2009, Sat, Jun 06

Beyond Multiculturalism?

Envisioning the Immigration Society

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

10 a.m. Panel 4
EVERYTHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT? WHAT THE U.S. AND EUROPE CAN LEARN FROM EACH OTHER
In conversation: Michael Werz, Transatlantic Fellow of the German Marshall Fund, Washington DC, and Yasemin Soysal, University of Essex.
Moderator: Sergey Lagodinsky, Stiftung Neue Verantwortung

"Religion, Migration and Confusion. Why Germany and the United States are so different” is the topic of Michael Werz’s recently published essay of the same name. Can the experiences of the United States be compared with those of Europe, or even be considered applicable? What exactly are the specific conditions for migration and diversity in the European welfare states? More about the participants...

12 h forum policy
ENSURING PARTICIPATION - WHAT POLICY IS NEEDED FOR THE IMMIGRATION SOCIETY?
Mark Terkessidis, migration researcher and journalist, Cologne / Berlin In conversation with Günter Piening, Commissioner of Integration and Migration, Berlin Senate, and Ayça Polat, Commissioner of Integration, City of Oldenburg

How can participation in immigration societies be encouraged and developed? Where is the exclusion of social groups taking place in Germany? How do we overcome stigma and structural discrimination? And: How do we establish opportunities and equal access between diverse social groups without classifying them according to their descent and ethnicity? More about the participants...

3 p.m. Culture Forum
CULTURES IN MOTION – HOW DO NATIONAL INSTITUTIONS COME TO TERMS WITH TRANSNATIONAL CULTURE?
Cilly Kugelmann, Deputy Director, Jewish Museum Berlin
Mely Kiyak, author and journalist, Berlin
Filipa César, artist, Lisbon / Berlin
Moderator: Fatema Mian, journalist

What impact does diversity have on Germany’s sense of culture, when culture still is decisively informed by the notion of nation—and how do cultural institutions respond to it? Mobility and migration have proven to be a creative resource and potential for artistic creativity, especially in the cultural arena. Why has this development not been represented in major productions and institutions? More about the participants...

5.15 p.m. Final discussion
BEYOND MULTICULTURALISM - CHALLENGES FOR THE IMMIGRATION SOCIETY
A conversation with Wilfried N'Sondé, musician and author, Kien Nghi Ha, political and cultural sciences scholar, and David Hollinger historian.

1989 to 2009 – The Day After Tomorrow: Since its opening 20 years ago, the Haus der Kulturen der Welt has continuously created a platform for debates about multiculturalism. This final discussion with representatives from the areas of culture and science will sum up the critical debate around this term and take a look into future, to the challenges facing future European immigration societies. More about the participants...

Sun June 21, 6-7 p.m. HausRadio
BEYOND MULTICULTURALISM - A RADIO FEATURE

A new generation of radio-journalists reports from the Congress: Reporters from the association "The DeuKische generation." "DeuKisch" stands for how it feels to be of Turkish descent and growing up bilingual and bicultural in Germany. Distancing themselves from the traditional role of the immigrant, they consider themselves as integral and influential members of German society.

Live broadcast on 97.2 FM and live streaming on www.myspace.com/Hausradio , Podcast www.hkw.de/hausradio

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Sa., 06. Juni 2009

Beyond Multiculturalism?

Fragen an die Einwanderungsgesellschaft

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3

10 h Panel 4
ALLES GANZ ANDERS? WAS DIE USA UND EUROPA VONEINANDER LERNEN KÖNNEN
Im Gespräch: Michael Werz, Transatlantic Fellow of the German Marshall Fund, Washington D.C. und Yasemin Soysal, University of Essex.
Moderation: Sergey Lagodinsky, Stiftung Neue Verantwortung

“Religion, Migration and Confusion. Warum Deutschland und die USA so unterschiedlich sind”, das beschrieb Michael Werz jüngst in einem seiner Aufsätze. Kann man die Erfahrungen der USA mit denen Europas vergleichen, gar übertragen? Was genau sind die besonderen Rahmenbedingungen für Migration und Vielfalt in den europäischen Sozialstaaten? Mehr zu den Teilnehmern...

12 h Forum Politik
TEILHABE SCHAFFEN – WELCHE POLITIK BRAUCHT DIE EINWANDERUNGSGESELLSCHAFT?
Mark Terkessidis, Migrationsforscher und Publizist, Köln/Berlin im Gespräch mit Günter Piening, Beauftragter für Integration und Migration des Senats von Berlin und Ayça Polat, Integrationsbeauftragte der Stadt Oldenburg

Wie kann Partizipation in Einwanderungsgesellschaften gestaltet werden? Wo findet Ausschluss gesellschaftlicher Gruppen in Deutschland statt, wie löst man Stigmatisierungen auf, wie strukturelle Diskriminierungen? Und: Wie stellt man Chancen- und Zugangsgerechtigkeit zwischen unterschiedlichen Gesellschaftsgruppen her, ohne sie auf ihre Herkunftskultur festzuschreiben? Mehr zu den Teilnehmern...

15 h Forum Kultur
BEWEGUNG IN DER KULTURSZENE – WIE BEGEGNEN SICH TRANSNATIONALE KULTUR UND NATIONALE INSTITUTIONEN?
Cilly Kugelmann, Jüdisches Museum Berlin
Mely Kiyak, Autorin und Journalistin, Berlin
Filipa César, Künstlerin, Lissabon/Berlin
Moderation: Fatema Mian, Journalistin

Wie wirkt sich Diversität auf das Kulturverständnis in Deutschland aus, das oft noch dezidiert national geprägt ist – und wie reagieren die Kulturinstitutionen darauf? Gerade im Bereich der Kultur haben sich Mobilität und Migration als Kreativitätsressource und Potential für künstlerisches Schaffen erwiesen. Welche Gründe gibt es dafür, dass diese Entwicklung in den großen Produktionen und Institutionen oftmals noch nicht abgebildet wird? Mehr zu den Teilnehmern...

17.15 h Abschlussdiskussion
BEYOND MULTICULTURALISM – HERAUSFORDERUNGEN FÜR DIE EINWANDERUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
Ein Gespräch mit Wilfried N’Sondé, Musiker und Autor, Kien Nghi Ha, Politik- und Kulturwissenschaftler, und David Hollinger, Historiker

1989 - 2009 - Übermorgen: Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt war in den 20 Jahren seit seiner Eröffnung immer wieder Plattform von Debatten um den Multikulturalismus. Die Abschlussdiskussion resümiert mit Vertretern aus Kultur und Wissenschaft die kritische Revision dieses Begriffs und wirft einen Blick in die Zukunft, auf Herausforderungen an die zukünftigen europäischen Einwanderungsgesellschaften. Mehr zu den Teilnehmern...

So 21.6. 18 - 19 Uhr HAUSradio
“BEYOND MULTICULTURALISM?” – EIN RADIO-FEATURE
im Rahmen des Programms HAUSRadio

Eine neue Radiomachergeneration berichtet vom Kongress: Reporter vom Verein „Die DeuKische Generation“. "DeuKisch" steht für das Lebensgefühl bikulturell und bilingual aufgewachsener, türkischstämmiger Jugendlicher. Losgelöst vom Rollenbild des Migranten sehen sie sich als fester Bestandteil der deutschen Gesellschaft, die sie mitgestalten.

Live-Sendung auf UKW 97,2 und im Live-Stream auf www.myspace.com/Hausradio , Podcast www.hkw.de/hausradio

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3