2012, Fri, Mar 16

Animism

In recent years the categorical separation between the subjective and objective world in Modernity’s imaginary and societal space has in many disciplines been subject to a fundamental reappraisal, and kindled, not least, a new interest in Animism. The conference on the exhibition brings together a broad range of current perspectives from the fields of ethnology, literary criticism, art, the natural sciences, the history of science and politics.

The focus and starting point of the debate is to identify possible and surprising correspondences and connections, render both the concept and history of Animism a fruitful subject for self-interrogation and foster a new critical reflection of Modernity. The discussions scrutinize Modernity’s established practice of separating and demarcating between nature and culture, things and actors, world and imagination.

Three roundtables place “Animism” in relation to the current issues concerning the modern order of global economic, political, and ecological conditions. The evening lectures comment on the newly discovered transdisciplinary attention commanded by “Animism” from a philosophical, political and scientific perspective.

Conception:
Irene Albers, Professor for General and Comparative Literature and Romanic Philology at the Freie Universität Berlin
Anselm Franke, curator of the exhibition

Conference Day 1 | Day 2

2 – 6 pm Roundtable 1: Animism and the Other Narratives of Modernity
(in English)
This roundtable explores the capacity of the concept to act as a historiographic device. Here, the critic of the modern-colonialist assumptions implicit in the concept opens new perspectives on the writing of modern history, concerning the constitution of the modern order of knowledge, things, disciplines and society. How can the imaginary and historical realms of Modernity be reflected anew through the conceptual prism of Animism?

With: Cornelius Borck (Director of the Institute for the History of Medicine and Science, University of Lübeck), Harry Garuba (Director of the Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town), Thomas Macho (Professor for Cultural History, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin), Gabriele Schwab (Professor for Comparative Literature, University of California/Irvine), Erhard Schüttpelz (Professor for Media Theory, University of Siegen), Elisabeth von Samsonow (Professor for the Philosophical and Historical Anthropology of Art, Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna), Spyros Papapetros (Professor for History and the Theory of Architecture, Princeton University)
Moderation: Anselm Franke, Irene Albers

7 pm Reclaiming Animism
Isabelle Stengers, Lecture
“Reclaim” means demanding the return of that from which we were once separated. Not, however, in the simple sense of retrieving what was once “lost,” but rather recovering from this separation and “regenerating what was poisoned as a consequence of it.” What must be the constitution of a mode of thinking, such as a science, which negotiates animism within the complex construct of “knowledge production?” What possibilities can then arise if we ensure that the preconditions of this thinking and the “objects” of science are flexible and freely negotiable?
Isabelle Stengers is Professor for the Philosophy of Science at the Université Libre de Bruxelles.

8 pm The Speech of Things and the Commonwealth of Breath
David Abram, Lecture
This talk will suggest that animism, first and foremost, is a way of speaking in close accordance with the spontaneous life of our bodily senses. By acknowledging the active agency and eloquence of things (whether those things be creatures, artifacts, dry riverbeds, gusts of wind, or spoken words), we awaken our animal senses from a kind of slumber. To learn to speak (and to sense) in this manner is a gesture of humility, a practice that calls the human mind back to its body—and calls the body, again and again, into dynamic relation and exchange with the more-than-human community of earthly things.
David Abram is a US-American cultural ecologist, philosopher and director of the Alliance for Wild Ethics (AWE), New Mexico.

9 pm In conversation: Isabelle Stengers and David Abram
Moderation: Anselm Franke

Conference participants

The project is accompanied by the publication “Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne”, edited by Irene Albers and Anselm Franke, diaphanes Verlag 2012.

Conference Day 1 | Day 2

Do 14.06. – Di 17.07. Verkehrseinschränkungen rund um das HKW. Mehr

Fr, 16. März 2012

Animismus

Kategorische Trennungen zwischen subjektiver und objektiver Welt im imaginären und gesellschaftlichen Verfügungsraum der Moderne sind in den letzten Jahren in vielen Disziplinen in Bewegung geraten und haben nicht zuletzt zu einem neuen Interesse am Animismus geführt. Die Konferenz zur Ausstellung führt eine Vielzahl von aktuellen Perspektiven aus Ethnologie, Literaturwissenschaft, Kunst, Naturwissenschaften,Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Politik zusammen.

