2012, Sat, Mar 17

Animism

Conference Day 1 | Day 2

2 pm Roundtable 2: Animism and Capitalism
(in English)

The second roundtable questions the concept’s history in relation to the critique of the commodity form and its alleged animation. It explores the historical problem of the animation of matter in relation to economy, to desire, and recent transformations of the capitalist imagesphere.

With: Avery F. Gordon (Professor for Sociology at the University of California/Santa Barbara), Tom Holert (art historian and publicist, Berlin), Angela Melitopoulos (visual artist, Berlin) / Maurizio Lazzarato (sociologist and philosopher, Paris), Isabelle Stengers (Professor for The Science of Philosophy at the Université Libre de Bruxelles)
Moderation: Anselm Franke

4.15 – 6 pm Roundtable 3: Animism and Politics
(in English)

The third roundtable is devoted to the political implications of the discussion. It revolves around current political struggles, for instance indigenous and ecological movements in South America, and discusses them from a historical perspective, in terms of the constitution of political representation, recognition, and rights

With: David Abram (cultural ecologist and philosopher, New Mexico), Alejandro Haber (Professor h.c. at the Universidad Nacional de Catamarca, Argentina, working on the theory and Philosophy of archeology), Esther Leslie (School of English and Humanities, London, works on Marxist theory of Asthetics and Culture), Michael Taussig (Professor for Anthropology, Columbia University, New York), Paulo Tavares (Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmith College, London, working on the political and ecological movements in South America), Rane Willerslev (Professor for Anthropology at the University Aarhus, Denmark)
Moderation: Avery F. Gordon (Professor for Sociology at the University of California/Santa Barbara)

7 pm “The Death Ship”
Michael Taussig, Lecture
(Simultaneous translation English – German)

“The Death Ship” (written by B. Traven in 1926) tells stories, better even than the sailors who have no official papers and are worked to the bone. How can a ship be a storyteller? And what about those massive truck tires in the movie “Wages of Fear?” Are they not alive, too? They fill the screen, inching forwards, more alive than any human. Finally, if there is a finally, consider the whirring substance the medicine man takes out of his body in Tierra del Fuego circa 1920 that can see, can kill, can cure, and goes in and out of the body at alarming speed with a great screech, the epitome of Being’s Becoming, the ur-animate.
Michael Taussig is Professor for Anthropology at Columbia University, New York

9 pm Towards an ecology of the invisibles
Tobie Nathan

Since “invisible” beings have appeared on the agenda, the zar, djinn, ‘afritt, melk, who share the world with humans in Ethiopia, Yemen, Somalia, Arabia, the Maghreb, India, and Pakistan, as well as in the migration countries of the West, people have tried to find psychological explanations for the phenomenon. We should take them seriously, analyze the thoughts, theories, and systems their existence implies, in order to see that they draw another image of “the other”, who is different, and at the origin of the true rules of hospitality.
Tobie Nathan is Professor for Clinical Psychology and Psychopathology at the Université Paris 8

Conference participants

The project is accompanied by the publication “Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne”, edited by Irene Albers and Anselm Franke, diaphanes Verlag 2012.

Conference Day 1 | Day 2

Sa, 17. März 2012

Animismus

Konferenz Tag 1 | Tag 2

14 h Roundtable 2: Animismus und Kapitalismus
(in englischer Sprache)

Die zweite Gesprächsrunde befragt die Geschichte des Animismusbegriffs hinsichtlich der Kritik an der Warenform, also dem Tauschwert einer Sache (im Gegensatz zum Gebrauchswert), der ihr angeblich erst Leben einhaucht. Die Diskussion erkundet das historische Problem der Animation von Dingen in Bezug auf Ökonomie, Begehren und neuere Transformationen der kapitalistischen Bildsphäre.

Mit: Avery F. Gordon (Professorin für Soziologie an der University of California/Santa Barbara), Tom Holert (Kunsthistoriker und Publizist, Berlin), Angela Melitopoulos (bildende Künstlerin, Berlin) / Maurizio Lazzarato (Soziologe und Philosoph, Paris), Isabelle Stengers (Professorin für Wissenschaftsphilosophie an der Université Libre de Bruxelles)
Moderation: Anselm Franke

16.15 – 18 h Roundtable 3: Animismus und Politik
(in englischer Sprache)

Die dritte Gesprächsrunde widmet sich den politischen Implikationen der Diskussion. Sie dreht sich um aktuelle politische Kämpfe – beispielsweise die indigenen und ökologischen Bewegungen in Südamerika – und erörtert sie in historischer Perspektive. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit gilt dabei dem Aufbau von politischen Vertretungen, von Anerkennung und Rechten.

Mit: David Abram (Kultursoziologe und Philosoph, New Mexico), Alejandro Haber (Professor h.c. an der Universidad Nacional de Catamarca, Argentinien, arbeitet zur Theorie und Philosophie der Archäologie), Esther Leslie (School of English and Humanities, London, arbeitet zur marxistischen Theorie der Ästhetik und Kultur), Michael Taussig (Professor für Anthropologie, Columbia University, New York), Paulo Tavares (Centre for Research Architecture an der Goldsmith, University of London, arbeitet zu politischen und ökologischen Bewegungen in Südamerika), Rane Willerslev (Professor für Anthropologie an der Universität Aarhus, Dänemark)
Moderation: Avery F. Gordon (Professorin für Soziologie an der University of California/Santa Barbara)

19 h „Das Totenschiff“
'Michael Taussig, Vortrag
'(Simultanübersetzung englisch – deutsch)

„Das Totenschiff“ (B. Traven 1926) erzählt Geschichten, besser noch als die Matrosen, die keine offiziellen Papiere habe und völlig abgearbeitet sind. Wie kann ein Schiff ein Geschichtenerzähler sein? Und wie steht es mit den massiven LKW-Reifen in „Lohn der Angst“? Leben die nicht auch? Sie füllen die Leinwand auf, kriechen nach vorne, lebendiger als ein Mensch. Und denken Sie schließlich an die surrende Substanz, die der Medizinmann ca. 1920 in Feuerland seinem eigenen Körper entnimmt, eine Substanz, die sehen, töten, heilen kann, und die mit großem Geschrei in beängstigender Geschwindigkeit in seinem Körper ein- und ausgeht: der Inbegriff des Werdens eines Lebewesens, das Ur-Beseelte.
Michael Taussig ist Professor für Anthropologie an der Columbia University, New York.

21 h Für eine Ökologie des Unsichtbaren
Tobie Nathan, Vortrag
(Simultanübersetzung französisch–deutsch–englisch)

Seit man von den „Unsichtbaren“ spricht – von Zar, Dschinn, Afritt, Melk –, die sich in Äthiopien, Jemen, Somalia, Arabien, im Maghreb, in Indien und Pakistan wie auch in den Migrationsländern des Westens die Welt mit den Menschen teilen, sucht man nach psychologischen Erklärungen für das Phänomen. Wenn wir uns mit den Ideen, Theorien und Ordnungen auseinandersetzten, die die Existenz dieser Wesen impliziert, würden wir erkennen, dass sie ein Bild des „Anderen“ zeichnen, der nicht unseresgleichen ist. Uns würde deutlich, dass sie am Ursprung wahrer Regeln der Gastfreundschaft stehen.
Tobie Nathan ist Professor für klinische Psychologie und Psychopathologie an der Université Paris 8.

Die Teilnehmer der Konferenz

Begleitend zum Projekt erscheint die Publikation „Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne“, hrsg. v. Irene Albers und Anselm Franke, diaphanes Verlag 2012.

Konferenz Tag 1 | Tag 2