2008, Fri, Aug 29

Introduction to the exhibition

with Marion von Osten (Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien), Tom Avermaete (Delft University of Technology), Serhat Karakayali (Kanak Attak, TRANSIT MIGRATION Berlin) and Daniel Weiss (GTA Archiv, ETH Zürich)


Marion von Osten, in her work as an artist, cultural scientist and exhibition-maker, Marion von Osten adopts a trans-disciplinary approach. Her exhibitions and events, as well as her artistic and theoretical works, deal with post-colonial and neo-liberal conditions, the government of mobility and subjectivity, and the social significance of cultural production. From 1996-98, Marion von Osten was curator of the Shedhalle Zurich, where she organised projects such as Sex&Space, SUPERmarkt and MoneyNations. From 2003-2005, she was the artistic director of Projekt Migration (together with Kathrin Rhomberg) and TRANSIT MIGRATION (with Regina Römhild). Since 2006, she has held a professorship at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. Her publications include Projekt Migration (2005) and Norm der Abweichung (2003).


Tom Avermaete is architectural historian and co-curator of the exhibition. He lives and works in Delft as an associate professor of architecture at the Delft University of Technology with a special research interest in the public realm and the architecture of the city. He is the author of Another Modern: the Post-War Architecture and Urbanism of Candilis-Josic-Woods (2005) and editor of amongst others Wonen in Welvaart (Dwelling in Welfare, 2007) on the architecture of the welfare state in Belgium. He is an editor of OASE Architectural Journal. Together with Hans Teerds and Klaske Havik he prepares a publication with the title Positions: Architectural Stances on Modernity and the Public Sphere.


Serhat Karakayali is sociologist and co-curator of the exhibition and lives and works in Berlin. He holds an M.A. in Sociology and a Ph.D. on the “Metamorphosis of Illegality” from the University of Frankfurt am Main and worked on the transformation of welfare states and issues of migration and citizenship. He was fellow researcher on the project TRANSIT MIGRATION based at the University of Frankfurt for the Department for Cultural Anthropology. He currently works in a project on racism and antisemitism in Berlin.


Daniel Weiss was born in 1967. He studied history and art history at the University of Zurich. He manages the archive of the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta) at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich. In addition to his freelance projects, contributions to town-development policy, academic editing, and work in grass-roots collectives, he is involved in numerous research, publication and exhibition projects on the history of twentieth century architecture.

Fr, 29. August 2008

Einführung in die Ausstellung

mit anschließendem Rundgang

Mit Marion von Osten (Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien), Tom Avermaete (Delft University of Technology), Serhat Karakayali (Kanak Attak, TRANSIT MIGRATION Berlin) und Daniel Weiss (GTA Archiv, ETH Zürich)


Marion von Osten, in ihrer Arbeit als Künstlerin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin und Ausstellungsmacherin stellt Marion von Osten transdisziplinäre Arbeitsmethoden ins Zentrum. Ausstellungs-, Veranstaltungsprojekte, künstlerische und theoretische Arbeiten setzen sich mit post-kolonialen und neo-liberalen Verhältnissen, der Regierung von Mobilität und Subjektivität, sowie der gesellschaftlichen Bedeutung der Kulturproduktion auseinander. Sie war von 1996-98 Kuratorin an der Shedhalle Zürich und organisierte dort Projekte wie „Sex&Space“, „SUPERmarkt“ oder „MoneyNations“, von 2003-2005 künstlerische Leiterin von „Projekt Migration“ mit Kathrin Rhomberg und TRANSIT MIGRATION mit Regina Römhild. Seit 2006 hält sie eine Professur an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Zu ihren Publikationen gehören u.a. “Projekt Migration“ (2005) und „Norm der Abweichung“ (2003).


Tom Avermaete ist Architekturhistoriker und Co-Kurator der Ausstellung. Er lebt und arbeitet in Delft als Professor für Architektur an der Delft University of Technology. Seine wissenschaftliche Arbeit konzentriert sich auf den Öffentlichen Raum und die Stadtarchitektur. Er ist der Autor des Buches Another Modern: the Post-War Architecture and Urbanism of Candilis-Josic-Woods (2005) und hat unter anderem Wonen in Welvaart (Dwelling in Welfare, 2007) über Architektur im Sozialstaat Belgien herausgegeben. Er ist Redakteur beim OASE Architectural Journal. Zusammen mit Hans Teerds und Klaske Havik arbeitet er an einer Publikation mit dem Titel Positions: Architectural Stances on Modernity and the Public Sphere.


Serhat Karakayali, der Soziologe und Co-Kurator der Ausstellung lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Er ist Magister der Soziologie und hat mit der Arbeit “Metamorphosis of Illegality” an der Universität Frankfurt am Main promoviert. Er arbeitet zum Thema Transformation des Wohlfahrtsstaates und Themen wie Migration und Bürgerlichkeit. Er war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsprojekt TRANSIT MIGRATION. Am Fachbereich Gesellschaftswissenschaften der Universität Frankfurt/Main. Derzeit arbeitet er bei kanak attak in einem Projekt über Rassismus und Antisemitismus in Berlin.


Daniel Weiss, geboren 1967, studierte Geschichte und Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Zürich. Er betreut das Archiv des Instituts für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur (gta) an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule ETH Zürich. Neben freien Projekten, Beiträgen zur Stadtentwicklungspolitik, wissenschaftlichen Lektoraten und der Arbeit in basispolitischen Kollektiven, beteiligte er sich an zahlreichen Forschungs-, Publikations- und Ausstellungsprojekten zur Architekturgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts.