2008, Tue, Sep 16

Europe / Migration / City

Zafer Senocak (Berlin) encounters Azouz Begag (Paris)

Banlieue, Kiez, district - how do immigrants from the former colonies find it living in French cities? What is the situation of immigrants in urban areas of Germany? The two authors will be taking up these questions from a literary and socio-political perspective within the framework of a Franco-German dialogue.

Host: Susanne Stemmler, the House of World Cultures


In co-operation with the Deutsch-Französischen Dialogreihe (Franco-German dialogues) staged by the Institut Français, Berlin


Zafer Senocak was born in Ankara in 1961. He studied politics, philosophy and German literature and language in Munich. Quite early on, he published poems and essays on the subject Orient-Occident, on German-Turkish cultural relations and on interculturalism in German and Turkish. As frequent writer-in-residence, he has taught at a number of universities in the USA. His much-awarded and, above all, internationally acclaimed works have been translated into a number of languages. By translating works by Turkish authors, he has made in important theoretical contribution to German-Turkish literature. One of his best-known prose works is the Berliner Tetralogie. In 2001, his work Zungenentfernung. Bericht aus der Quarantänestation was published. Senocak lives in Berlin.


Azouz Begag, who has a doctorate in economics and sociology, was born in France in 1957 as the son of Algerian immigrants. He is one of the best-known representatives of litérature beure. A central theme of his works is the mobility of immigrants, their affiliation to two cultures and the everyday experience of racism. With his works, he has made an important contribution to Franco-Maghreb identity. In addition to his scientific studies, he has also received much acclaim for his novels for children, young people and adults. His very first novel Le gône du chaâba deals with life as a youth in the Banlieues. As Minister for the Promotion of Equal Opportunities under the French Prime Minister Dominique de Villepin, he implemented policies in line with his views. Begag was made a Chevalier dans I’Ordre National du Mérite and a Knight of the Foreign Legion.

Di, 16. September 2008

Europa / Migration / Stadt

Zafer Senocak (Berlin) trifft Azouz Begag (Paris)

Banlieue, Kiez, Quartier - wie lebt es sich als Einwanderer aus den ehemaligen Kolonien in französischen Großstädten? Wie ist die Situation der Einwanderer im urbanen Leben Deutschlands? Die beiden Schriftsteller werden in einem deutsch-französischen Dialog diese Fragen aus literarischer und gesellschaftspolitischer Perspektive aufgreifen.

Moderation: Susanne Stemmler, Haus der Kulturen der Welt


In Kooperation mit der Deutsch-Französischen Dialogreihe des Institut Français


Zafer Senocak, geboren 1961 in Ankara, studierte in München Germanistik, Politik und Philosophie. Er veröffentlichte schon früh Gedichte und Essays zum Thema Orient-Okzident, zu den deutsch-türkischen Kulturbeziehungen und zur Interkulturalität in deutscher und türkischer Sprache. Als mehrfacher „Writer in Residence“ lehrte er an mehreren Universitäten in den USA. Seine vielfach prämierten Werke wurden vor allem international anerkannt und in mehreren Sprachen übersetzt. Mit der Übersetzung der Werke türkischer Autoren leistete er wichtige theoretische Beiträge zur deutsch-türkischen Literatur. Zu seinen bekanntesten Prosawerken zählt die Berliner Tetralogie. Zuletzt erschien Zungenentfernung. Bericht aus der Quarantänestation (2001). Der Autor lebt in Berlin.


Azouz Begag,der promovierte Ökonom und Soziologe Azouz Begag wurde als Sohn algerischer Einwanderer 1957 in Frankreich geboren. Er gilt als einer der bekanntesten Vertreter der „litérature beure“. In seinen Werken thematisiert er die Mobilität der Migranten, die Zugehörigkeit zu zwei Kulturen und den alltäglichen Rassismus und leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zu einer franko-maghrebinischen Identität. Neben wissenschaftlichen Studien, erhielten vor allem seine Romane für Kinder, Jugendlichen und Erwachsene eine große Beachtung. Schon in seinem ersten Roman „Le gône du chaâba“ (dt. „Azouz, der Junge vom Stadtrand“, 1998) setzte er sich mit einer Jugend in den Banlieues auseinander. Als Minister für die Förderung von Chancengleichheit unter dem französischen Premierminister Dominique de Villepin setzte er seine Position in Politik um. Für seine gesellschaftlichen Verdienste wurde er sowohl zum Ritter des Nationalen Verdienstordens als auch zum Ritter der Ehrenlegion geschlagen.