2021, Sun, Aug 15

Strange Matter VI (HEL on Earth)

Live film performance by Luxusberlin

Luxusberlin | Strange Matter VI (HEL on Earth), film still

Luxusberlin | Strange Matter VI (HEL on Earth), film still

Mixed media: Video, Super8, slides, prepared piano
With Claudia Splitt and Michael Busch

Strange matter doesn’t occur on Earth in a stable form. The strange quark it contains causes a state of constant dissolution and transformation, a threat to our material world. The volatility of matter, its “strangeness,” is the essence of Luxusberlin’s performance. Michael Busch and Claudia Splitt create a live film using live music, digital and analog projections, words and songs. Images are superimposed, complemented by sound collages and a narrative in which contaminated water and torrential rains threaten both the underworld and the earth’s surface.

Hel on Earth refers to the Blanke Helle, a small park in Berlin’s Tempelhof district. According to legend, it is the entrance to the subterranean realm of Hel, the Germanic goddess of the underworld and fertility. Starting from this special place, Luxusberlin unfolds a Berlin painting in time à la Walter Benjamin.

Luxusberlin is a performance group that has been active in Berlin with changing lineups since the mid-1990s. It currently consists of founding member Michael Busch and performer and singer Claudia Splitt (andcompany&Co, Madonna Hip Hop Massaker).

So., 15. August 2021

Seltsame Materie VI (HEL on Earth)

Live-Film-Performance von Luxusberlin

Luxusberlin | Seltsame Materie VI (HEL on Earth), Film-Still

Luxusberlin | Seltsame Materie VI (HEL on Earth), Film-Still

Mixed Media: Video, Super8, Dias, prepared piano
mit Claudia Splitt und Michael Busch

Seltsame Materie kommt auf der Erde nicht in stabiler Form vor. Das in ihr enthaltene Strange Quark verursacht einen Zustand ständiger Auflösung und Transformation, eine Bedrohung für unsere materielle Welt. Die Flüchtigkeit der Materie, ihre „strangeness“, ist der Kern der Performance von Luxusberlin. Michael Busch und Claudia Splitt entwerfen aus Live-Musik, digitalen und analogen Projektionen, Texten und Songs einen Live-Film. Bilder werden übereinander geblendet, ergänzt durch Soundcollagen und einem Narrativ, in dem kontaminiertes Wasser und sintflutartige Regenfälle die Unterwelt und die Erdoberfläche gleichermaßen bedrohen.

Der Titel Hel on Earth bezieht sich auf die Blanke Helle, eine kleine Parkanlage im Berliner Bezirk Tempelhof. Hier befindet sich der Sage nach der Eingang ins unterirdische Reich von Hel, der germanischen Göttin der Unterwelt und der Fruchtbarkeit. Ausgehend von diesem besonderen Ort entfaltet Luxusberlin auf den Spurens Walter Benjamins ein Berlin Gemälde in der Zeit.

Luxusberlin ist eine Performancegruppe, die in wechselnden Besetzungen seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre in Berlin aktiv ist. Aktuell besteht sie aus dem Gründungsmitglied Michael Busch und der Performerin und Sängerin Claudia Splitt (andcompany&Co, Madonna Hip Hop Massaker).