2021, Sun, Jun 27

Plattenbau und Polytechnik. Emanzipatorische Momente realsozialistischer Schulgestaltung

Expert-led tour with Dina Dorothea Falbe and Dorett Mumme

Dresden. Schloss Albrechtsberg, since 1951 Pioneer Palace (built in 1850/1854 for Prince Albrecht of Prussia by Adolf Lohse), at Pioneer Park. | Courtesy SLUB Dresden / Deutsche Fotothek | Photo: Richard Petersen

Dresden. Schloss Albrechtsberg, since 1951 Pioneer Palace (built in 1850/1854 for Prince Albrecht of Prussia by Adolf Lohse), at Pioneer Park. | Courtesy SLUB Dresden / Deutsche Fotothek | Photo: Richard Petersen

Is it possible to enrich current discussions about home-schooling, care work and public spirit by looking at the GDR? Dina Dorothea Falbe (architecture journalist) and Dorett Mumme (Cultural Education HKW) talk about emancipatory moments of GDR school design during a walk through the exhibition.

The keyword "GDR schools" often conjures up images of standardized prefabricated buildings - the so-called "type buildings". However, industrial construction since the 1960s allowed for greater diversity and flexibility. Parents, students and teachers helped to build their schools as volunteers. The teaching concept of "polytechnic education" combined theoretical lessons with practical experience. And all-day education set out to relieve the burden on mothers, the majority of whom, unlike in the West, were employed.

During a walk through the exhibition, various case studies offer an opportunity to discuss these topics, which are again highly topical today. Audience participation is expressly encouraged.

So, 27. Juni 2021

Plattenbau und Polytechnik. Emanzipatorische Momente realsozialistischer Schulgestaltung

Expertinnenführung mit Dina Dorothea Falbe und Dorett Mumme

Dresden. Schloss Albrechtsberg, seit 1951 Pionierpalast (1850/1854 für Prinz Albrecht von Preußen von Adolf Lohse erbaut), im Pionierpark | Courtesy SLUB Dresden / Deutsche Fotothek | Foto: Richard Petersen

Dresden. Schloss Albrechtsberg, seit 1951 Pionierpalast (1850/1854 für Prinz Albrecht von Preußen von Adolf Lohse erbaut), im Pionierpark | Courtesy SLUB Dresden / Deutsche Fotothek | Foto: Richard Petersen

Kann der Blick in die DDR aktuelle Diskussionen über Homeschooling, Care-Arbeit und Gemeinsinn bereichern? Dina Dorothea Falbe (Architekturjournalistin) und Dorett Mumme (Kulturelle Bildung HKW) sprechen bei einem Gang durch die Ausstellung über emanzipatorische Momente in der DDR-Schulgestaltung.

Das Stichwort „DDR-Schulen“ ruft häufig Bilder von standardisierten Plattenbauten hervor – die so genannten „Typenbauten“. Die industrielle Bauweise seit den 1960er Jahren ermöglichte jedoch eine größere Vielfalt und Flexibilität. Eltern, Schüler*innen und Lehrende bauten als Freiwillige an ihren Schulen mit. Das Unterrichtskonzept der „polytechnischen Bildung“ verband den theoretischen Unterricht mit praktischen Erfahrungen. Und die Ganztageserziehung sollte auch Mütter entlasten, die anders als im Westen weitestgehend berufstätig waren.

Beim Gang durch die Ausstellung bieten verschiedene Fallstudien Anlass zum Austausch über diese heute wieder höchst aktuellen Themen. Publikumsbeteiligung ist dabei ausdrücklich erwünscht.