Practices and Conversations

Where is the Planetary? Day 2

Sat, Oct 15, 2022
Auditorium
12 noon–10 pm
Free admission

In English

This event will be filmed.

On the second day of the event, the search for a common planetary practice becomes tangible. The five research questions are linked to a series of activities. The idea of a “primordial broth” serves as inspiration for a jointly designed recipe for the conditions of planetary habitability. By accumulating and recomposing ideas and material from cultural production and the built environment, participants pose questions about what needs our care, what should be preserved, and what should be left behind. Equitable, scalable processes of negotiation and deliberation are discussed into literal exhaustion. Collaboratively, participants write a sort of planetary script. All of this happens embedded in a film shoot led by Koki Tanaka. The running camera co-determines the course of the day.

12 noon–4 pm
What are the conditions for habitability?
Facilitated by L. Sasha Gora
With Shadreck Chirikure, Patricia Reed, Fernando Silva e Silva, Simon Turner, Mi You

“Mock Soup,” “Red Beans and Ricely Yours” and “Bastard Borsch”: this group tackles questions of planetary habitability through culinary cooperation. The simple question of to what extent different recipes may or may not successfully combine into one opens up space to discuss a seemingly unsolvable problem: How can we foster effective planetary collaboration despite differences, antagonisms and unequal historical responsibilities?

12 noon–10 pm
How do we tell planetary stories?
Facilitated by continent. (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears, Nina Jäger, Lital Khaikin, Anna-Luisa Lorenz)
With Ravi Agarwal, Myung-Ae Choi, John Kim, Margarida Mendes, Claire Pentecost, Fernando Silva e Silva, Rebecca Snedeker, Nikiwe Solomon

The shortest distance between two points is often the most unbearable path to take, and slower might be the fastest way to get “there.” Many stories of scarcity and strife impel us toward callous growth and rapacious progress. Certain narratives of the Anthropocene presume dominion of this planet and its plenitudes – yet such (post)scripts are composed too hastily.

Presenting a durational intervention for Where is the Planetary?, the experimental publishing collective continent. works here and hereafter through the practice of détente. This group of artists, technologists, designers and editors proposes détente as a rest, pause, or expectant repose that occurs, creates, and accommodates. Malleable and anticipative, could the delayed entanglement of détente suggest adaptive otherways – other stories that are otherwise?

1–4pm
How can habitability be measured?
Facilitated by Gary Zhexi Zhang
With Sophia Roosth, Nikiwe Solomon, Mark Williams

5–9 pm
What planetary damage can be repaired?
Facilitated by Koki Tanaka, Lisa Baraitser
With Mohammad Al Attar, Orit Halpern, Valentina Karga, Margarida Mendes, Nishant Shah, Simon Turner

What are the bodily, social and psychic preconditions for creating possibilities of repair? This group enacts an intimate exercise of sculptural practice and reflection. Transforming ideas of ‘work’ as they collectively ‘work with’ problems of maintenance and care, participants build and rebuild an object assemblage that spans several meters – paying care-ful attention to the atmosphere around them and the materials in their hands. The patience to begin again and again will remain a priority, even when such repair aims at world-spanning ecosystems and the planetary limits we have repeatedly breached in the global era.

6–10 pm
Who gets to decide what actions are taken?
Facilitated by Kai van Eikels,
With Felipe Castelblanco, Maria Chehonadskih, John Kim, Francine McCarthy, Adania Shibli

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary? Day 1

Presentations and Conversations

Oct 14, 2022

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary? Day 3

Oct 16, 2022

Practices und Gespräche

Where is the Planetary?

Sa 15.10.2022
Auditorium
12–22h
Eintritt frei

Auf Englisch

Weiteres Programm:
Fr 14.10.2022
So 16.10.2022

Die Veranstaltung wird gefilmt.

© Koki Tanaka

Am zweiten Veranstaltungstag wird die Suche nach einer gemeinsamen planetaren Praxis konkret. An die fünf Forschungsfragen schließt eine Reihe von Aktivitäten an: Die Idee der „Ursuppe“ dient als Inspiration für ein gemeinsam zu entwerfendes Rezept für die Bedingungen planetarer Bewohnbarkeit. Im Zuge der Auf- und Umschichtung von überschüssigem Material aus Kulturproduktion und gebauter Umwelt stellt sich die Frage, was unserer Fürsorge bedarf, was bewahrt werden soll und was nicht. Gerechte und skalierbare Aushandlungsprozesse werden im Zustand zunehmender Erschöpfung diskutiert. Gemeinsam wird an einem planetaren Skript geschrieben. Umrahmt sind die Aktivitäten von einem Filmdreh des Künstlers Koki Tanaka. Die laufende Kamera bestimmt den Verlauf des Tages mit.

