2011, Wed, Nov 30

They call it Skweee!!!

With: Patrick Pulsinger + Band, Mesak, Claws Costeau, Pavan aka Limoneous, Easy + Center of the Universe, Ya Tosiba aka DJ Zuzu, Karl Marx Stadt, Dabrye, Gebrüder Teichmann, Visuals: Ville Hyvönen

Mesak & Pavan | © Birk Nygaard

Mesak & Pavan | © Birk Nygaard

Compiled by Gebrüder Teichmann

A slow-motion-like, stumbling funk spreads around the world from Scandinavia: Skweee squeezes out interesting new sounds from old, analog synthesizers. The festival opens with concerts and a Skweee All-star Battle of the labels Harmönia and Flogsta Danshall from Helsinki, Stockholm and Oslo.


Gebrüder Teichmann
Andi and Hannes Teichmann open the festival with a DJ set that promises a broad introduction to the Skweee genre. These connoisseurs of the international electronic scene traveled to places such as Algeria, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan on behalf of the Goethe-Institut. At Worldtronics10, they were part of the Berlin-Nairobi project, which recently published the a CD (BLNRB: “Welcome To The Madhouse”). Their latest album “They Made Us Do It”, released in early November, also features its fair share of Skweee influences.


Mesak
Tatu Metsätähti from Finland and his label Harmönia is a founding father and leading light of the Skweee scene. He has a solid background in music production with bands like Mr Velcro Fastener, Star You Star Me and Gadgets. At the moment Mesak is working and living in Berlin.


Pavan aka Limonious
The Swede Frans Carlqvist runs the label Flogsta Danshall in Stockholm. He also produces radio programs and podcasts and works as a DJ. He’s performing in Berlin under his live Skweee stage identity Pavan aka Limonious.


Patrick Pulsinger + Band
Patrick Pulsinger does pioneering work on live adaptations of modern electronic club music with complex musical experiments in the fields of Jazz and Funk. The operator of Cheap Records and producer of Hercules and Love Affair has now become one of Austria’s first Skweee-Jays.


Claws Costeau
Claws Costeau from Turku produces soundscapes and instrumentals and raps with the band Ronskibiitti. With his preference for Punk, Hip-Hop and Hardcore, he stands for a darker, more ominous style of Skweee.


Easy & Center of the Universe
Easy & Center of the Universe from Norway add a certain oriental flavor to the Skweee repertoire. When performing live, the trio backs up electronic instruments with drums and saz.


Ya Tosiba aka DJ Zuzu
DJ Zuzu from Baku in Azerbaijan is a linguist and ethnomusicologist. In Norway, she quickly became an important member of the nascent Skweee movement. She performs live under her stage name Ya Tosiba, singing Azerbaijani lyrics to Skweee grooves.


Dabrye
Under his stage name Dabrye, the American Tadd Mullinix has long been working on an abstract, instrumental Hip-Hop blueprint full of electronic elements. There is no mistaking the musical parallels with Skweee.


Ville Hyvönen
The video artist and VJ works for international theater productions and musicians and also runs the Pixelache Festival for electronic art and subcultures in Helsinki.


Karl Marx Stadt
The Berlin-based Karl Marx Stadt Dubstep uses keyboards and children’s toys to go against the grain – but without compromising his dancability. Instead of hectic, excited tunes, he creates almost dulcet tones and epic soundscapes.


See also:

8-Bit & Chiptunes, Thu 1.12.

Ghana Hiplife, Fri 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sat 3.12.

Bogotá Boom, Sat 3.12.

Mi, 30. November 2011

They call it Skweee!!!

Mit: Patrick Pulsinger + Band, Mesak, Claws Costeau, Pavan aka Limoneous, Easy + Center of the Universe, Ya Tosiba aka DJ Zuzu, Karl Marx Stadt, Dabrye, Gebrüder Teichmann, Visuals: Ville Hyvönen

Mesak & Pavan | © Birk Nygaard

Mesak & Pavan | © Birk Nygaard

Zusammengestellt von Gebrüder Teichmann

Ein zeitlupenhafter, stolpernder Funk geht von Skandinavien aus um die Welt: Skweee kommt von squeeze out, rausquetschen, in diesem Fall von interessanten Klängen aus analogen Synthesizern. Die in Helsinki, Stockholm und Oslo ansässigen Labels Harmönia und Flogsta Danshall bündeln eine stetig wachsende Szene. Höhepunkt der Worldtronics-Eröffnungsnacht ist ein Skweee-Allstar-Battle Oslo vs. Helsinki und Stockholm. Am Ende gibt es natürlich nur Gewinner.


