Fri, Sep 24–Sun, Sep 26: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

2021, Sat, Jun 26

#Instituting: Workshops & Public Program

Photo: Kostas Tzimoulis

Photo: Kostas Tzimoulis

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Saturday, June 26

10am–1.30pm EEST (Athens)
Workshop in Athens, with registration
Institutional Hacks for Reclaiming Urban Space
With Constantina Theodorou in collaboration with CoHab Athens
Guest: Dimitra Siatitsa

How could the status quo be altered by reprogramming the existing housing infrastructures? How to exploit its inherent capabilities to create legal innovations and prototypes in relation to housing that could be shared massively? Collectively unpacking notions of legality, illegality and alegality in relation to urban space, the workshop invites participants to rethink instituting as hacking, to explore creative hacks of existing legal and urban infrastructure as a form of urban resistance. It begins with a walk around Exarchia and Victoria square, a highly contested urban environment in the centre of crisis-ridden Athens. The area serves as a paradigm, informal in feeling, yet produced entirely in accordance with the law through a popular consensus on the interpretation of planning regulation and bringing into discussion other paradigms of reclaiming urban spaces through the adoption of corporate methods, such as cooperative housing experiments for the decommodification of property. In the second part, participants will relocate at Goethe-Institute. Utilizing CoHab Athens participatory research methods they will aim to share and imagine prototypes of institutional hacking towards processes of commοning.

3–6pm EEST / 2–5pm CEST (Berlin)
Workshop online booked out, workshop at Goethe Institut Athens with registration
In Portuguese with English translation
Sex Workers Creating Institutions to End Institutionalized Violence
With Associação das Prostitutas de Minas Gerais (APROSMIG) and melke

How to create institutions when the legal, economic and cultural systems are against you? Convened by sex, cultural and art workers, this workshop is an invitation to observe habits, impulses and gEESTures that (may) make people replay choreographies of subalternization and invalidation in collective processes. Springing from the trajectory of sex workers setting up a museum that acknowledges their social life, this workshop will look at hierarchies and the criminalizing and carceral effects with which sex workers have to deal. The participants will comprehend the act of creating a museum led by sex workers as a proposal of conviviality between those who sell and those who never sold sex. They are invited to take part in a conversation and, with the help of an anonymous writing exercise, go beyond shame and taboo to address the issues and anxieties that emerge in the process. Immersed in a polyphonic and active listening atmosphere, participants will conjure ways of improvising a liveable life that go apart from salvationism, correction, narcissism, indifference, erasure, cognitive tutelage and criminalization.

8:45pm EEST (The Greek Film Archive, Megalou Alexandrou 13, Athens)
Instituting Otherwise
Discussion with Gigi Argyropoulou, Bernd Scherer, Adania Shibli, Savvy Contemporary (Sagal Farah, Kelly Krugman, Lynhan Balatbat-Helbock)

How might instituting otherwise look like today and in relation to specific socio-political landscapes? Can such processes exist (and persist) within existing institutions? How fundamental is the spatial element in processes of instituting? Can such forms challenge existing imaginaries and operate ephemerally as modes of organizing that intervene in sedimented social modus operandi? A discussion about instituting, institutions, monsters and emergent forms of doing things otherwise.

9.45pm EEST (The Greek Film Archive, Megalou Alexandrou 13, Athens)
Athens
Scola Di Tarafe
Film screening
D: Filipa César and Sónia Vaz Borges, Guinea Bissau 2020, 30 min, Kreol with English subtitles
With an introduction by Jonas Tinius

The filmmakers and artists Filipa César and Sónia Vaz Borges recently went to Guinea Bissau to research the conditions of the students in the guerrilla schools in the mangroves. Instead, they themselves soon became the learners and the first lesson was how to walk. If you walk straight, placing your heels on the ground first, you promptly slip and fall in the dams of the flooded mangrove rice field or you get stuck in the mangrove mud. You need to lower your body, flex your knees and stick your toes vertically into the mud, extend your arms forward in a conscious and present movement. The film shows how in the mangrove school the learning happens with the whole body.

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Sa., 26. Juni 2021

#Instituting: Workshops & öffentliches Programm

Foto: Kostas Tzimoulis

Foto: Kostas Tzimoulis

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3

Samstag, 26.06.

10–13.30h OESZ (Athen)
Workshop in Athen, mit Anmeldung
Institutionelle Räume „hacken“
Mit Constantina Theodorou in Zusammenarbeit mit CoHab Athens
Gast: Dimitra Siatitsa

