professor at Humboldt-Universität, Berlin. Her research focuses on the literary and theoretical history of the political imaginary and the mutual relations between law and literature as well as questions of cultural theory.


Elizabeth A. Povinelli (New York) is professor of anthropology and gender studies at Columbia University. Her research seeks to produce a critical theory of late liberalism. She is the author of four books, the latest one being "Economies of Abandonment: Social Belonging and Endurance in Late Liberalism" (2011). "The Cunning of Recognition" (2011). "Karrabing-Low Tide Turning", a film she co-directed with Liza Johnson, was selected for the Berlinale Shorts Competition in 2012.


An event within the framework of
null

Fr, 11. Januar 2013

Geontologies: A Requiem to Late Liberalism

Elizabeth A. Povinelli

Keynote von Elizabeth A. Povinelli (Department of Anthropology, Columbia University, New York). Einführung und Gespräch: Ethel Matala de Mazza (Institut für deutsche Literatur, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)


Ein Großteil Kritischer Theorie versucht, Leben außerhalb des „Menschlichen“ zu denken, während die meisten anthropozän inspirierten Fragestellungen sich darauf konzentrieren, wie der Mensch seine Lebensweise beibehalten kann, ohne „unmenschlich“ zu werden. Schafft das Anthropozän also Rahmenbedingungen, um dem Kapitalismus ein menschliches oder umweltgerechtes Antlitz zu verleihen, ohne ihn aufgeben zu müssen? Elizabeth A. Povinelli fasst die westliche politische Theorie in der Metapher und Biopolitik des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs zusammen, in der das Leben als zirkuläres Stoffwechselsystem aus Wachstum, Fortpflanzung und Verfall betrachtet wird. Sie setzt verschiedene lokale Arrangements von „Leben“ in Bezug zu Technologien des Erhalts und der Erneuerung. Welche Wesen und welche Arten des Seins sind privilegiert, Leben zu beanspruchen oder die Seinsprozesse der Erde zu bewahren?

Ethel Matala de Mazza (Berlin) hat Germanistik, Philosophie, Linguistik und Kunstgeschichte in Bochum, Paris und München studiert und ist Professorin an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Literatur- und Theoriegeschichte des politischen Imaginären, Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Recht und Literatur sowie Fragen der Kulturtheorie.


Elizabeth A. Povinelli (New York) ist Professorin für Anthropologie und Gender Studies an der Columbia University. Ihre Forschung zielt darauf ab, eine kritische Theorie des späten Liberalismus zu formulieren. Sie ist die Autorin von vier Büchern, deren jüngstes, "Economies of Abandonment: Social Belonging and Endurance in Late Liberalism" (Duke University Press), 2011 erschien. "Karrabing-Low Tide Turning", ein Film, bei dem sie gemeinsam mit Liza Johnson Regie führte, wurde für den Kurzfilmwettbewerb der Berlinale 2012 ausgewählt.

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von
null