Fri, May 24: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More…

2011, Thu, Nov 24 — 2011, Mon, Dec 12

Tracing Mobility

Cartography and Migration in Networked Space

Simon Faithfull | Going Nowhere

Simon Faithfull | Going Nowhere

How do we navigate in the digital age, when the line between our online and offline worlds is increasingly blurred? What is the value of actual bodily movement in space, when we can access anywhere in the world with the help of digital technology?

“Tracing Mobility” investigates the shifting relationship between global and individual mobility. The artists use not just installations, videos, sculptures, performances and paintings, but also i-Phone apps, maps and collaborative open-source projects to develop their own approach to positioning themselves within this dynamic topography. A symposium and the Tracing Mobility Open Platform offer an opportunity to explore in greater detail the issues and questions surrounding our changing sense of space.


Exhibiting artists: Frank Abbott, Aram Bartholl, Neal Beggs, Heath Bunting, Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller, Miles Chalcraft, Simon Faithfull, Yolande Harris, Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser, Landon Mackenzie, Open-Sailing, plan b, Esther Polak & Ivar van Bekkum, Gordan Savicic, Mark Selby, Michelle Teran More about the artists...


A project by TRAMPOLINE - Agentur für Kunst und Medien in cooperation with Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the Radiator Festival Nottingham

Do, 24. November 2011 — Mo, 12. Dezember 2011

Tracing Mobility

Cartography and Migration in Networked Space

Simon Faithfull | Going Nowhere

Simon Faithfull | Going Nowhere

Wie navigieren wir im digitalen Zeitalter, wenn online und offline-Welt zusehendsverschmelzen? Welchen Stellenwert nimmt die tatsächliche Bewegungder Körper im Raum noch ein, wenn wir jeden Punkt der Erde mithilfedigitaler Technik erreichen können?

„Tracing Mobility“ untersucht, wie sich das Verhältnis zwischen globaler und individueller Mobilität verschiebt und wie sich unser Empfinden von Zeit und Raum verändert. In Installationen,Videos, Skulpturen, Performances und Malerei, aber auch mit i-Phone Apps, Karten oder kollaborativen Open-Source-Projekten entwickeln die Künstler ihre je eigenen Methoden, um sich innerhalb dieser dynamischen Topografie zu positionieren. Ein Symposium und die Tracing Mobility Open Platform bieten Gelegenheit, tiefer in Fragen und Themen eines veränderten Raumbewusstseins einzusteigen.


Ausstellende Künstler: Frank Abbott, Aram Bartholl, Neal Beggs, Heath Bunting, Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller, Miles Chalcraft, Simon Faithfull, Yolande Harris, Folke Köbberling & Martin Kaltwasser, Landon Mackenzie, Open-Sailing, plan b, Esther Polak & Ivar van Bekkum, Gordan Savicic, Mark Selby, Michelle Teran. Mehr zu den Künstlern...


Ein Projekt von TRAMPOLINE - Agentur für Kunst und Medien in Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und dem Radiator Festival Nottingham