2021, Sat, Mar 20

European Culture of Resistance against Fascisms

Today’s Europe developed as a project in resistance to its past fascisms. In workshops and a lecture, young people together with artists, scientists, cultural and educational experts will explore artistic possibilities of fighting fascist ideas as an instrument of realizing (European) community.

How can artistic and curatorial practices counter racist thought? Can soil hold a counter-memory? Could an ant-racist and anti-sexist gaming culture benefit a diverse European community? How can human rights education look like? Four thematic workshops for youth and young adults – Arts of Resistance, Communities of Resistance, Digital Resistance, Education of Resistance – revolve around these questions. Workshop participants can also attend a presentation and discussion by participants from the pilot project Art Works! European Culture of Resistance and Liberation. They will speak about how they created art works based on resistance songs, poems, graffiti from 1939 to 1945 – and what can be learned from historic resistance fighters for the here and now. In a public conversation, the artist Jonathan Horowitz and the photographer Wolfgang Tillmans will share insights on their artistic and curatorial work. Starting from Horowitz’ exhibition We Fight to Build a Free World! at the Jewish Museum in New York, they will investigate the potential art offers to fight racism and anti-Semitism.

Workshops with Barbara Staudinger & Sebastian Cichocki (Arts of Resistance); Galia Bar-Or & Milica Tomic (Communities of Resistance); Total Refusal: Digital Disarmament Movement & Keinen Pixel den Faschisten! (Digital Resistance); Jean-Philippe Restoueix, Roman Fröhlich, Katja Pratschke & Active Bystander Company (Education of Resistance)

Realized by the Foundation Between Bridges, in cooperation with HASENHERZ Vienna, Foundation wannseeforum Berlin and University of Applied Arts Vienna

Sa, 20. März 2021

European Culture of Resistance against Fascisms

Das heutige Europa entstand als Projekt des Widerstandes gegen die Faschismen der Vergangenheit. In Workshops und einem Vortrag erforschen junge Menschen zusammen mit Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen, Kultur- und Bildungsexpert*innen künstlerische Formen der Faschismusbekämpfung als Möglichkeiten der Verwirklichung einer (europäischen) Gemeinschaft.

Wie können sich künstlerische und kuratorische Praxen rassistischem Gedankengut entgegenstellen? Kann der Erdboden Gegenerinnerungen speichern? Könnte eine antirassistische und antisexistische Gamingkultur die Diversität der europäischen Gemeinschaft fördern? Wie sieht Menschenrechtsbildung aus? Diese Fragen umkreisen vier thematische Workshops für Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene: Arts of Resistance, Communities of Resistance, Digital Resistance, Education of Resistance. Workshopteilnehmer*innen können außerdem Präsentationen und Diskussionen von Teilnehmenden des Pilotprojekts Art Works! European Culture of Resistance and Liberation beiwohnen. Sie sprechen über künstlerische Arbeiten, die sie ausgehend von Widerstandsliedern, Gedichten und Graffiti aus den Jahren 1939 bis 1945 entwickelten – und darüber, was sich von historischen Widerstandskämpfer*innen für das Hier und Jetzt lernen lässt. In einem öffentlichen Gespräch geben der Künstler Jonathan Horowitz und der Fotograf Wolfgang Tillmans Einblicke Einblick in ihre künstlerische und kuratorische Arbeit. Ausgehend von Horowitz’ Ausstellung We Fight to Build a Free World! im Jewish Museum in New York sprechen sie über das Potenzial der Kunst, Rassismus und Antisemitismus zu bekämpfen.

Workshops mit Barbara Staudinger & Sebastian Cichocki (Arts of Resistance); Galia Bar-Or & Milica Tomic (Communities of Resistance); Total Refusal: Digital Disarmament Movement & Keinen Pixel den Faschisten! (Digital Resistance); Jean-Philippe Restoueix, Roman Fröhlich, Katja Pratschke & Active Bystander Company (Education of Resistance)

Durchgeführt von der Stiftung Between Bridges, in Kooperation mit HASENHERZ Wien, Stiftung wannseeFORUM Berlin und der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien