2011, Sat, Apr 16 — 2011, Sun, Jun 19

Labor Berlin 5: Filipa César

The Embassy

Filipa César | Filmstill “The Embassy”

Filipa César | Filmstill “The Embassy”

The focal point of Filipa César’s research is the influence of Amílcar Cabral on the cinematic culture of Guinea Bissau. For Cabral, who was assassinated in 1973, cinema played a key role in the 1961 to 1973 struggle for independence from Portuguese colonial rule.

Her latest research work, from 2011, traces the footsteps of the filmmakers Flora Gomes, Sana N'Hada, Josefina Crato and José Bolama Cobumba, all of whom were trained in Cuba at Cabral’s behest. At the same time, this journey turns into a quest for the history of this West African state, whose historical and film archives were almost completely destroyed in the 1998/1999 civil war. “The Embassy” condenses this experience into a cinematic encounter with one of the few surviving records of the country’s colonial past, a photo album from the 1940s and 1950s. The album is a photographic reflection of the colonial masters’ attitude to Guinea-Bissau. In Filipa César’s film, the album is commented on by the voice of an archivist who tells the history of his country as seen through his own eyes.


Curated by Alanna Lockward


Filipa César, who was born in the Portuguese city of Porto in 1975, has been living in Berlin since 2001. Her works have been shown at the 8th Istanbul Biennial (2003), the Kunsthalle Wien (2004), Tate Modern (2007) and the Manifesta 8 (2010), to name but a few.


FRI, 20.05., 18:00h: Artist talk with Filipa César and Doreen Mende


“The Embassy” is the fifth edition of the “Labor Berlin” exhibition series, which is dedicated to the creativity and potential of the international artists who have chosen Berlin as their new home.


Labor Berlin is made possible by




Labor Berlin 5 is supported by

Sa., 16. April 2011 — So., 19. Juni 2011

Labor Berlin 5: Filipa César

The Embassy

Filipa César | Filmstill „The Embassy“

Filipa César | Filmstill „The Embassy“

Ausgangspunkt von Filipa Césars Recherche ist der Einfluss Amílcar Cabrals auf die kinematografische Kultur Guinea Bissaus. Für den 1973 ermordeten Cabral spielte die lokale Kinoproduktion eine zentrale Rolle im Unabhängigkeitskampf Guinea-Bissaus von den portugiesischen Kolonialisten zwischen 1961 und 1973.

In ihrer 2011 entstandenen Recherche sucht Filipa César nach den Spuren der Filmemacher Flora Gomes, Sana N'Hada, Josefina Crato und José Bolama Cobumba, die Cabral in Cuba ausbilden ließ. Zugleich wird aus dieser Reise eine Suche nach der Möglichkeit einer Geschichte dieses westafrikanischen Staates, dessen historische und filmische Archive im Bürgerkrieg 1998/1999 nahezu vollständig zerstört wurden. „The Embassy“ kondensiert diese Erfahrung in der filmischen Begegnung mit einem der wenigen geretteten Zeugnisse kolonialer Vergangenheit, einem Fotoalbum aus den 1940-50er Jahren. Es ist der fotografische Blick der Kolonialherren auf Guinea-Bissau, der in Filipa Césars Filmarbeit kommentiert wird durch die Stimme eines Archivars, welcher die Geschichte seines Landes mit eigenen Augen erzählt.


Kuratiert von Alanna Lockward


Filipa César, geboren 1975 im portugiesischen Porto, lebt seit 2001 in Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten waren u.a. auf der 8. Istanbuler Biennale, in der Kunsthalle Wien, der Tate Modern, auf der 29. São Paulo Biennale und der Manifesta 8 zu sehen.


Freitag, 20.05., 18 Uhr: Artist talk mit Filipa César und Doreen Mende


Mit „The Embassy“ findet „Labor Berlin“ seine fünfte Fortsetzung. Die Ausstellungsreihe ist der Kreativität und dem Potenzial der internationalen Künstler gewidmet, die die Stadt als neue Heimat gewählt haben.


Labor Berlin wird ermöglicht durch:




Labor Berlin 5 wird unterstützt von