Wie ließe sich der Status Quo ändern, wenn Infrastrukturen des Wohnens neuprogrammiert und deren Möglichkeiten ausgeschöpft würden? Wie können Prototypen und Neuerungen im Bereich der Gesetzgebung erschaffen werden, die zu einer massiven Umverteilung im Bereich Wohnen führen? Der Workshop erörtert Begriffe wie Legalität, Illegalität und Alegalität in Bezug auf städtischen Raum. Die Teilnehmenden denken Formen des „Instituting“ neu als eine Form von „Hacking“. Sie reflektieren über die Erforschung kreativer Hacks, etwa in existierenden gesetzlichen und städtischen Infrastrukturen, als urbane Formen des Widerstands. Los geht es mit einem Spaziergang durch Exarchia und zum Victoria Platz, eine stark umkämpfte städtische Gegend im Zentrum des krisengeschüttelten Athens. Diese Gegend ist deshalb paradigmatisch, weil sie, trotz ihres informellen Anscheins vollkommen legal entstanden ist, und zwar durch eine soziale Übereinkunft über die Auslegung von Planungsregulierungen. Anhand dessen werden auch andere Beispiele von Rückeroberungen städtischer Räume durch das Aneignen korporativer Methoden besprochen, etwa gemeinschaftliche Wohnexperimente zur Dekommodifizierung von Eigentum. Der zweite Teil findet im Goethe-Institut Athen statt. Mithilfe der partizipativen Forschungsmethoden von CoHab Athens entwerfen die Teilnehmenden hier Prototypen von institutionellem Hacking für Prozesse des Commoning (gemeinsames Wirken).

15–18h OESZ (Athen) / 14–17h MESZ (Berlin)
Online-Workshop ausgebucht, Teilnahme im Goethe Institut Athen mit Anmeldung möglich
Auf Portugiesisch mit englischer Übersetzung
Sexarbeiter*innen-Institutionen gegen institutionalisierte Gewalt
Mit Associação das Prostitutas de Minas Gerais (APROSMIG) und melke

Wie lassen sich Institutionen gründen, wenn die Gesetzes-, Wirtschafts- und Kultursysteme gegen dich sind? Sex-, Kultur- und Kunstarbeiter*innen laden in diesem Workshop dazu ein, Gewohnheiten, Impulse und Gesten zu beobachten, die in kollektiven Prozessen zu Choreografien der Herabwürdigung und Abwertung führen (können). Ausgangspunkt des Workshops ist ein von Sexarbeiter*innen zur Anerkennung ihres Soziallebens gegründetes Museum. Er widmet sich den Hierarchien, der Kriminalisierung und den Ausgrenzungen, mit denen Sexarbeiter*innen konfrontiert sind. Die Teilnehmenden vollziehen den Gründungsprozess des Museums nach, das als Vorschlag für ein Zusammenleben zwischen denen zu verstehen ist, die Sex verkaufen und jenen, die noch nie käuflichen Sex hatten. Die Teilnehmenden tauschen sie aus und können in einer anonymen Schreibübung Schamgefühle und Tabus überwinden und Themen und Ängste ansprechen. In einer Atmosphäre der Vielstimmigkeit und des aktiven Zuhörens improvisieren sie Formen eines lebbaren Lebens jenseits von Helfer*innensyndrom, Maßregelung, Narzissmus, Gleichgültigkeit, Auslöschung, geistiger Bevormundung und Kriminalisierung.

20:45h OESZ (The Greek Film Archive, Megalou Alexandrou 13, Athen)
Athen
Instituting Otherwise
Diskussion mit Gigi Argyropoulou, Bernd Scherer, Adania Shibli, Savvy Contemporary (Sagal Farah, Kelly Krugman, Lynhan Balatbat-Helbock)

Wie könnte ein anderes „Instituieren“ heute in Hinblick auf konkrete gesellschaftspolitische Fragen aussehen? Können sich solche Prozesse überhaupt innerhalb bestehender Institutionen entwickeln (und fortdauern)? Welche Rolle spielt die Raumfrage bei Prozessen des Instituierens? Stellen diese Formen vorherrschende Vorstellungen wirklich in Frage und sind sie in der Lage, als ephemere Organisationsformen verhärtete soziale Abläufe aufzubrechen? Eine Diskussion rund um Instituieren, Institutionen, Monster und das Sichtbarwerden von alternativen Wegen.

21.45h OESZ (The Greek Film Archive, Megalou Alexandrou 13, Athen)
Athen
Scola Di Tarafe
Film-Screening
R: Filipa César und Sónia Vaz Borges, Guinea Bissau 2020, 30 min, Kreol mit engl. UT
Mit einer Einführung von Jonas Tinius

Als die Filmemacherinnen und Künstler*innen Filipa César und Sonia Vaz Borges nach Guinea-Bissau reisten, wollten sie die Guerillaschulen in den Mangroven und das Leben der Studierenden erforschen. Allerdings wurden sie selbst zu Lernenden. Ihre erste Lektion war: das Gehen lernen. Wer nämlich gerade geht und die Fersen zuerst auf den Boden setzt, rutscht sofort aus und fällt in die Dämme der gefluteten Reisfelder oder versinkt im Mangrovenschlamm. Der Oberkörper muss vielmehr tief gesenkt werden, die Knie abgewinkelt und die Zehen von oben in den Schlamm gesteckt werden, während sich die Arme in einer bewussten und aufmerksamen Bewegung nach vorne strecken. Denn in den Mangrovenschulen, das zeigt der Film, wird mit dem ganzen Körper gelernt.

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3