2021, Sat, Jul 03

Digital Violence

How the NSO Group Enables State Terror

How is spyware produced by a private company used to enable state terror? Who gets hacked and what are the consequences? What is the economic logic behind the spread of cyber surveillance? A new investigation by Forensic Architecture, with the support of Amnesty International, the Citizen Lab and Laura Poitras, maps for the first time the totality of known infections worldwide by the malware Pegasus, made by cyber-surveillance company NSO Group.

The investigation includes a series of videos titled The Pegasus Stories describing the effect of digital infection on the private life and work of journalists and human right defenders and an interactive web platform featuring thousands of data points to demonstrate new connections and patterns between “digital violence” and real-world violence directed at lawyers, activists and other civil society figures. It also includes research on the private investment and corporate structure that enabled this digital surveillance to proliferate.

A hybrid event at HKW will present this new investigation in the context of the launch of the Investigative Commons, a pioneering collaboration between journalists, investigators, reporters, artists, lawyers, activists, architects and scientists, operating across multiple forums: courts, cultural institutions and media platforms.

With contributions by Wolfgang Kaleck of ECCHR, Forensic Architecture’s Christina Varvia live at HKW; per video Shourideh C. Molavi and Eyal Weizman of Forensic Architecture, investigative filmmaker Laura Poitras, human rights defenders from Mexico and Saudi Arabia who have been targeted by Pegasus, and a lawyer pursuing NSO for accountability, speakers from Amnesty International, the Citizen Lab and Edward Snowden. The event will also include a new data sonification piece composed by Brian Eno, based on the project’s data.

Saturday, July 3

7pm
Introduction
By Anselm Franke

Investigative Commons
Presentation by Christina Varvia and Wolfgang Kaleck (on site at HKW)

7.15pm
Digital Violence: How the NSO Group Enables State Terror
Presentation by Eyal Weizman and Shourideh C. Molavi (via video)

  • With John Scott Railton (Senior Researcher, The Citizen Lab)
  • Laura Poitras (filmmaker)
  • María del Carmen Aristegui Flores (Journalist and head of Aristegui Noticias, targeted by NSO’s Pegasus)
  • Yahya Assiri (Human rights defender and founder of the NGOALQST for Human Rights, targeted by NSO’s Pegasus)
  • Alaa Mahajna (Lawyer suing NSO Group on behalf of human rights defenders)
  • Danna Ingleton (Deputy Director, Amnesty Tech)
  • Edward Snowden (President of Freedom of the Press Foundation)

8.30pm
Pegasus: Targeting the Investigators
Screening of the investigation video by Forensic Architecture, 9min, followed by a Q&A with all contributors

Sa., 03. Juli 2021

Digital Violence

Wie die NSO Group Staatsterror möglich macht

Wie wird von privaten Unternehmen entwickelte Spyware für Staatsterror genutzt? Wer wird dabei gehackt und was sind die Konsequenzen? Welche ökonomische Logik steckt hinter der Ausweitung von Cyberüberwachung? In ihrer neuesten Ermittlung kartografieren Forensic Architecture mit der Unterstützung von Amnesty International, dem Citizen Lab und Laura Poitras erstmals alle weltweiten digitalen Angriffe der Malware Pegasus des Cyberübewachungsunternehmens NSO Group.

Die Untersuchung umfasst eine Reihe von Videos mit dem Titel The Pegasus Stories. Sie zeigen, inwiefern digitale Angriffe der Schadsoftware das Privatleben und die Arbeit von Journalist*innen und Menschenrechtverteidiger*innen beeinflussen. Eine interaktive Webplattform versammelt unzählige Daten zur Darstellung von strukturellen Zusammenhängen zwischen „digitaler Gewalt“ und realer, physischer Gewalt gegen Anwält*innen, Aktivist*innen und andere Personen der Zivilgesellschaft. Erforscht wurden außerdem private Investitionen und Unternehmensstrukturen, welche die Verbreitung der digitalen Überwachung ermöglichen.

Die neue Ermittlung wird im HKW erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Die hybride Veranstaltung ist gleichzeitig der Auftakt von Investigative Commons, ein neuer Zusammenschluss von Journalist*innen, Ermittler*innen, Reporter*innen, Künstler*innen, Rechtsanwält*innen, Architekt*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen, deren Arbeit sich quer durch unterschiedliche Foren bewegt: Gerichte, Kultureinrichtungen und mediale Plattformen.

Mit Beiträgen von Wolfgang Kaleck von ECCHR, Christina Varvia von Forensic Architecture live im HKW; via Video Shourideh C. Molavi und Eyal Weizman von Forensic Architecture, die Investigativ-Filmemacherin Laura Poitras, von Pegasus ins Visier genommenen Menschenrechtverteidiger*innen aus Mexiko und Saudi-Arabien, ein Anwalt, der die NSO Group zur Rechenschaft ziehen will, sowie Sprecher*innen von Amnesty International, Citizen Lab und Edward Snowden. Zu hören sein wird auch eine Datensonifikation von Brian Eno, eine neue Komposition auf der Grundlage von Daten des Projekts.

Samstag, 03.07.

19h
Einführung
Von Anselm Franke

Investigative Commons
Präsentation von Christina Varvia und Wolfgang Kaleck (vor Ort im HKW)

19.15h
Digital Violence: Wie die NSO Group Staatsterror möglich macht
Präsentation von Eyal Weizman und Shourideh C. Molavi (per Video)

  • Mit John Scott Railton (Senior Researcher, The Citizen Lab)
  • Laura Poitras (Filmemacherin)
  • María del Carmen Aristegui Flores (Journalistin und Leiterin von Aristegui Noticias, Ziel eines Angriffs mit Pegasus vom NSO)
  • Yahya Assiri (Menschenrechtler und Gründer der NGO ALQST for Human Rights, Ziel eines Angriffs mit Pegasus vom NSO)
  • Alaa Mahajna (Anwalt, der im Namen von Menschenrechtler*inneneine gegen die NSO Group klagt)
  • Danna Ingleton (Stellvertretende Leitung von Amnesty Tech)
  • Edward Snowden (Präsident der Stiftung Freedom of the Press Foundation)

20.30h
Pegasus: Targeting the Investigators
Screening des Ermittlungsvideos von Forensic Architecture, 9min, anschließend Q&A mit allen Beitragenden