Mögliche und überraschende Korrespondenzen und Verbindungen aufzuspüren, das Konzept sowie die Geschichte des Animismus für eine Selbstbefragung und neue kritische Reflexion der Moderne fruchtbar zu machen, ist Fokus und Ausgangspunkt der Debatte. Die Diskussionen stellen etablierte Trennungs- und Grenzziehungspraktiken der Moderne zwischen Natur und Kultur, Dingen und Akteuren, Welt und Vorstellung auf den Prüfstand.

Drei Roundtables setzen Animismus in Bezug zu aktuellen Fragen der Neuordnung ökonomischer, politischer und ökologischer Welt- Verhältnisse. Die Abendvorträge kommentieren die transdisziplinär neu entdeckte Aufmerksamkeit für den „Animismus“ vor einem philosophischen, politischen und wissenschaftstheoretischen Hintergrund.

Konzeption:
Irene Albers, Professorin für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft und Romanische Philologie an der Freien Universität Berlin
Anselm Franke, Kurator der Ausstellung

Konferenz Tag 1 | Tag 2

14 – 18 h Roundtable 1: Animismus und die anderen Geschichten der Moderne
(in englischer Sprache)
Die erste Gesprächsrunde untersucht Möglichkeiten, das Animismus- Konzept als historiografische Methode einzusetzen. Die in diesem Konzept implizite Kritik an der Moderne und ihren kolonialistischen Untertönen eröffnet neue Perspektiven für die Geschichtsschreibung der Moderne, insbesondere was die Ordnung des Wissens, der Dinge, der Disziplinen und der Gesellschaft anbelangt. Wie können Vorstellungswelt und Geschichte der Moderne durch das konzeptionelle Prisma des Animismus neu gedacht werden?

Mit: Cornelius Borck (Leiter des Instituts für Medizin- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Universität Lübeck), Harry Garuba (Leiter des Centre for African Studies, University of Cape Town), Thomas Macho (Professor für Kulturgeschichte, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Spyros Papapetros (Professor für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur, Princeton University), Elisabeth von Samsonow (Professorin für philosophische und historische Anthropologie der Kunst, Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien), Erhard Schüttpelz (Professor für Medientheorie, Universität Siegen), Gabriele Schwab (Professorin für Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft, University of California/Irvine).
Moderation: Irene Albers, Anselm Franke

19 h Reclaiming Animism | Den Animismus zurückgewinnen
Isabelle Stengers, Lecture
(Simultanübersetzung englisch – deutsch)
„Rückgewinnung“ bedeutet, einzufordern, wovon wir getrennt wurden, wenn auch nicht im einfachen Sinne, dass man zurück erhält, was man „verloren“ hat, sondern von jener Trennung zu genesen und das zu „regenerieren, was eben jene Trennung vergiftet hat“. Wie kann ein Denken, wie eine Wissenschaft beschaffen sein, die den Animismus im komplexen Gefüge des „Wissen Schaffens“ verhandelt? Welche Möglichkeiten öffnen sich, wenn wir die Voraussetzungen des Denkens und die „Gegenstände“ der Wissenschaft als radikal verhandelbare in Bewegung halten?
Isabelle Stengers ist Professorin für Wissenschaftsphilosophie an der Université Libre de Bruxelles

20 h The speech of things and the commonwealth of breath
David Abram, Lecture
(Simultanübersetzung englisch – deutsch)
Animismus bietet die Möglichkeit, in Übereinstimmung mit dem spontanen Dasein unserer Sinne zu sprechen. Wenn wir die eigenständige Aktivität und Eloquenz von Dingen anerkennen (seien es Kreaturen, Artefakte, trockene Flussbetten, Windstöße oder gesprochene Worte), wecken wir unsere kreatürlichen Sinne aus einer Art Schlummer. In dieser Weise zu sprechen (und empfinden) zu lernen, ist eine Geste der Demut, eine Praxis, die den Geist zurück zum Körper ruft und den Körper in eine dynamische Beziehung zur mehr-als-menschlichen Gemeinschaft irdischer Dinge einbindet.
David Abram ist US-amerikanischer Kulturökologe, Philosoph und Direktor der Alliance for Wild Ethics (AWE), New Mexico.

21 h Im Gespräch: Isabelle Stengers und David Abram
Moderation: Anselm Franke

Die Teilnehmer der Konferenz.

Begleitend zum Projekt erscheint die Publikation „Animismus – Revisionen der Moderne“, hrsg. v. Irene Albers und Anselm Franke, diaphanes Verlag 2012.

Konferenz Tag 1 | Tag 2