2011, Sun, May 29

Ten Years of 9/11

The Power of Images | The Code of the Religious | Insights/Outlook

Ten Years 9/11: Politics, Language, Images in the 21. Century

Ten Years 9/11: Politics, Language, Images in the 21. Century

Unfolding before the eyes of the world public, captured in a flood of iconic images, and shown on television thousands of times, the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 marked a global caesura with far-reaching consequences.

Saturday 28.05.2011 | Sunday 29.5.2011

12:00 h – 13:30 h

The Power of Images

Luca Giuliani, Rector Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
James Der Derian, Research Professor of International Studies, Founder of the Watson Institute’s Global Media Project, Brown University, Providence
Ibrahim Helal, Director of Editorial Development, Al Jazeera, Doha
Sinan Antoon, Author, Translator, Assistant Professor New York University Gallatin
Tom Holert, Professor of Epistemology and Methodology of Art Production, Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna

Moderation: Cristina Nord, Journalist, die tageszeitung, Berlin

In an endless video loop on September 11 and far beyond, the airplanes hurtled into the towers of the World Trade Center. The loops produced a now-global canon of iconic images – a testimony to the vulnerability of a world power. Neither viewers nor political decision-makers could escape the force of these pictures. Like no media event before, 9/11 became a shared point of reference for a global public, notwithstanding the different interpretations and positions it called forth. The power of images has grown since 9/11, giving rise to a struggle for the prerogative of their interpretation. Disseminated in real time, simultaneously, transnationally, via social networks, they shape our perception of the world. To what extent are pictures themselves becoming catalysts of events? How do they change the space and direction of political action?

14:30 h – 16:00 h

The Code of the Religious

Leila Ahmed, Professor of Women's Studies in Religion, Harvard Divinity School
Manan Ahmed (Junior Professor of Islam in South and Southeast Asia, Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies, Free University Berlin)
Fadi A. Bardawil (Anthropologist, Fellow of the Berlin research program “Europe in the Middle East – The Middle East in Europe”)
Moderation: Andrian Kreye, Journalist, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Munich

A “return of the religious” has been increasingly observed since 9/11 – not only with regard to the motives of the perpetrators and their sympathizers, or to the legitimization strategies of the political and military responses of the “West.” In debates on other questions, too, a “Christian-Jewish-occidental-enlightened” tradition is set against a stereotyped Islam and its associated traits – ranging from women’s oppression to terrorism. What is the nature of the relationship today between political action/legitimization and religion? How much of what we take for granted in the globalized modern “secular age” is called into question by the new intermeshing of religion and politics? What role does religion play in the democratic mission? And how do Muslims in different regions deal with such pressure? As the new, or newly rediscovered, signature of political and military action, is the code of the religious superseding territorial thinking?

16:00 h - 17:00 h

Insights/Outlook

Bernd M. Scherer, Director Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Andreas Eckert, Chairman of the Board Forum Transregionale Studien, Professor of African History, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Detlev Ganten, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Stiftung Charité, Berlin
Thomas Risse, Professor of International Relations, Freie Universität Berlin, Board of Trustees Stiftung Zukunft Berlin

Sawsan Chebli (Intercultural Affairs Division, Ministry of the Interior and Sports of the State of Berlin) talks with young members of an interreligious working group of the project JUMA (Young, Muslim, Active) about the impact of 9/11 on their environment, the society and the coexistence of religions.

Day 2: Short biographies of the participants

Saturday 28.05.2011 | Sunday 29.5.2011

Organized by: Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Forum Transregionale Studien and Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, in the series Forum Berlin

So, 29. Mai 2011

Zehn Jahre 9/11

Die Macht der Bilder | Der Code des Religiösen | EinsichtenAusblicke

Zehn Jahre 9/11: Politik, Sprache, Bilder im 21. Jahrhundert

Zehn Jahre 9/11: Politik, Sprache, Bilder im 21. Jahrhundert

Die terroristischen Attentate vom 11. September 2001 – tausendfach im Fernsehen präsentiert und in einer ikonenhaften Bilderflut gebannt – markierten vor den Augen der Weltöffentlichkeit eine globale Zäsur mit weit reichenden Folgen.

