2021, Tue, Sep 21 and 2021, Wed, Sep 22

Marx

A film by Olaf Nicolai

Olaf Nicolai | Marx, 2020 (film still).

Olaf Nicolai | Marx, 2020 (film still).

A fixed camera shot of the Karl Marx Monument in Chemnitz, filmed over the course of one day: For his film, Olaf Nicolai chose a single frame that shows only part of the colossal face. The 24-hour close-up transforms the political icon into a landscape that is subject to constant change caused by the surrounding light conditions. The noise of traffic or passers-by and the advancing clock of the carillon from the nearby city hall tower can be heard. With Marx, artist Olaf Nicolai asks about the course of time, about its measurement and meaning in physical and philosophical terms.

Marx was shot in 2020 during the autumnal equinox when day and night are the same length. Exactly one year later, it is being screened at the equinox in different locations. The images travel around the globe and can each be seen in different time zones – from Guangzhou to Jerusalem, Tangier and Berlin, to Montevideo and Los Angeles.

In cooperation with Haus der Kunst. Produced as part of the project “Gegenwarten I Presences 2020”, organized by the Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz.

The worldwide 24-hour premiere is made possible by the support of Haus der Kunst, Munich; Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig/Berlin; Knust Kunz Gallery Editions; Stiftung Federkiel & Christian Jacobs; Federal Cultural Foundation and Stadt Chemnitz.

Di, 21. September 2021 und Mi, 22. September 2021

Marx

Ein Film von Olaf Nicolai

Olaf Nicolai | Marx, 2020 (Filmstill).

Olaf Nicolai | Marx, 2020 (Filmstill).

Eine fixierte Kameraeinstellung auf das Karl-Marx-Monument in Chemnitz, gefilmt über einen Tag hinweg: Für seinen Film wählte Olaf Nicolai einen einzigen Bildausschnitt, der nur einen Teil des monumentalen Gesichts zeigt. Das 24-Stunden-Close-up verwandelt die politische Ikone in eine Landschaft, die ständiger Veränderung durch die Lichtverhältnisse der Umgebung unterworfen ist. Zu hören ist der vorbeiziehende Lärm des Verkehrs oder Passant*innen und die voranschreitende Uhr des Glockenspiels vom nahegelegenen Rathausturm. Mit Marx fragt der Künstler Olaf Nicolai nach dem Verlauf von Zeit, nach ihrer Bemessung und Bedeutung in physikalischer wie philosophischer Hinsicht.

Der Film Marx wurde 2020 während der herbstlichen Tagundnachtgleiche aufgenommen, wenn Tag und Nacht dieselbe Länge haben. Genau ein Jahr später wird er zur Tagundnachtgleiche an verschiedenen Orten vorgeführt. Die Bilder reisen um den Globus und sind in jeweils unterschiedlichen Zeitzonen zu sehen – von Guangzhou über Jerusalem, Tanger und Berlin bis nach Montevideo und Los Angeles.

In Kooperation mit dem Haus der Kunst. Produziert im Rahmen des Projekts „Gegenwarten I Presences 2020“, veranstaltet durch die Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz.

Die weltweite 24-Stunden-Uraufführung wurde ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung von Haus der Kunst, München; Galerie Eigen + Art Leipzig / Berlin; Knust Kunz Gallery Editions; Stiftung Federkiel & Christian Jacobs; Kulturstiftung des Bundes und Stadt Chemnitz.