2011, Sat, Dec 03

Bogotá Boom

With: Los Trasantlanticos, Meridian Brothers, Papaya Republik, DJ Tio Changó

Los Transatlánticos | © Promo

Los Transatlánticos | © Promo

Compiled by Detlef Diederichsen

Colombia’s musical diversity comes together in the capital Bogotá, blending and clashing styles from the Atlantic to the Pacific coasts, Vallenato and Cumbia, Gaita and Salsa, Rock and Hip Hop. What’s new is the willingness to experiment, the desire to try out the impossible, and, above all, to make it danceable.


Los Transatlánticos
This Berlin-Bogotá connection – two of the seven band members are from Berlin – use a bulky Hammond organ to show that even the dodgiest of sounds and constantly changing tempos can bring a concert hall to the boil.


Meridian Brothers
At first glance, the Meridian Brothers, led by the award-winning New Music composer Eblis Álvarez, look like a typical Indie band on stage. But they play music that uses elements of Minimal Music, Cumbia, Latin Pop and the Colombian Afro-Funk of the 1970s in equal measure; all filtered and twisted in their own unique style. With a guest appearance by the Chor der Kulturen der Welt.


Papaya Republik
This six-piece outfit with its Cumbia brass section made up of clarinet and saxophone plunders the treasure trove of Colombian musical traditions and enriches it with Funk beats and Hip-Hop basses in a way that is both unusual


Tío Changó
The evening is rounded off by the DJ Tío Changó, who is based in Berlin, where he runs Chusma Records, a label specializing in modern Colombian music.


See also:

They call it Skweee!!!, Wed 30.11.

8-Bit & Chiptunes, Thu 1.12.

Ghana Hiplife, Fri 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sat 3.12.

Sa, 03. Dezember 2011

Bogotá Boom

Mit: Los Trasantlanticos, Meridian Brothers, Papaya Republik, DJ Tio Changó

Los Transatlánticos | © Promo

Los Transatlánticos | © Promo

Zusammengestellt von Detlef Diederichsen

Die musikalische Vielfalt Kolumbiens bündelt sich in der Hauptstadt Bogotá: Musiker aus Cali und Medellín, Stilistiken von der Atlantik- und der Pazifikküste, Vallenato und Cumbia, Gaita und Salsa, Rock und Hip Hop. Neu ist die Experimentierfreude, die Lust, das Unmögliche auszuprobieren und am besten noch tanzbar zu machen. Detlef Diederichsen hat hier einen Abend zusammengestellt mit Gruppen, die respektlos und bestens gelaunt musikalisches Neuland betreten.


Los Transatlanticos
Die Berlin-Bogotá-Connection – von den sieben Bandmitgliedern stammen zwei aus Berlin –beweist mit wuchtiger Hammond Orgel, dass auch ein vertrackter Sound mit unglaublich vielen Tempowechseln eine Konzerthalle zum Kochen bringen kann.


Meridian Brothers
Die Meridian Brothers um den preisgekrönten Neue-Musik-Komponisten Eblis Álvarez sehen auf der Bühne zunächst wie eine klassische Indie-Band aus, machen aber eine Musik, die gleichermaßen Elemente aus Minimal Music, Cumbia, Latin Pop und dem kolumbianischen Afro-Funk der 1970er Jahre verwendet, das alles aber nochmal auf eine ganz spezielle Art filtert und verdreht. Zu Gast: der Chor der Kulturen der Welt.


Papaya Republik
Die sechsköpfige Truppe mit Cumbia-Bläsersatz aus Klarinette und Saxophon plündert die Schatztruhe kolumbianischer Musiktraditionen und reichert diese mit Funk-Beats und Hip-Hop-Bässen an: Gleichermaßen ungewohnt wie mitreißend.


Tío Changó
Vervollständigt wird der Abend von DJ Tío Changó, der in Berlin ansässig ist, wo er das auf moderne kolumbianische Musik spezialisierte Label Chusma Records betreibt.


Sehen Sie auch:

They call it Skweee!!! Mi 30.11.

8-Bit & Chiptunes, Do 1.12.

Ghana Hiplife, Fr 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sa 3.12.