2012, Sat, Aug 11

Juan de Marcos & Afro Cuban All Stars

Big Band made up of only the Best >>>> Open Air! <<<<

Juan de Marcos | Foto &copy; Sarkis Boyadjian

Juan de Marcos | Foto © Sarkis Boyadjian

Without him, the legendary Buena Vista Social Club sessions would never have been possible: it was he who brought together the eminent greats of Cuban danzón music for recording sessions with Ry Cooder in the Panart studios.

But there’s more to Juan de Marcos than a life-long knowledge of Cuban music, he is also a gifted singer and "Tresero". The tres may look like a guitar but is actually a rhythm instrument. De Marco soaked up the tres at the “Rumbas de solar“, the all-night Rumba parties to which his father would take him. Later, he studied classical guitar at the National Conservatory of Music in Havana. He picked up tips from masters such as Vicente Gonzalez and Leopoldina Nunez. Since 1978, he has been leading bands on a mission to revive Cuban dance music, son and danzón. No wonder the the All Stars’ album, which was recorded parallel to Buena Vista Social Club, was nominated for a Grammy.



Traffic restrictions From 23 July, John-Foster-Dulles-Allee is closed to motorized traffic between Haus der Kulturen der Welt and Spreeweg. The Haus is still accessible to drivers coming from the direction of the Reichstag but parking is severely restricted. The 100 Bus route will be diverted to Straße des 17. Juni and there is a provisional bus stop “Haus der Kulturen der Welt”. More...

Sa, 11. August 2012

Juan de Marcos & Afro Cuban All Stars

Big Band der Besten >>>> Open Air! <<<<

Juan de Marcos | Foto &copy; Sarkis Boyadjian

Juan de Marcos | Foto © Sarkis Boyadjian

Ohne ihn wären die legendären Buena-Vista-Social-Club-Sessions nie möglich gewesen: Er führte die altehrwürdigen Größen der kubanischen Salontanzmusik zusammen zu den Aufnahmesessions mit Ry Cooder im Panart-Studio.

Juan de Marcos ist aber nicht nur Kenner der Musik Kubas von Kindesbeinen an, er ist als begnadeter Sänger und "Tresero" bekannt. Die Tres mag wie eine Gitarre aussehen, ist aber Rhythmusinstrument. Das Tres-Spiel saugte de Marco bei den „Rumbas de solar“ auf, den nächtelangen Rumba-Partys, zu denen ihn sein Vater mitnahm. Klassische Gitarre lernte er später am Konservatorium von Havanna, Geheimtipps holte er sich von den Meistern Vicente Gonzalez und Leopoldina Nunez. Seit 1978 leitet er Bands mit der Mission, eine Renaissance der kubanischen Tanzmusik, von Son und Danzón einzuleiten. Kein Wunder, dass das Album der All Stars, das parallel zu Buena Vista Social Club entstand, Grammy-nominiert wurde.



Geänderte Zufahrt Ab 23. Juli ist die John-Foster-Dulles-Allee zwischen Haus der Kulturen der Welt und Spreeweg wegen Fahrbahnarbeiten gesperrt. Vom Reichstag kommend erreichen Sie das Haus mit dem Auto, Parkmöglichkeiten sind aber sehr begrenzt. Der Bus 100 verkehrt über die Straße des 17. Juni und hält an der Ersatzhaltestelle „Haus der Kulturen der Welt“. Mehr...