Presentations and Conversations

Where is the Planetary? Day 1

Fri, Oct 14, 2022
Auditorium
7–10 pm
Free admission

In English

This event will be filmed.

The opening night sets up the search for a model of sustainable collaboration under planetary conditions: What diverse worldviews underlie the way we deal with the planet’s crises? How can a common political and social agency emerge from this? In an experimental setting designed by artist Koki Tanaka, scientists, scholars and artists share various perspectives on planetary practice: from zooming out to the cosmic, grounding back to our geological Earth and personal biographies, to exploring the ethics of repair and care and the vision of a second primordial soup for planetary survival.

7 pm
Planetary Habitability Part 1
Presentations
With Katrin Klingan, Bernd Scherer, Koki Tanaka, Lisa Baraitser, L. Sasha Gora, Jan Zalasiewicz (remote)

We become aware of the planetary at the moment certain modes of life bring the life-support systems of Earth to their limits. But how these thresholds are breached, measured, or felt varies greatly depending on the ideologies and worldviews that underlie them or the material limitations they effect.

The evening begins with a search for the location of the planetary, informed by diverse practices like care and geological research. Over the course of the evening, Koki Tanaka will introduce his practice alongside models for developing planetary collaboration which will take place the following day.

8 pm
Planetary Habitability Part 2
Presentations
With Shadreck Chirikure, L. Sasha Gora, Patricia Reed, Fernando Silva e Silva, Simon Turner, Mi You, Gary Zhexi Zhang

How do different social and political assumptions behind any understanding of planetary boundaries affect the possibilities for understanding each other, the measurability of the planet at multiple scales, and the possibility of agreeing on and implementing effective countermeasures?

A group discussion between participants reimagines collaboration from the chaotic processes of a primordial soup. The session then concludes with an attempt to conceive of a structure that finds connections and measurements between different ideas and perspectives of habitability.

9 pm
Presentations
With Felipe Castelblanco, Maria Chehonadskih, Kai van Eikels, continent. (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears, Nina Jäger, Lital Khaikin, Anna-Luisa Lorenz), John Kim, Francine McCarthy, Adania Shibli

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary? Day 2

Practices and Conversations

Oct 15, 2022

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary? Day 3

Oct 16, 2022

Präsentationen und Gespräche

Where is the Planetary?

Fr 14.10.2022
Auditorium
19–22h
Eintritt frei

Auf Englisch

Weiteres Programm:
Sa 15.10.2022
So 16.10.2022

Die Veranstaltung wird gefilmt.

© Koki Tanaka

Am ersten Abend wird die gemeinschaftliche Suche nach einem Modell für ein nachhaltiges Zusammenleben unter planetaren Bedingungen vorbereitet: Welche vielfältigen Weltbilder liegen dem Umgang mit der Krise des Planeten zugrunde? Wie kann daraus gemeinsame politische und gesellschaftliche Handlungsfähigkeit entstehen? In dem von Koki Tanaka entworfenen experimentellen Setting stellen Wissenschaftler*innen und Künstler*innen fünf spezifische Perspektiven auf eine planetare Praxis vor: vom kosmischen Blick zurück auf unseren geologischen Erdkörper über persönliche Biografien hin zu Ethiken der Reparatur und Fürsorge und einer imaginären zweiten „Ursuppe“ für planetares Überleben.

19h
Planetary Habitability Part 1
Präsentationen
Mit Koki Tanaka, Lisa Baraitser, L. Sasha Gora, Jan Zalasiewicz (remote)

Das Planetare wird uns in dem Moment bewusst, in dem eine bestimmte Lebensweise das Lebenserhaltungssystem Erde an seine Grenzen bringt. Die Art und Weise, wie diese Schwellen überschritten, gemessen oder empfunden werden, ist jedoch sehr unterschiedlich und hängt von den Ideologien und Weltanschauungen ab, die ihnen zugrunde liegen, ebenso wie von den materiellen Einschränkungen, die sie bewirken.

Der Abend beginnt mit der Suche nach der Verortung des Planetaren, in Bezug gesetzt zu unterschiedlichen Wissensfeldern wie Sorgearbeit und Geologie. Koki Tanaka stellt seine Arbeitsweise vor und erste Modelle, das Planetare als Praxis weiterzuentwickeln, werden eingeführt.

20h
Planetary Habitability Part 2
Präsentationen
Mit Shadreck Chirikure, L. Sasha Gora, Jahnavi Phalkey, Patricia Reed, Sophia Roosth, Fernando Silva e Silva, Nikiwe Solomon, Simon Turner, Mi You, Mark Williams, Gary Zhexi Zhang

Dem Konzept der planetaren Grenzen liegen spezifische soziale und politische Annahmen zugrunde. Welche Bedeutung haben diese Annahmen für die Möglichkeiten zur Verständigung, für die Messbarkeit erdumspannender und lokaler Dynamiken sowie für die Möglichkeit, nachhaltige Gegenmaßnahmen zu vereinbaren und umzusetzen?

Der Abend wird fortgesetzt mit einem Gruppengespräch, das die chaotischen Prozesse in der Ursuppe des Lebens in den Blick nimmt, um neue Vorstellungen von Zusammenarbeit zu entwickeln. Im Anschluss daran versuchen die Teilnehmer*innen in einem assoziativen Spiel zum Verständnis grundlegender Konzepte verborgene epistemologische Differenzen freizulegen.

21h
Planetary Habitability Part 3
Präsentationen
Mit Ravi Agarwal, Felipe Castelblanco, Maria Chehonadskih, Myung-Ae Choi, Kai van Eikels, continent. (Jamie Allen, Paul Boshears, Nina Jäger, Lital Khaikin, Anna-Luisa Lorenz), John Kim, Francine McCarthy, Claire Pentecost, Adania Shibli, Rebecca Snedeker

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary?

Practices und Gespräche

15.10.2022

Where is the Planetary?

Where is the Planetary?

16.10.2022