2007, Fri, Dec 142008, Fri, Jan 04

Film programme 4: Lebanon I

New documentary films from the Middle East

"In this house" (film still)


16.10 h | 18.35 h

In This House

D: Akram Zaatari, Lebanon 2005, 30 mins

In his work, video artist Akram Zaatari searches for a letter written to a family by a former Lebanese resistance fighter. He and his group had dislocated the family and used their house on the Israelian-Palestinian frontline city Ain el Mir for seven years as a fighting base.


16.45 h | 19.10 h

Three Posters

D: Rabih Mroue, Lebanon 2002, 17 mins

Theatre-maker Rabih Mroué reflects upon his eponymous performance and, as a consequence, upon the ethical and political questions posed bythe appearance of suicide bombers, as well as the historiography of the Lebanese Civil War.


17.10 h | 19.30 h

Ca sera beau. From Beyrouth with love

D: Wael Noureddine, Lebanon 2006, 30 mins

‘Beirut or perhaps any town which is at war with itself …One has a choice between army and religion or religion and army. A dose of heroine costs five Dollars. I’m visiting a couple of friends and I’m sending my postcards.’


17.45 h | 20.05 h

I had a dream mom

D: Lina Saneh, Lebanon 2006, 45 mins

In her first film, theatre-maker Lina Saneh explores the irrational. ‘I am telling my mother a

dream. She understands it. She returns the ball. It slips through my fingers.’


Film Directors


Rabih Mroue, born in Beirut in 1967, is a performance artist and filmmaker. His most recent plays include ‘How Nancy Wished that Everything was an April Fool’s Joke’ (2007), ‘Make me stop smoking’ (2006), ‘Who’s Afraid of Representation’ (2004), ‘Looking for a Missing Employee’ (2003).

Born in Lebanon in 1978, Wael Noureddine is a poet, writer and filmmaker.

Lina Saneh, born 1966 in Beirut, is a theatre-maker. She worked as an actress und wrote and staged many plays including ‘Les Chaises’ (1996), ‘Ovrira’ (1997), ‘Extrait d’Etat Civil’ (2000) and ‘Biokhraphia’ (2002).

Akram Zaatari is a video artist and curator who lives and works in Beirut. He is co-founder of the Arab Image Foundation in Beirut through which he developed his recent work on the photographic history of the Middle East.

Fr, 14. Dezember 2007Fr, 04. Januar 2008

Filmprogramm 4: Libanon I

Neue Dokumentarfilme aus dem Nahen Osten

"In this house" (Filmstill)


16.10 h | 18.35 h

In This House

R: Akram Zaatari, Libanon 2005, 30 min

Der Videokünstler Akram Zaatari sucht nach einem Brief, den ein früherer libanesischer Widerstandskämpfer an eine Familie geschrieben hat. Er und seine Gruppe hatten die Familie vertrieben und deren Haus an der israelisch-palästinensischen Grenzstadt Ain el Mir sieben Jahre als Kampfbasis genutzt.


16.45 h | 19.10 h

Three Posters

R: Rabih Mroué, Libanon 2002, 17 min

Der Theaterproduzent Rabih Mroué denkt über die namengebende Performance nach, die ethischen und politischen Fragen, die sich durch das Auftauchen von Selbstmordattentätern stellen und die Geschichts-schreibung des Libanesischen Bürgerkriegs.


17.10 h | 19.30 h

Ca sera beau. From Beyrouth with love

R: Wael Noureddine, Libanon 2006, 30 min

„Beirut, oder vielleicht irgendeine Stadt die im Krieg mit sich selbst liegt …Man hat die Wahl zwischen Armee und Religion oder zwischen der Religion und der Armee. Eine Dosis Heroin kostet fünf Dollar. Ich besuche einige Bekannte und schicke meine Postkarten”.


17.45 h | 20.05 h

I had a dream mom

R: Lina Saneh, Libanon 2006, 45 min

In ihrem ersten Film entdeckt die Theaterproduzentin Lina Saneh das Irrationale. „Ich erzähle meiner Mutter einen Traum. Sie versteht ihn. Sie wirft den Ball zurück. Er rutscht durch meine Finger.“

18.35 h

Regisseure


Rabih Mroué, 1967 in Beirut geboren, ist ein Performance-Künstler und Filmemacher. Zu seinen jüngsten Stücken zählen „How Nancy Wished that Everything was an April Fool’s Joke” (2007), „Make me stop smoking“ (2006), „Who’s Afraid of Representation” (2004), „Looking for a Missing Employee" (2003).

Wael Noureddine, 1978 im Libanon geboren, ist Schriftsteller, Autor und Filmemacher.

Die 1966 in Beirut geborene Lina Saneh ist Theaterproduzentin. Sie arbeitete als Schauspielerin und schrieb und inszenierte mehrere Stücke, darunter „Les Chaises” (1996), „Ovrira” (1997), „Extrait d’Etat Civil“ (2000) und „Biokhraphia” (2002).

Der Videokünstler und Kurator Akram Zaatari lebt und arbeitet in Beirut. Er ist Mitbegründer der Arab Image Foundation in Beirut, durch die er seine jüngste Arbeit zur Fotografiegeschichte des Nahen Ostens entwickelte.