2011, Sat, Sep 10

Cook to Cook

A culinary journey through the cuisine of Asia and Europe

Bernd Risau | © Foto: Restaurant Auster

Bernd Risau | © Foto: Restaurant Auster

Haus der Kulturen der Welt invites visitors to dinner at the restaurant "Auster" during the Asia-Pacific Weeks Berlin 2011 for a culinary journey through the cuisine of Asia and Europe.

The head chef at Auster, Bernd Risau, and Yang Jinhua from Hong Kong will prepare a “double” 5-course menu. Using seasonal produce from the region of Berlin and Brandenburg, they will serve two versions of each course – one European and one Chinese. Diners will have the opportunity to enjoy contemporary culinary compositions from Hong Kong and Berlin.


Each dish tells a story, tells us something about its country of origin and, at the same time, bears the personal signature of the chef.


The chefs will cook the meal before the eyes of the guests, explaining what they are doing and comparing different traditions of preparing and combining the ingredients.


Menu prices: 68 to 80 Euro
Reservations at .


Due to unforeseen circumstances, the originally announced dates on 15 and 16 September have been canceled.


Bernd Risau was born in Rheine, where he completed his apprenticeship as a chef. He held positions at the Steigenberger Hotel Europäischer Hof (Baden-Baden) and Rockendorf’s Restaurant (two Michelin stars) in Berlin. Other stations of Bernd Risau’s culinary career included the Steigenberger Hotel Berlin and the Esplanade Berlin, before he became head chef to the board of directors at Berliner Bank and head chef in the Restaurant Französischer Hof in Berlin.

In addition to appearing on the TV program “Wissenshunger” on Vox, he and two colleagues also run the catering firm “Culinary Underground Lab.”


Yang Jianhua is “Jimmy”, the Jamie Oliver of culinary television in China. After completing his master’s degree in design at Hong Kong University, he turned his attentions to the restaurant business. While others might see this as a radical shift, “Jimmy” considers it a perfectly normal step: “painting is nothing other than composing with color, and cooking is the same with ingredients. And I aim to make people happy with both.” His travel experiences play an important part in his show, “A Thousand Flavors Workshop”, in which he demonstrates new ways of preparing Chinese food without glutamate.



Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin

The Asia-Pacific Weeks are kindly supported by the Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin.

Sa, 10. September 2011

Cook to Cook

Eine kulinarische Reise durch die Cuisine Asiens und Europas

Bernd Risau | © Foto: Restaurant Auster

Bernd Risau | © Foto: Restaurant Auster

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt lädt im Rahmen der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin 2011 zu Tisch und führt gemeinsam mit dem Restaurant "Auster" auf eine kulinarische Reise durch die Cuisine Asiens und Europas.

Auster-Küchenchef Bernd Risau bereitet gemeinsam mit Yang Jinhua aus Hongkong jeweils ein "doppeltes" 5-Gänge-Menü zu. Auf der Grundlage von saisonalen Zutaten aus der Region Berlin-Brandenburg werden zwei Varianten jeden Ganges - eine europäische und eine asiatische - serviert. Dabei kommen die Gäste in den Genuss zeitgenössischer Kochkünste aus Hongkong und Berlin. Die Köche bereiten ihre Gerichte vor den Gästen zu, sie erläutern dabei ihre Vorgehensweise und vergleichen unterschiedliche Traditionen in der Verarbeitung und der Komposition der Zutaten.

Preise der Menüs: 68 bis 80 Euro

Reservierungen unter


Die ursprünglich angekündigten Termine 15. und 16.09. müssen leider entfallen.


Bernd Risau wurde in Rheine geboren und absolvierte dort eine Ausbildung zum Koch. Es folgten Küchentätigkeiten im Steigenberger Hotel Europäischer Hof (Baden-Baden) sowie in Rockendorfs Restaurant (zwei Michelin-Sterne) in Berlin. Unter anderem das Steigenberger Hotel Berlin und das Esplanade Berlin waren weitere Stationen auf Bernd Risaus gastronomischer Karriereleiter, bevor er Vorstandskoch der Berliner Bank und Küchenchef im Restaurant Französischer Hof in Berlin wurde.

Neben Fernsehauftritten bei „Wissenshunger“ auf Vox betreibt er mit zwei weiteren Kollegen die Cateringfirma „ Culinary Underground lab.“


Yang Jianhua ist „Jimmy“, der Tim Mälzer des kulinarischen Fernsehens in China. Nach seinem Master an der Hong Kong University, wandte sich der ausgebildete Designer der Gastronomie zu. Was andere als einen radikalen Wechsel bezeichnen, war für „Jimmy“ das normalste der Welt: „Malen heißt mit Farbe komponieren und Kochen heißt dasgleiche mit Ingredienzien. Und mit beidem will ich Menschen glücklich machen.“ Erfahrungen von seinen Reisen sind ein wichtiger Teil seiner Show „A Thousand Flavors Workshop”, in der er neue Wege einer glutamatfreien chinesischen Küche aufzeigt.



Eine Veranstaltung von Auster Events & Restaurant in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt


„Floating Food“ ist Teil der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen 2011.

Die Asien-Pazifik-Wochen werden unterstützt durch die Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin.


Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin        Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin DKLB