12–16h
What are the conditions for habitability?
Gestaltet von L. Sasha Gora
Mit Shadreck Chirikure, Patricia Reed, Fernando Silva e Silva, Simon Turner, Mi You

„Mock Soup“, „Red Beans und Ricely Yours“ und „Bastard Borsch“: Kann das gemeinsame Kochen dabei helfen, Probleme planetarer Bewohnbarkeit zu lösen? Beim Versuch, aus unterschiedlichen Rezepten ein einziges Gericht zu kochen, geht die Gruppe der scheinbar unlösbaren Frage nach, wie planetare Kooperation trotz gesellschaftlicher Ungleichheiten und Widersprüche gelingen kann.

12–22h
How do we tell planetary stories?
Gestaltet von continent. (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears, Nina Jäger, Lital Khaikin, Anna-Luisa Lorenz)
Mit Ravi Agarwal, Myung-Ae Choi, John Kim, Margarida Mendes, Claire Pentecost, Fernando Silva e Silva, Rebecca Snedeker, Nikiwe Solomon

Der kürzeste Weg zwischen zwei Punkten ist oft unerträglich, vielleicht bringt uns die Langsamkeit am schnellsten zum Ziel. Geschichten von Mangel und Wettbewerb sollen uns die Alternativlosigkeit von rücksichtslosem Wachstum und Fortschritt vor Augen führen. Viele Erzählungen vom Anthropozän setzten die menschliche Herrschaft über die planetaren Ressourcen und Prozesse voraus. Solche Geschichten und Postkripte sind eindeutig zu hastig verfasst.

Als Langzeit-Intervention in Where is the Planetary? schlägt das experimentelle Publikationskollektiv continent. die Idee der Détente vor – eine Entspannung, ein Innehalten, eine Ruhepause, die Schutz bieten und Neues ermöglichen. Kann die retardierende Verschränkung der Détente als dehnbares wie vorausschauendes Konzept dabei helfen, andere Wege und Erzählungen planetarer Praxis zu entwickeln?

13–16h
How can habitability be measured?
Gestaltet von Gary Zhexi Zhang
Mit Jahnavi Phalkey, Sophia Roosth, Nikiwe Solomon, Mark Williams

Jeder Messung liegen spezifische Vorannahmen zugrunde. Jeder Versuch, die Möglichkeiten planetarer Bewohnbarkeit zu bestimmen, ist von bestimmten politischen, ideologischen, disziplinären und kulturellen Perspektiven beeinflusst. Daher wird die Diskussion über die Vermessbarkeit von Welten und Weltbezügen in dieser Session von einem Therapeuten begleitet, der als Beobachter zweiter Ordnung den Blick für unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen schärft.

17–21h
What planetary damage can be repaired?
Gestaltet von Koki Tanaka, Lisa Baraitser
Mit Mohammad Al Attar, Orit Halpern, Valentina Karga, Margarida Mendes, Nishant Shah, Simon Turner

Was sind die körperlichen und geistigen Ausgangsbedingungen für eine erfolgversprechende planetare Reparatur? In der gemeinsamen – theoretischen wie praktischen – Übung eine Skulptur herzustellen, bearbeitet die Gruppe Fragen der Fürsorge und Pflege, während sie ein mehrere Meter großes Objektensemble konstruiert und re-konstruiert. Im Zentrum stehen die gleichzeitige Aufmerksamkeit für die Menschen im Raum und das Material in den Händen sowie die Überzeugung, dass auch die planetare Sorgearbeit in Zeiten ökologischer Krisen die Kraft voraussetzt, immer wieder von Neuem zu beginnen.

18-22h
Who gets to decide what actions are taken?
Gestaltet von Kai van Eikels
Mit Felipe Castelblanco, Maria Chehonadskih, John Kim, Francine McCarthy, Adania Shibli

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary?

Präsentationen und Gespräche

14.10.2022

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary?

16.10.2022