2011, Sat, May 28 — 2011, Mon, Jun 13

Manhattan Skyline

Regina Schmeken

Regina Schmeken<br> | Manhattan Skyline, 1981/2001 | Courtesy of the artist

Regina Schmeken
| Manhattan Skyline, 1981/2001 | Courtesy of the artist

“Manhattan Skyline“ showcases two oversized photographs (275 x 350 cm) by Regina Schmeken, who lived in New York in 1981 and 1982. In the late 1970s and early 1980s, the artist spent much of her time in France, Italy and the US.

The two photographs, which she took in 1981, were shown last November/December 2001 in Munich’s Maximiliansforum and in 2002 and 2006 in the Goethe-Institut New York on Fifth Avenue, to commemorate the tragic events of 11 September 2001.

“To a greater extent than in her later works, she deals extensively with reflections, refractions and reflexes of light as well as image details apparently chosen at random. It is here that the artist’s foreboding and visionary perspective expresses itself in its most convincing form.“ (Michael Meuer, Munich 2001)


“One cannot forget the women’s beautiful shoulders and the mysterious portraits, like visions against the backdrop of New York perspectives, exaggerated and remorseless: human vulnerability in the face of mechanical modernity, technological and cold. A critical and sensitive eye captures the dream without ever paralyzing it, so that the faces appear unreal, like fantasies.“ (François Aubral, Paris 1985 )


The New York skyline with the young woman’s face in the forefront won the 1982 “International Photo Design Award“, awarded by the periodical “art”. How will this photograph be regarded in the post 9/11 world?


Regina Schmeken has been working with photography as an artistic medium since the mid-1970s. In 1978, she was awarded the critics’ prize of the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie in Arles. In 1996, she received the Dr.-Erich-Salomon-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie. She has also been working for the Süddeutsche Zeitung since 1996. Regina Schmeken, whose pictures are to be found in numerous collections, currently lives in Berlin.

Sa, 28. Mai 2011 — Mo, 13. Juni 2011

Manhattan Skyline

Regina Schmeken

Regina Schmeken<br> | Manhattan Skyline, 1981/2001 | Courtesy die Künstlerin

Regina Schmeken<br> | Manhattan Skyline, 1981/2001 | Courtesy die Künstlerin

„Manhattan Skyline“ zeigt zwei großformatige Fotoarbeiten ( 275 x 350 cm) von Regina Schmeken, die 1981 und 1982 in New York lebte. Ende der 70er- und Anfang der 80er-Jahre hat sich die Künstlerin häufig in Frankreich, Italien und eben in den USA aufgehalten.

Die beiden Fotografien, die 1981 entstanden, wurden bereits im November/Dezember 2001 im Münchener Maximiliansforum sowie 2002 und 2006 im Goethe-Institut New York an der Fifth Avenue ausgestellt, um an die tragischen Ereignisse des 11. September 2001 zu erinnern.

„Mehr als in späteren Werken fällt das Arbeiten mit Spiegelungen, Brechungen und Reflexen des Lichtes sowie die scheinbar zufällig gewählten Bildausschnitte auf. Hierin findet schließlich die Fähigkeit der Künstlerin zu einem ahnungsvollen und visionären Blick einen überzeugenden künstlerischen Ausdruck.“ (Michael Meuer, München 2001)

„Man vergisst nicht die schönen Schultern der Frauen und die geheimnisvollen Porträts, wie Visionen vor dem Hintergrund New Yorker Perspektiven, übertrieben und unerbittlich: menschliche Zerbrechlichkeit angesichts der mechanischen Modernität, technologisch und kalt. Ein kritisches und empfindsames Auge hält den Traum fest, ohne ihn jemals zu lähmen; so erscheinen die Gesichter unwirklich, wie aus Fantasien.“ (François Aubral, Paris 1985 )

Die New-York-Skyline mit dem Gesicht der jungen Frau im Vordergrund wurde 1982 mit dem „International Photo Design Award“ der Kunstzeitschrift art ausgezeichnet. Wie wird diese Fotografie nach 9/11 gesehen?


Regina Schmeken beschäftigt sich bereits seit Mitte der 70er-Jahre mit der Fotografie als künstlerischem Medium. 1978 erhielt sie den Kritikerpreis der Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie in Arles, 1996 den Dr.-Erich-Salomon-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie. Sie arbeitet seit 1986 auch für die Süddeutsche Zeitung. Regina Schmeken, deren Bilder sich in zahlreichen Sammlungen befinden, lebt heute in Berlin.