Gebrüder Teichmann
Andi und Hannes Teichmann eröffnen das Festival mit einem DJ-Set, das eine Einführung in das Skweee-Genre verspricht. Als ausgesprochene Kenner der internationalen Elektronikszene reisten sie im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts u.a. nach Algerien, Indien, Sri Lanka, Bangladesch und Afghanistan. Bei Worldtronics 2010 wirkten sie am Berlin-Nairobi-Projekt mit, das kürzlich auch auf CD veröffentlicht wurde (BLNRB: „Welcome To The Madhouse“). Ihr Anfang November veröffentlichtes Album „They Made Us Do It“ zeigt schon Skweee-Einflüsse.


Mesak
Mit seinem Label Harmönia ist der Finne Tatu Metsätähti Mitbegründer und prägende Figur der Skweee-Szene. Zu seinen Bandprojekten zählen Mr Velcro Fastener, Star You Star Me und Gadgets. Zurzeit lebt und arbeitet Mesak in Berlin.


Pavan aka Limonious
Der Schwede Frans Carlqvist ist Betreiber des Labels Flogsta Danshall in Stockholm. Außerdem produziert er Radioprogramme, Podcasts und arbeitet als DJ. In Berlin ist er mit seiner Skweee-Live-Bühnenidentität Pavan aka Limonious am Start.


Patrick Pulsinger + Band
Patrick Pulsinger leistet mit komplexen musikalischen Experimenten in den Bereichen Jazz und Funk Pionierarbeit bei der Live-Umsetzung moderner elektronischer Club-Musik. Der Labelbetreiber von Cheap Records und Produzent von Hercules and Love Affair ist jetzt auch noch einer der ersten Skweee-Jays in Österreich.


Claws Costeau
Claws Costeau aus Turku tritt neben der Produktion von Soundscapes und instrumentalen Stücken als Rapper der Band Ronskibiitti auf. Mit seinen Neigungen zu Punk, Hip Hop und Hardcore steht er für eine dunklere, beunruhigende Spielart des Skweee.


Easy + Center of the Universe
Easy + Center of the Universe aus Norwegen erweitern Skweee um eine gewisse orientalische Note. Das Live-Set des Trios setzte neben elektronischen Instrumenten auf Schlagzeug und Sax.


Ya Tosiba aka DJ Zuzu
DJ Zuzu aus Baku in Aserbaidschan ist studierte Linguistin und Musikwissenschaftlerin. In Norwegen wurde sie schnell wichtiges Element der aufkeimenden Skweee-Bewegung. Live tritt sie als Ya Tosiba auf und reichert den Skweee-Groove mit aserbaidschanischen Texten an.


Karl Marx Stadt
Der Berliner Karl Marx Stadt bürstet Dubstep gegen den Strich, ohne dass die Tanzbarkeit darunter leidet. Statt Hektik und Aufgeregtheit erklingen fast liebliche Melodien und epische Soundscapes. Mit Keybords und Kinderspielzeug macht sich KMS auf in den Kosmos.


Dabrye
Der Amerikaner Tadd Mullinix arbeitet unter seinem Pseudonym Dabrye schon länger an einem abstrakten, instrumentalen Hip Hop-Entwurf mit einer Menge elektronischer Elemente. Musikalische Parallelen zu Skweee sind unverkennbar.


Ville Hyvönen
Der Videokünstler und VJ arbeitet für internationale Theaterproduktionen und Musiker und leitet das Pixelache-Festival für elektronische Kunst und Subkulturen in Helsinki. In seiner Freizeit macht er Luftaufnahmen mit ferngesteuerten Hubschraubern.


Sehen Sie auch:

8-Bit & Chiptunes, Do 1.12.

Ghana Hiplife, Fr 2.12.

Show your WORLD your TRONICS, Sa 3.12.

Bogotá Boom, Sa 3.12.