2021, Sat, Oct 30

Students‘ Day

Photo: Neslihan Yagiz

Photo: Neslihan Yagiz

Are there maps that register one’s home – whether its loss or the establishment of a new one? On Students’ Day, two workshops survey the themes of the Archive of Refuge. Participants visually map the film interviews, record refugee narratives in cartographies and express their own hopes for a pluralistic society.

The Students’ Day is coordinated by students of the Department of European Ethnology at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and accompanied by Manuela Bojadžijev.

Workshop 1
Collective Cartographies
With Tom Bucher, Esther Buntfuß, Antonia Welch Guerra, Neslihan Yagiz and Ilayda Schattner (theater pedagogical consultant)

Students approach the oral history project with an associative exercise from theatrical training. They visit the installation in the HKW lobby and compile personal observations in conversations. Then they respond to one another in writing and together create diagrams of their impressions. What do the interviews tell about Germany today, but also about the country’s past? How can a migration society be shaped for the future?

Workshop 2
Mapping as Method
With Simon Ullrich, Patricia Usée, Nelson Wilhelm

Places of flight, places of transit: Participants connect the transit spaces described in the digital archive; their political and geographical structures. They do not use the mapping method to depict borders; instead it intervenes, enables social counter-designs – and develops utopias for a place of arrival.

Sa., 30. Oktober 2021

Students‘ Day

Foto: Neslihan Yagiz

Foto: Neslihan Yagiz

Gibt es Karten, die Heimat verzeichnen – ihren Verlust oder den Aufbau eines neuen Zuhauses? Am Students’ Day vermessen zwei Workshops die Themen des Archivs der Flucht. Sie kartieren die Filminterviews visuell, halten Fluchterzählungen in Kartografien fest und formulieren persönliche Wünsche für eine plurale Gesellschaft.

Der Students' Day wird von Studierenden des Instituts für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin gestaltet – begleitet von Manuela Bojadžijev.

Workshop 1
Kollektive Kartografien
Mit Tom Bucher, Esther Buntfuß, Antonia Welch Guerra, Neslihan Yagiz und Ilayda Schattner (theaterpädagogische Beraterin)

Studierende nähern sich dem Oral-History-Projekt mit einer assoziativen Übung aus der Theaterpädagogik: Sie besuchen die Installation im HKW-Foyer und tragen persönliche Beobachtungen im Gespräch zusammen. Anschließend reagieren sie schriftlich aufeinander und erstellen gemeinsam Schaubilder ihrer Eindrücke. Was erzählen die Interviews über das Deutschland von heute, aber auch über die Vergangenheit dieses Landes? Wie lässt sich eine Migrationsgesellschaft zukunftsfähig gestalten?

Workshop 2
Mapping als Methode
Mit Simon Ullrich, Patricia Usée, Nelson Wilhelm

Orte der Flucht, Orte des Transits: Teilnehmende verbinden die im digitalen Archiv beschriebenen Durchgangsräume, ihre politischen und geografischen Strukturen. Die Methode des Mapping wird dabei nicht angewendet, um Grenzen auf Landkarten sichtbar zu machen. Vielmehr interveniert sie, ermöglicht gesellschaftliche Gegenentwürfe – und entwickelt Utopien für einen Ort zum Ankommen.