Samstag 28.05.2011 | Sonntag 29.5.2011

12 h – 13.30 h
Die Macht der Bilder

Luca Giuliani, Rektor Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
James Der Derian, Professor für Internationale Beziehungen, Günder des Watson Institute’s Global Media Project, Brown University, Providence
Ibrahim Helal, Leiter Redaktionelle Entwicklung Al Jazeera, Doha
Sinan Antoon, Autor, Übersetzer, Assistant Professor New York University Gallatin
Tom Holert, Professor, Akademie der bildenden Künste, Wien

Moderation: Cristina Nord, Journalistin, die tageszeitung, Berlin

In medialen Endlosschleifen rasten am 11. September und noch lange danach die Flugzeuge in die Türme des World Trade Centers. Die Loops erzeugten einen inzwischen globalen Kanon ikonenhafter Bilder – Zeugnisse der Verwundbarkeit einer Weltmacht. Ihrer Wucht konnten sich weder Zuschauer noch politische Entscheidungsträger entziehen. Wie kein Medienereignis zuvor wurde 9/11 zu einem gemeinsamen Bezugspunkt für eine Weltöffentlichkeit, so unterschiedlich die Interpretationen und Positionierungen zu dem katastrophalen Geschehen auch ausfielen. Seit 9/11 wächst die Macht der Bilder, um ihre Deutungshoheit wird gekämpft. Simultan, transnational, über soziale Netzwerke in Echtzeit übertragen, prägen sie die Wahrnehmung der Welt. Inwieweit werden Bilder verstärkt zu Katalysatoren für Ereignisse? Wie verändern sie Räume und Richtung politischen Handelns?

14.30 h – 16 h
Der Code des Religiösen

Leila Ahmed, Professor of Women's Studies in Religion, Harvard Divinity School
Manan Ahmed (Juniorprofessor für Islamstudien in Süd- und Südostasien, Berlin Graduate School Muslim Cultures and Societies, Freie Universität Berlin)
Fadi A. Bardawil (Anthropologe, Fellow des Berliner Forschungsprogramms „Europa im Nahen Osten – Der Nahe Osten in Europa“

Moderation: Andrian Kreye, Journalist, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

Nach 9/11 wurde verstärkt eine „Rückkehr des Religiösen“ konstatiert – nicht nur mit Blick auf die Motivation der Täter und ihrer Sympathisanten oder die Legitimationsstrategien der politischen und militärischen Antworten des „Westens“. Auch in Debatten zu anderen Fragen wird eine „christlich-jüdisch-abendländisch-aufgeklärte“ Tradition „dem“ Islam und mit ihm assoziierten Eigenheiten entgegen gestellt – die von der Frauenunterdrückung bis zum Terror reichen. Welches Verhältnis prägt die Beziehung von politischer Aktion/Legitimation und Religion heute? Welche Selbstverständlichkeiten des „säkularen Zeitalters“ der globalisierten Moderne werden durch die neue Verschränkung von Religion und Politik in Frage gestellt? Wie religiös ist der demokratische Missionarismus? Und wie gehen Muslime in verschiedenen Regionen mit einem solchen Druck um? Löst der Code des Religiösen als neue oder neu entdeckte Signatur politischen und militärischen Handelns das territoriale Denken ab?

16 h - 17 h
EinsichtenAusblicke

Bernd M. Scherer, Intendant Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Andreas Eckert, Vorstandsvorsitzender Forum Transregionale Studien, Professor für die Geschichte Afrikas, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Detlev Ganten, Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats, Stiftung Charité, Berlin
Thomas Risse, Professor für Internationale Politik, Freie Universität Berlin, Stiftungsrat Stiftung Zukunft Berlin

Sawsan Chebli (Grundsatzreferentin für interkulturelle Angelegenheiten, Senatsverwaltung für Inneres und Sport, Berlin) im Gespräch mit Jugendlichen einer interreligiösen Arbeitsgruppe des Projektes JUMA (Jung, Muslimisch, Aktiv) über die Auswirkungen von 9/11 auf ihr Umfeld, die Gesellschaft und das Zusammenleben der Religionen.

Tag 2: Kurzbiografien der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer

Samstag 28.05.2011 | Sonntag 29.5.2011

Eine Veranstaltung von: Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Forum Transregionale Studien und Stiftung Zukunft Berlin, in der Reihe Forum Berlin