2021, Sun, Aug 01

The Auslanders

Aemong, Loser Mage

The Auslanders, Maria Portugal | © Frank Schindelbeck

The Auslanders, Maria Portugal | © Frank Schindelbeck

5.30pm Doors open
6pm Loser Mage
6.45pm Aemong
7.30pm The Auslanders

The Auslanders

The Auslanders have two common homes: in the legendary experimental music venue in Prenzlauer Berg and in open and collective improvisation. Experimental guitarist Julia Reidy, composer and double bassist Lisa Hoppe, songwriting improviser and drummer Mariá Portugal, writing artist and trumpeter Mazen Kerbaj and Datashock member Ruth Maria Adam on violin couldn’t be more different and are therefore perfectly suited to each other.

Aemong

Aemong

Aemong

Aemong’s music is like a haunted house: Ghostly voices wander the rooms, rumbling beats thumping beneath their floorboards like a telltale heart, while synths squeal like gates opening to other worlds. On three albums, most recently Crimson for the Diskotopia label, Henrique Uba and Yu-Ching Huang have clothed pulsating industrial, spartan post-punk and wave influences in a scratchy veil of dub – with surreal and consistently eerie results.

Loser Mage | © Martin Dziallas

Loser Mage | © Martin Dziallas

Loser Mage

Travelers should never be stopped, and that is all the truer for Martin Dziallas’s trip through Berlin’s musical underground. The Loser Mage project draws inspiration for its somnambulistic and ephemeral sounds from pop and club music, electronica and ambient. After a good decade of diverse activities – running labels, playing in bands, putting on shows as part of a collective and more – it’s entered a new phase. Another transformational step in new directions. Please don’t stop it!

So, 01. August 2021

The Auslanders

Aemong, Loser Mage

The Auslanders, Maria Portugal | © Frank Schindelbeck

The Auslanders, Maria Portugal | © Frank Schindelbeck

17.30h Einlass
18h Loser Mage
18.45h Aemong
19.30h The Auslanders

The Auslanders

The Auslanders haben ein zweifaches gemeinsames Zuhause: In dem legendären Veranstaltungsort für experimentelle Musik im Prenzlauer Berg einerseits und in der offenen und kollektiven Improvisation andererseits. Die Experimentalgitarristin Julia Reidy, die Komponistin und Kontrabassistin Lisa Hoppe, die Songwriting-Improvisateurin und Drummerin Mariá Portugal, der schreibende Künstler und Trompeter Mazen Kerbaj und das Datashock-Mitglied Ruth Maria Adam an der Violine könnten unterschiedlicher nicht sein und passen deshalb perfekt zueinander.

Aemong

Aemong

Aemong

Die Musik von Aemong ist wie ein Spukhaus: Gespenstische Stimmen irren durch die Räume, unter deren Dielenbrettern rumpelige Beats klopfen wie ein verräterisches Herz, während die Synthies wie Tore quietschen, die sich anderen Welten öffnen. Über drei Alben hinweg, zuletzt auf Crimson für das Label Diskotopia, haben Henrique Uba und Yu-Ching Huang pulsierenden Industrial, spartanischen Post-Punk und Wave-Einflüsse in einen kratzigen Schleier aus Dub gekleidet. Mit surrealistischen und konsequent unheimlichen Resultaten.

Loser Mage | © Martin Dziallas

Loser Mage | © Martin Dziallas

Loser Mage

Reisende sollen nicht aufgehalten werden, und erst recht gilt das für Martin Dziallas’ Trip durch Berlins musikalischen Underground. Das Projekt Loser Mage bezieht die Inspiration für seine traumwandlerischen und flüchtigen Klänge aus Pop- und Clubmusik, Electronica und Ambient. Nach gut einem Jahrzehnt voller diverser Aktivitäten – Label betreiben, in Bands mitspielen, als Teil eines Kollektivs Shows veranstalten und noch mehr – ist es in eine neue Phase übergegangen. Ein weiterer Transformationsschritt in neue Richtungen. Bitte nicht aufhalten!