2021, Sat, Aug 07

Kantstraße: Fragments of a Street

With Flaneur Magazine and guests

Flaneur Magazine | © Fabian Saul

Flaneur Magazine | © Fabian Saul

Streets are always larger from the inside than from the outside. Flaneur Magazine takes the audience to a fragmented and invisible Kantstraße in Berlin’s West. Through readings, recordings and musical performances the hidden layers of the street are revealed.

This juxtaposition of stories, voices and events that don’t seem to be connected at first glance, lead to an underlying geometry of resistance beyond the canonic narratives of the dominant majority: a novelist from Tehran living in several time zones, the librarian of Jüdisches Gemeindehaus, forgotten histories of communist resistance in the women’s prison, a Holocaust survivor’s dream of flying. As we move along Kantstraße, reflections of other cities and other times become part of the present street: from Prospekt Mira in Moscow to a lonely night in Paris, from a full moon in Athens to the Luna Park in New York.

In continuation of last year’s listening session at 20 Sunsets, these stories from Kantstraße are extended and entangled to reveal unforeseen correlations. The staging of the audio performance will reflect the fragmented nature of the narration.

With Grashina Gabelmann, Natasha Lennard, Elliott McKee, Ricarda Messner, Wouter Rentema, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Senthuran Varatharajah, Yukari Aotani and others

In cooperation with Flaneur Magazine

Sa., 07. August 2021

Kantstraße: Fragments of a Street

Mit Flaneur Magazine und Gästen

Flaneur Magazine | © Fabian Saul

Flaneur Magazine | © Fabian Saul

Straßen sind von innen immer größer als von außen. Das Flaneur Magazine nimmt das Publikum mit zu verborgenen Ecken der Kantstraße im Berliner Westen. Lesungen, Musikaufnahmen und Performances legen unsichtbare Schichten der Straße frei.

Auf den ersten Blick scheinen diese Geschichten, Stimmen und Ereignisse kaum etwas miteinander zu tun zu haben, dabei wohnt gerade ihrem Miteinander ein Muster inne, das Gegenerzählungen kanonisierten Mehrheitsnarrativen entgegenstellt: Es geht um einen Autor aus Teheran, der in verschiedenen Zeitzonen lebt; die Bibliothekarin der Jüdischen Gemeindebibliothek; vergessene Geschichten des kommunistischen Widerstandes im Frauengefängnis oder den Traum eines Holocaustüberlebenden vom Fliegen. Während des auditiven Spaziergangs durch die Kantstraße mischen sich andere Städte und Zeiten in die Gegenwart vor Ort: vom Prospekt Mira in Moskau zu einer einsamen Nacht in Paris, von einer Athener Vollmondnacht zum Luna Park in New York.

Diese Geschichten der Kantstraße sind eine Fortsetzung der letztjährigen Listening Session bei 20 Sunsets und stellen neue ungeahnte Zusammenhänge her. Die Audio-Performance reflektiert das Fragmenthafte der Erzählungen.

Mit Grashina Gabelmann, Natasha Lennard, Elliott McKee, Ricarda Messner, Wouter Rentema, Tanasgol Sabbagh, Fabian Saul, Senthuran Varatharajah, Yukari Aotani und anderen

In Kooperation mit dem Flaneur Magazine