2011, Wed, Jun 15 — 2011, Sat, Jun 18

Ming Wong (Berlin)

Biji Diva

Ming Wong | Foto: Ming Wong

Ming Wong | Foto: Ming Wong

Ming Wong has a preference for taking film classics and making them his own by playing all the parts himself – be it in his Thomas Mann/Visconti homage “Life and Death in Venice”, the Fassbinder adaptation “Lerne Deutsch mit Petra von Kant” or his proverbial take on Douglas Sirk, “Life of Imitation”.

In his latest work, the object of his cultural theft is the Turkish singer Bülent Ersoy. Once a famous male actor in melodramatic movies, he caused shock and outrage by becoming a transgender queen – and is now considered the grande dame of Turkish song. Ming Wong and his mother, May, have re-enacted Ersoy’s life in four Karaoke videos. The installation can be enjoyed in a lounge bar for the duration of the festival.

For the grand finale June, 18, Ming and May Wong invite you to a gala show in which the young Bülent and the older Diva meet live on stage. Ming Wong steals the heels of the Turkish singing diva: Bülent Ersoy. Joined by his mother May Wong and a live band, “Bülent Wongsoy” belts out stories of a life from man to woman, vamp to tramp, from sensation to indignation.

Mi, 15. Juni 2011 — Sa, 18. Juni 2011

Ming Wong (Berlin)

Biji Diva

Ming Wong | Foto: Ming Wong

Ming Wong | Foto: Ming Wong

Mit Vorliebe macht sich Ming Wong Filmklassiker zu Eigen und spielt dabei selbst alle Rollen – sei es in seiner Thomas Mann/Visconti Hommage „Life and Death in Venice“, in der Fassbinder-Adaptation „Lerne Deutsch mit Petra von Kant“ oder seiner sprichwörtlichen Arbeit „Life of Imitation“ nach Douglas Sirk.

Zum Objekt seines kulturellen Identitätsdiebstahls wird in seiner neusten Arbeit die türkische Sängerin Bülent Ersoy. Sie war einst junger Held in melodramatischen Filmen, sorgte später als Transgender-Queen für Furore und ist heute Grande Dame des türkischen Gesangs. Ming Wong spielt gemeinsam mit seiner Mutter May Ersoys Leben in vier Karaokevideos nach. Die Installation ist während des gesamten Festivals in einer Lounge-Bar zu genießen.

Zum Finale am 18. Juni um Mitternacht laden Ming und May Wong zur großen Show, in der sich der junge Bülent und die Diva live auf der Bühne begegnen. Ming Wong tritt in die High Heels der türkischen Diva Bülent Ersoy. Gemeinsam mit seiner Mutter May Wong und einer live Band schmettert „Bülent Wongsoy“ Geschichten eines Lebens zwischen Mann und Frau, Vamp und Tramp, Glamour und Gewalt.