2021, Fri, Jul 30

Zinc & Copper, Marta De Pascalis, Golden Diskó Ship

Golden Diskó Ship | © Sara Perovic

Golden Diskó Ship | © Sara Perovic

7pm Doors open
8pm Zinc & Copper
8.45pm Marta De Pascalis
9.30pm Golden Diskó Ship

Golden Diskó Ship

No matter what Theresa Stroetges does, she does it differently. Cosmic krautrock, autotuned pop, folk rock, IDM and techno rhythms aren’t pigeonholes the multi-instrumentalist can be put. Instead, she opens them up – sometimes all at once, sometimes just a few – to make the best of and reassemble them. The Golden Diskó Ship is a musical voyage whose songs, on four albums, navigate through different moods, emotional states and styles.

Marta De Pascalis | © Massimo Pegurri

Marta De Pascalis | © Massimo Pegurri

Marta De Pascalis

Marta de Pascalis makes head-spinning music. Using tape loops and analog synthesis, she creates compositions that constantly turn in circles, creating imbalances whose individual elements are layered on top of each other and yet always drift apart. In addition to numerous collaborations, the sound and installation artist has also released three solo albums, most recently Sonus Ruinae on the Berlin label Morphine. Over the course of eight pieces, she uses circular movements to create a sense of dizziness that lasts a long time.

Zinc & Copper | © Joanna Wizmur

Zinc & Copper | © Joanna Wizmur

Zinc & Copper

The ensemble Zinc & Copper, founded by Robin Hayward, makes use of brass instruments in an unusual way: Microtonal tunings and unconventional playing techniques open up new perspectives on the trombone played by Hilary Jeffrey, Elena Kakaliagou’s French horn and Hayward’s tuba with music by composers such as Amir ElSaffar, Éliane Radigue and Ellen Arkbro. The trio breaks stylistic and frequently cultural boundaries in search of new sound qualities.

Fr., 30. Juli 2021

Zinc & Copper, Marta De Pascalis, Golden Diskó Ship

Golden Diskó Ship | © Sara Perovic

Golden Diskó Ship | © Sara Perovic

19h Einlass
20h Zinc & Copper
20.45h Marta De Pascalis
21.30h Golden Diskó Ship

Golden Diskó Ship

Was Theresa Stroetges auch macht, sie macht es anders. Kosmischer Krautrock, Autotune-Pop, Folk-Rock, IDM- und Techno-Rhythmen sind keine Schubladen, in die sich die Multi-Instrumentalistin stecken ließe. Stattdessen öffnet sie sie, manchmal alle gleichzeitig und andere Male nur einige von ihnen, um sich das Beste daraus hervor zu ziehen und neu zusammensetzen. Das Golden Diskó Ship ist ein musikalisches Reiseprojekt, dessen Songs auf bisher vier Alben durch verschiedene Stimmungslagen, Gefühlszustände und Stile navigiert.

Marta De Pascalis | © Massimo Pegurri

Marta De Pascalis | © Massimo Pegurri

Marta De Pascalis

Marta de Pascalis macht Kopfverdrehermusik. Mit Tape-Loops und Analog-Synthese erschafft sie Kompositionen, die sich beständig im Kreis drehen, Unwuchten erschaffen, deren einzelne Elemente sich übereinander lagern und doch immer wieder auseinanderdriften. Die Klang- und Installationskünstlerin hat neben zahlreichen Kollaborationen auch drei Solo-Alben veröffentlicht, zuletzt Sonus Ruinae auf dem Berliner Label Morphine. Über acht Stücke hinweg erzeugt sie darauf mit zirkulären Bewegungen Schwindelgefühle, die lange anhalten.

Zinc & Copper | © Joanna Wizmur

Zinc & Copper | © Joanna Wizmur

Zinc & Copper

Das von Robin Hayward gegründete Ensemble Zinc & Copper macht auf ungewöhnliche Weise von Blasinstrumenten Gebrauch: Es verwendet mikrotonale Stimmungen und unkonventionelle Spieltechniken, um mit Musik von Komponist*innen wie Amir ElSaffar, Éliane Radigue oder Ellen Arkbro neue Perspektiven auf die von Hilary Jeffrey gespielte Posaune, Elena Kakaliagous Waldhorn und Haywards Tuba zu eröffnen. So sprengt das Trio auf der Suche nach neuen Klangqualitäten stilistische und nicht selten kulturelle Grenzen.