2011, Thu, Dec 01

8-Bit & Chiptunes

With: Bubblyfish + Marieke Verbiesen, Disrupt, ChaCha, Super Guachin, Candie Hank, Soom T, Visuals: Raquel Meyers

Bubblyfish | © Chiptography

Bubblyfish | © Chiptography

Compiled by Manuela Krause

The production of 8-Bit music or Chiptunes (sounds synthesized and rearranged from the sound chips of computers and game consoles), which emerged alongside the hardware used in the late 1980s, has developed into an international musical movement. While the hardware used often comes from the days when the Commodore 64 was the state of the art, the artistic approach is totally up to date. The program is being put together by the veteran 8-Bit activist Manuela Krause, also known on the scene as Manou and famed for her lo-fi pop songs.


Bubblyfish + Marieke Verbiesen
Bubblyfish is dedicated to the sound aesthetics of the Gameboy: ambient surfaces blended with cheerful Super Mario music, mixed in with 8-Bit drones. With the visual backing of Marieke Verbiesen’s manual live animations.


Disrupt + ChaCha
Disrupt, co-owner of the Leipzig network label Jahtari, which specializes in 8-Bit, has his own unique way of preserving the genre’s digital cultural heritage: 8-Bit dub. He’s backed up by the singer ChaCha from Guizhou in China, whose own pieces are heavily influenced by Downbeat and Triphop, dark and full of nostalgic moods.


Super Guachin
This Argentinian duo’s mid-tempo tracks represent a kind of glossy 8-Bit. Their music, which has also been described as tropical psychedelic, is almost transcendental, with a range of influences ranging from Dubstep thru Techno to Reggaeton and Cumbia Villera.


Candie Hank
is one of the thousands of pseudonyms used by the hyper-productive Berlin-based Patric Catani. This Gabba wunderkind with the stage name E de Cologne began working with 8-Bit sounds at the age of sixteen. His music boasts a huge bandwidth of styles.


Soom T
Heavily influenced by Indian music from the 1950s, along with Bhangra, Hip-Hop and 1980s pop, Soom T sings and plays 8-Bit digital Reggae. In addition, she has lent her voice to productions by countless artists, including The Orb, T.Raumschmiere, Bus, Asian Dub Foundation and many others.


Raquel Meyers
Raquel Meyers’ 8-Bit soundscape solo compositions make her predestined to do some VJ-ing with 8-Bit musicians. She uses low resolution graphics and visuals generated with text code to tell surreal picture stories full of dark humor.


See also:

They call it Skweee!!!, Wed 30.11.

Ghana Hiplife, Fri 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sat 3.12.

Bogotá Boom, Sat 3.12.

Do, 01. Dezember 2011

8-Bit & Chiptunes

Mit: Bubblyfish + Marieke Verbiesen, Disrupt, ChaCha, Super Guachin, Candie Hank, Soom T, Visuals: Raquel Meyers

Bubblyfish | © Chiptography

Bubblyfish | © Chiptography

Zusammengestellt von Manuela Krause

Die Produktion von 8-Bit-Music oder Chiptunes (aus den Soundchips von Computern und Spielkonsolen synthetisierte und re-arrangierte Klänge), die parallel zum Aufkommen der verwendeten Hardware in den späten 1980er Jahren entstand, hat sich zu einer internationalen musikalischen Bewegung entwickelt. Stammt die verwendete Hardware oft aus jener Zeit, als der Commodore 64 technisch ein Nonplusultra war, ist die Adaption absolut zeitgenössisch. Das Programm wurde zusammengestellt von der 8-Bit-Aktivistin der ersten Stunde Manuela Krause, mit ihren Lo-Fi Popsongs in der Szene auch bekannt als Manou.


Bubblyfish + Marieke Verbiesen
Bubblyfish hat sich der Klangästhetik des Gameboy verschrieben: neben fröhlicher Super-Mario-Musik wabern Ambient-Flächen, durchzogen von 8-bit-Drones.Visuell unterstützt wird sie von Marieke Verbiesens manuellen Liveanimationen.


Disrupt + ChaCha
Disrupt, Mitbetreiber des auf 8-bit spezialisierten Leipziger Netzlabels Jahtari, pflegt mit seinem 8-bit-Dub auf ganz eigene Weise das digitale Kulturerbe des 8-bit-Genres. Unterstützt wird er von der Sängerin ChaCha aus Guizhou in China, deren eigene Stücke stark Downbeat- und Triphop-beeinflusst, dunkel und voll nostalgischer Stimmungen sind.


Super Guachin
Die Midtempo-Tracks des argentinischen Duos repräsentieren gewissermaßen Hochglanz-8-Bit. Bisweilen als tropische Psychedelic bezeichnet, transzendiert ihre Musik neben Einflüssen aus Dubstep und Techno auch Reggaeton und Cumbia Villera.


Candie Hank
Candie Hank ist eines der tausend Pseudonyme des hyperproduktiven Wahlberliners Patric Catani. Schon im Alter von 16 Jahren arbeitete er als Gabba-Wunderkind E de Cologne mit 8-Bit-Sounds. Die Bandbreite seiner Styles ist enorm.


Soom T
Beeinflusst von indischer Musik der 1950er, Bhangra, Hip Hop und 80s-Pop singt und spielt Soom T 8-Bit-Digital-Reggae. Nebenbei leiht sie ihre Stimme an zahllose Produktionen wie The Orb, T.Raumschmiere, Bus, Asian Dub Foundation u. v. m.


Raquel Meyers
Raquel Meyers ist durch ihre Soloarbeiten im 8-Bit-Soundscape-Bereich prädestiniert für das VJing mit 8-Bit-Musikern. Mit niedrigauflösenden Grafiken und Visuals aus Textcode erzählt sie surreale Bildergeschichten voll dunklem Humor.


Sehen Sie auch:

Ghana Hiplife, Fr 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sa 3.12.

Bogotá Boom, Sa 3.12.