2021, Thu, Oct 07

Assembling a Black Counter Culture

With DeForrest Brown, Jr., Lakuti, Mark Ernestus

© Abu Qadim Haqq (Detail)

© Abu Qadim Haqq (Detail)

7 pm Doors open
7.30 pm Book presentation: Assembling a Black Counter Culture
8.15 pm Panel: Techno at the End of The Future
9.15 pm Lakuti (DJ set)
9.45 pm DeForrest Brown, Jr. (live)
10.15 pm Mark Ernestus (DJ set)

Make Techno Black Again. That’s the unequivocal call of an initiative by DeForrest Brown, Jr. The Birmingham, Alabama-raised theorist, musician and activist dismantles the myths surrounding techno’s origins. His book Assembling a Black Counter Culture fuses the history of the music with the experiences of the Black working class in the U.S. and the migration of techno to Europe, offering a new perspective on electronic music and club culture as a whole.

At HKW, Brown will present the main arguments of his book. According to the motto „Techno at the End of the Future“, he will discuss the Detroit-Berlin axis with Lerato Khathi aka Lakuti of Uzuri Recordings and Mark Ernestus, co-founder of the Berlin record store Hard Wax, moderated by music journalist Christine Kakaire. The discussion will be followed by live music by DeForrest Brown, Jr. and DJ sets by Lakuti and Mark Ernestus.

As key gateways for techno in Europe, London and Berlin are the focus of two accompanying podcast episodes with DeForrest Brown, Jr., Steve Goodman, Nkisi, Lerato Khathi, Mark Ernestus and others in cooperation with the Camden Art Centre in London.

Do, 07. Oktober 2021

Assembling a Black Counter Culture

Mit DeForrest Brown, Jr; Lakuti; Mark Ernestus

© Abu Qadim Haqq (Detail)

© Abu Qadim Haqq (Detail)

19h Einlass
19.30h Buchpräsentation: Assembling a Black Counter Culture
20.15h Diskussion: Techno at the End of The Future
21.15h Lakuti (DJ-Set)
21.45h DeForrest Brown, Jr. (live)
22.15h Mark Ernestus (DJ-Set)

Make Techno Black Again. Das ist die unmissverständliche Forderung einer Initiative von DeForrest Brown, Jr. Der Theoretiker, Musiker und Aktivist aus Birmingham, Alabama, zerlegt die Mythen um die Ursprünge von Techno. Sein Buch Assembling a Black Counter Culture verquickt die Geschichte der Musik mit den Erfahrungen der Schwarzen Arbeiterklasse in den USA sowie der Migration von Techno nach Europa und bietet damit eine neue Perspektive auf elektronische Musik und Clubkultur als Ganzes.

Im HKW stellt Brown die Hauptthesen seines Buchs vor. Mit Lerato Khathi alias Lakuti von Uzuri Recordings und Mark Ernestus, Mitbegründer des Berliner Plattenladens Hard Wax, diskutiert er unter dem Motto „Techno at the End of the Future“ über die Achse Detroit–Berlin, moderiert von der Musikjournalistin Christine Kakaire. Darauf folgen Live-Musik von DeForrest Brown, Jr. und DJ-Sets von Lakuti und Mark Ernestus.

London und Berlin als zentrale Eingangspforten für Techno in Europa stehen im Zentrum von zwei begleitenden Podcast-Folgen mit DeForrest Brown, Jr; Steve Goodman; Nkisi; Lerato Khathi; Mark Ernestus u. a. in Kooperation mit dem Camden Art Centre in London.