2021, Wed, Aug 252021, Sun, Aug 29

Rencontres Internationales Paris/Berlin – New cinema and contemporary art

Isabell Heimerdinger | Soon It Will Be Dark (film still) | Image courtesy Isabell Heimerdinger

Isabell Heimerdinger | Soon It Will Be Dark (film still) | Image courtesy Isabell Heimerdinger

What does the future of audiovisual media look like? What cross-border cinematic approaches await discovery? The Rencontres Internationales trace the characteristics and convergences of new cinema and contemporary art, explore new cinematic practices and critical approaches. Following hybrid editions in 2020 at HKW and in spring 2021 at the Louvre, the Rencontres Internationales will now show the films in Berlin on the big screen at HKW’s open air cinema in the Westgarten and in the Lecture Hall. Some of the programs and the artist talks will additionally be streamed live. Rencontres Internationales present a selection of 122 cinematic works from 39 countries, including documentaries and experimental films, fictional and multimedia works by well-known artists and young talents in many world and Germany premieres.

One highlight is the special screening of The Last City by Heinz Emigholz, whose architectural and feature films explore the relationship between film time and the experience of space. Starting in October, HKW will present a monographic show of the director’s work with many more of his films. Filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul, whose most recent film Memoria won an award at Cannes, will receive a carte blanche this year. This year’s Rencontres will open with a live film performance by Luxusberlin and many film premieres.

With contributions by Albert García-Alzórriz, Gaelle Boucand, Michael Busch, George Drivas, Mauricio Freyre, Riccardo Giacconi, Tamar Guimaraes, Michelle Handelman, Salomé Lamas, Christelle Lheureux, Silvia Maglioni & Graeme Thomson, Masbedo, John Menick, Laura Huertas Millán, Novi_sad, Wendelien Van Oldenborgh, Mario Pfeifer, Wojciech Puś, Ben Rivers, Pia Rönicke, Larissa Sansour & Søren Lind, Deborah Stratman, Pilvi Takala, Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor, Phillip Warnell and many others.

Curated by Natalie Hénon and Jean-François Rettig

Mi, 25. August 2021So, 29. August 2021

Rencontres Internationales Paris/Berlin – Neuer Film und zeitgenössische Kunst

Isabell Heimerdinger | Soon It Will Be Dark (Film-Still) | Image courtesy Isabell Heimerdinger

Isabell Heimerdinger | Soon It Will Be Dark (Film-Still) | Image courtesy Isabell Heimerdinger

Wie sieht die Zukunft audiovisueller Medien aus? Welche grenzüberschreitenden filmischen Ansätze gilt es zu entdecken? Die Rencontres Internationales spüren den Besonderheiten und Konvergenzen zwischen neuem Kino und zeitgenössischer Kunst nach, untersuchen neue filmische Praktiken und kritische Ansätze. Nach den hybriden Ausgaben 2020 im HKW und im Frühjahr 2021 im Louvre, zeigen die Rencontres Internationales nun in Berlin die Filme auf großer Leinwand im HKW Open Air Kino im Westgarten und im Vortragssaal. Einige Programme und die Artist Talks werden zusätzlich live gestreamt. Die Rencontres Internationales präsentieren eine Auswahl von 122 filmischen Arbeiten aus 39 Ländern, darunter Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilme, fiktionale und multimediale Arbeiten von bekannten Künstler*innen und jungen Talenten in zahlreichen Uraufführungen und Deutschlandpremieren.

Ein besonderes Highlight ist das Special Screening von The Last City von Heinz Emigholz, der mit seinen Architektur- und Spielfilmen das Verhältnis von Filmzeit und Raumerfahrung erforscht. Ab Oktober zeigt das HKW eine Werkschau mit vielen weiteren Filmen des Regisseurs. Der Filmemacher Apichatpong Weerasethakul, dessen letzter Film Memoria in Cannes ausgezeichnet wurde, erhält in diesem Jahr eine Carte Blanche. Eröffnet werden die diesjährigen Rencontres mit einer Live-Filmperformance von Luxusberlin und vielen Filmpremieren.

Mit weiteren Arbeiten von Albert García-Alzórriz, Gaelle Boucand, Michael Busch, George Drivas, Mauricio Freyre, Riccardo Giacconi, Tamar Guimaraes, Michelle Handelman, Salomé Lamas, Christelle Lheureux, Silvia Maglioni & Graeme Thomson, Masbedo, John Menick, Laura Huertas Millán, Novi_sad, Wendelien Van Oldenborgh, Mario Pfeifer, Wojciech Puś, Ben Rivers, Pia Rönicke, Larissa Sansour & Søren Lind, Deborah Stratman, Pilvi Takala, Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor, Phillip Warnell u.v.a.

Kuratiert von Natalie Hénon und Jean-François Rettig