2021, Fri, Feb 05

#Healing (Faju): Workshops

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, South Africa

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, South Africa

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Friday, Feb 05

4–6pm, fully booked
Online workshop
Ancestral Altars
With Yayra Sumah

An altar is a portal. It is a black hole, a wormhole and a nexus place where we give and receive information and where we can meet the inner and outer space of ourselves. In this teach-in on ancestral altars which draws from Kongo spirituality and its culture (“bukongo”), participants are invited to the starting point of the altar. At the altar they will learn how to speak with the dead and hear them to speak back to us: in our minds, our dreams and in every aspect of our lives. At the altar participants will connect to the generations who came before us – to those who are every part of our bodies and so are connected to all the elements of the Earth. “Bukongo” teaches that when we divine we may find out that some of our ancestors are wounded and angry and have been making us sick. But when we do the work to heal our ancestors, our ancestors also work to heal us. Kongo ancestral healing rituals combine colors, geometries and elements on altars which are intended to retrieve, make amends with and ascend those ancestors of our bodies’ pain and trauma.

6.30–9pm, fully booked
Online workshop
Mending Broken World(s)*
With Mukhtara Yusuf

Trauma lives both at the site of psyches and nations. There is a multiplicity within and outside of a person that mediates this trauma. Trauma is a wordless narrative, a conversation in bodies that builds and grows and changes via interactions. It is through compassionate dialog, commune-ication with the othered parts inside of oneself and the othered ones outside of oneself, that those parts that exist beyond fissure could be uncovered. So it might be possible to find what lives in the place where the spectral wound reveals itself as not a ghost but an ancestor, living inside the very being.
In this workshop, Mukhtara Yusuf asks how it is possible to unburden the ecosystem from its colonial wounds and (re)build our worlds. Can pain itself be understood as resistance to enclosure? What are the internal computations of trauma, of healing? Through multimedia presentation and discussion, the participants will navigate these questions. Yusuf will share how they has used Indigenous and somatic inheritances of Yoruba knowledge and theology as a guide for their personal and communal work. Following a pluralistic approach rather than one that universalizes Indigenous knowledge, they will offer concepts and methods for how participants can carry out their own culturally relevant and specific healing explorations. Persons who identify as Yoruba and those who with familiarity engaging internal healing work are especially welcome.
*Inspired by Wande Abimbola’s Ifa Will Mend Our Broken World

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Fr, 05. Februar 2021

#Healing (Faju): Workshops

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Tabita Rezaire | Dilo, 2017 | Courtesy of the artist und Goodman Gallery, Südafrika

Tag 1| Tag 2 | Tag 3

Freitag 05.02.

16–18h, ausgebucht
Online-Workshop
Ancestral Altars
Mit Yayra Sumah

Ein Altar ist ein Zugang. Er ist schwarzes Loch und Wurmloch, Ort der Verbindungen und des Informationsaustausches sowie eine Begegnungsstätte der inneren und äußeren Dimensionen des Selbst. Das Teach-In greift auf spirituelle kongolesische Kulturen („Bukongo”) zurück und lädt die Teilnehmenden zum Anfangspunkt eines Altars ein. Am Altar lernen sie, mit den Toten zu sprechen und auf ihre Antworten zu hören: in den Gedanken, den Träumen und in allen Bereichen des Lebens. Am Altar werden die Teilnehmenden mit früheren Generationen in Kontakt treten, die noch heute die eigenen Körper prägen und mit allen Elementen der Erde in Verbindung stehen. „Bukongo” lehrt, dass im Zuge des divinatorischen Erkennens auch Verletzte unter den Vorfahren gefunden werden können, deren Zorn in den Lebenden Krankheiten ausgelöst hat. Werden die Vorfahren durch diesen Prozessgeheilt, dann nehmen auch sie sich der Heilung der Lebenden an. Anzestrale kongolesische Heilrituale kombinieren Farben, Geometrien und Gegenstände auf Altären, die dafür vorgesehen sind, die Vorfahren körperlicher Schmerzen und Traumata wiederzufinden, sie zu versorgen und wieder ziehen zu lassen.

18.30–21h, ausgebucht
Online-Workshop
Mending Broken World(s)*
Mit Mukhtara Yusuf

Traumata finden sich in der Psyche und in Nationen. Dabei werden Traumata auf vielfältige Arten innerhalb und außerhalb der Menschen transportiert. Trauma kann ein sprachloses Narrativ sein oder eine Zwiesprache, die sich durch Interaktionen im Körper entwickelt, aufbaut und verändert. Durch einen mitfühlenden Dialog und Kommunikation mit den entfremdeten inneren und äußeren Teilen des Selbst ist das Freilegen von unverletzten Teilen möglich. Womöglich zeigt sich dann, dass sich an dem Ort einer gespenstischen Wunde kein Geist befindet, sondern Vorfahren sichtbar werden, die in dieser Person leben.
Mit dem Workshop fragt Mukhtara Yusuf, wie das Ökosystem von kolonialen Verletzungen geheilt werden kann und Welten (wieder)aufgebaut werden können. Kann Schmerz bereits als Widerstand gegen Grenzen verstanden werden? Wie sehen die inneren Berechnungen von Trauma und Heilung aus? Die Teilnehmenden gehen diesen Fragen in multimedialen Präsentationen und Diskussionen nach. Yusuf tauscht sich mit ihnen darüber aus, wie sie das indigene und somatische Erbe des Yoruba-Wissens und der Yoruba-Theologie als Leitfaden für ihre persönliche und gemeinschaftliche Arbeit nutzt. Anstatt indigenes Wissen zu universalisieren, verfolgt sie dabei einen pluralistischen Ansatz und stellt Konzepte und Methoden vor, mit denen die Teilnehmenden ihre eigenen, kulturell relevanten und spezifischen Wege des Heilens verfolgen können. Personen, die sich als Yoruba verstehen und jene, die mit inneren Heilungsprozessen vertraut sind, sind besonders willkommen.
* In Anlehnung an Wande Abimbolas Ifa Will Mend Our Broken World

Tag 1| Tag 2 | Tag 3