2012, Thu, Jul 26

Édouard Glissant – Un Monde en Relation (One World in Relation)

Éduard Glissant | © Yves Billy

Éduard Glissant | © Yves Billy

The philosopher, essayist and cultural theorist Édouard Glissant is considered a forerunner of thinking on globalization and a world of diversity and interrelations. The documentary film “Un Monde en Relation“ by Manthia Diawara accompanies the late Glissant, who died last year, as he speaks about the poetry of relations. It compiles a mosaic of conversations between the philosopher and the filmmaker on their sea voyage to Glissant’s native Martinique as they explore our understanding of relation. In the interviews, Glissant clarifies his theory of globality as a continual process of relating.

Édouard Glissant – Un Monde en Relation (One World in Relation)
D: Manthia Diawara
USA/Mali 2010, 52 min, French with English subtitles

Relation is a space which does not relate this with that, rather everything with everything – that was how Édouard Glissant described his poetry of diversity. Like no other, his essays developed a Utopian view of our world of diversity beyond homogenizing interventions – a nomadic and connecting way of thinking in an archipelago of differences. Following the screening of the documentary, film expert and director Manthia Diawara and the Kenyan writer and essayist Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩmaker discuss the collaborative cosmos opened up for contemporary south-south and other relations by Glissant’s thought.



Discussion with Manthia Diawara (USA/Mali) and Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩ (USA/Kenya), Moderated by: Barbara Wahlster

Manthia Diawara is a writer, film producer, cultural theorist and art historian. He was born in 1953 in Mali and now lives in New York, where he is Director of the Institute of Afro-American Affairs at New York University. His dissertation on the topic of politics and aesthetics in African cinema laid the groundwork for his further research, with which he has made a significant contribution to “Black Studies”. His publications include “Black American Cinema” (Routledge: 1993), “We won’t Budge: An African Exile in the World”(Basic Civitas Books, 2003), “African Film: New Forms of Aesthetics and Politics” (Prestel, 2010) among others.

Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩ was born in America in 1971, grew up in Kenya and returned to the US to study political sciences and creative writing. He now lives in Norwalk, Connecticut. He writes journalistic columns, monographs and poetry. His best-known works include “Nairobi Heat” (Penguin, 2009) and his novel manuscript “The First and Second Books of Transition”, for which he was short-listed for the Penguin Prize for African Writing. He has published articles in various magazines such as World Literature Review or Black Commentator and writes popular columns for the Guardian and the BBC. In the fall of 2012 he is due to take up a post as Junior Professor of English, specializing in English-language African Literature of the 20th Century, at Cornwell University in New York.

Barbara Wahlster has worked for many years as a freelance writer, journalist and critic. She has frequently been published by international magazines, has translated works from French, completed lengthy stays abroad for research purposes and has also been involved in development and aid work. Alongside Theresia Birkenhauer and Barbara Hahn, she co-edited the collection of essays, “Theater-Theorie. Zwischen Szene und Sprache” (Vorwerk 8, 2008). She was Max-Kade Visiting Professor at Vanderbilt-University in Nashville, USA and now heads up the Literature department at Deutschlandradio Kultur.

Do, 26. Juli 2012

Denken mit Glissant – One World in Relation

Éduard Glissant | © Yves Billy

Éduard Glissant | © Yves Billy

Der Philosoph, Essayist und Kulturtheoretiker Édouard Glissant gilt als Vordenker der Globalität und einer Welt der Vielheit und Beziehungen. Der Dokumentarfilm „Un Monde en Relation“ von Manthia Diawara begleitet den 2011 verstorbenen Glissant und lässt ihn von der Poetik der Relationen erzählen. Wie ein Mosaik setzt er eine Fülle von Gesprächen zusammen, die der Philosoph und der Filmemacher auf der Seereise nach Martinique, dem Geburtsort Glissants, geführt haben und die sich am Begriff der Relation entspinnen. In den Interviewclips verdeutlicht Glissant seine Idee der Globalität als fortlaufender Prozess des In-Beziehung-Setzens.

Denken mit Glissant – One World in Relation
R: Manthia Diawara
USA/Mali 2010, 52 min, französische OmE

Die Relation ist ein Raum, der nicht dieses mit jenem, sondern alles mit allem verbindet – so umschrieb Édouard Glissant seine Poetik der Vielheit. Wie kein anderer hat er in seinen Schriften eine utopische Sicht auf unsere Welt der Verschiedenheit jenseits homogenisierender Zugriffe entwickelt - ein nomadisches und verbindendes Denken in einer Inselwelt der Vielheiten. Welchen kollaborativen Kosmos Glissants Denken für gegenwärtige Süd-Süd und andere Beziehungen eröffnen kann, darüber sprechen im Anschluss an die Dokumentation der Filmwissenschaftler und Regisseur Manthia Diawara und der kenianische Schriftsteller und Essayist Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩ.



Gespräch in englischer Sprache mit Manthia Diawara (USA/Mali) und Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩ (USA/Kenia), Moderation: Barbara Wahlster

Manthia Diawara ist Schriftsteller, Filmproduzent, Kulturwissenschaftler, und Kunsthistoriker. Er wurde 1953 in Mali geboren und lebt nun in New York, wo er an der New York University den Vorsitz des African Studies Department inne hat. Mit seiner Dissertation zum Thema der Politik und Ästhetik im afrikanischen Kino legte er den Grundstein für seine weitere Forschung, mit der er einen relevanten Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung im Bereich der „Black Studies“ leistet. Er verfasste unter anderem Black American Cinema (Routledge: 1993), „We won’t Budge: An African Exile in the World“(Basic Civitas Books, 2003), “African Film: New Forms of Aesthetics and Politics” (Prestel, 2010) und weitere.

Mũkoma wa Ngũgĩ wurde 1971 in Amerika geboren, wuchs in Kenia auf und kehrte dann für sein Studium der Politikwissenschaften und des Creative Writing in die USA zurück, wo er derzeit in Norwalk, Cennecticut lebt. Er übt sowohl journalistische Tätigkeiten aus, verfasst Monografien und schreibt Gedichte. Zu seinen bekanntesten Werken zählen „Nairobi Heat“ (Penguin, 2009) und sein Romanmanuskript „The First and Second Books of Transition“, mit dem er für die Short List des Penguin Prize for African Writing nominiert wurde. Er veröffentlichte in unterschiedlichen Magazinen wie World Literature Review oder Black Commentator und führt erfolgreiche Kolumnen für den Guardian und BBC . Ab Herbst 2012 wird er eine Juniorprofessur für Englisch mit einer Spezialisierung auf englischsprachige afrikanische Literatur des 20. Jahrhunderts an der Cornwell University in New York inne haben.

Barbara Wahlster arbeitete lange Zeit als freie Autorin, Journalistin und Kritikerin. Sie veröffentlichte häufig für internationale Magazine, übersetzte werke aus dem Französischen, lebte zu Forschungszwecken längere Zeit im Ausland und war zudem in der Entwicklungsarbeit tätig. Zusammen mit Theresia Birkenhauer und Barbara Hahn war sie Mitherausgeberin der Aufsatzsammlung Theater-Theorie. Zwischen Szene und Sprache (Vorwerk 8, 2008). Nachdem sie Max-Kade Visiting Professor in Amerika an der Vanderbilt-University in Nashville war, leitet sie derzeit die Literaturabteilung beim Deutschland-Radio Kultur.