From Nov 2 the HKW program continues in digital form. The building is closed. More…

2020, Fri, Nov 27

Visual Politics of (Im-)Mobility

With Costanza Caraffa, Mohamed Keita, Armin Linke, Massimo Ricciardo, #everydaygolshahr (Reza Haidari), moderated by Elena Agudio

What role do images play in the production of meaning and the identity politics of nation states? In Italy, widely circulated tourism images are juxtaposed with photographs constantly reproduced in the media showing the arrival of refugees on Italian coasts. Their contents seem incompatible. In what contexts are these images shown, what is not visible and why were they made and reproduced?

Subjects from the Renaissance are fundamental to Italy’s national visual politics – and thanks to the medium of photography, these images are omnipresent. The tourism industry ensures that these same visual narratives of tourist highlights appear on the souvenir photos of the millions of vacationers in Italy. Tourists’ mobility, taken for granted as it is, contrasts the images in the media of refugees arriving on Italy’s coasts after months of life-threatening treks to then hold out in refugee camps with no certainties for the future. The migration debate has been politicized and polarized in the media discussions largely through these images, especially via social media.

In their conversation, the contributors will examine these visual politics and their instrumentalization: How are images linked with national narratives, memory politics, economic interests and populist exploitation? What strategies could circumvent these mechanisms? How can alternative visual narratives be developed?

The art historian Costanza Caraffa analyzes national visual politics and the mobilization of visual narratives. The artist Massimo Ricciardo presents silent testimonies to displacement from his collection Objects of Escape – Inventories of Migration and Reza Haidari from the #everydaygolshahr network tells of the unseen daily routine in a refugee camp in Iran.

Part of The Broken Archive series – Villa Romana in cooperation with HKW funded by the Federal Foreign Office as part of The Whole Life: An Archive Project

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Fr, 27. November 2020

Visual Politics of (Im-)Mobility

Mit Costanza Caraffa, Mohamed Keita, Armin Linke, Massimo Ricciardo, #everydaygolshahr (Reza Haidari), moderiert von Elena Agudio

Welche Rolle spielen Bilder für die Bedeutungsproduktion und Identitätspolitiken von Nationalstaaten? In Italien stehen massenhaft verbreitete touristische Bilder den permanent medial reproduzierten Fotos von der Ankunft Geflüchteter an italienischen Küsten gegenüber – ihre Inhalte scheinen unvereinbar. In welchen Kontexten werden diese Bilder gezeigt, was ist nicht sichtbar und warum wurden sie gemacht und reproduziert?

Motive der Renaissance sind elementar für die nationale Bildpolitik Italiens – und durch das Medium der Fotografie sind diese Bilder allgegenwärtig. Die Tourismusindustrie sorgt dafür, dass diese immer gleichen visuellen Narrative touristischer Highlights auf den individuellen Erinnerungsfotos der Millionen von Italienurlauber*innen auftauchen. Die Mobilität der Tourist*innen steht in ihrer Selbstverständlichkeit im Gegensatz zu den in den Medien verbreiteten Bildern von Geflüchteten, die an den Küsten Italiens nach Monaten lebensgefährlicher Flucht angekommen sind und ohne eine Perspektive in den Geflüchtetenlagern ausharren müssen. Die Migrationsdebatte ist in den medialen Diskussionen wesentlich über diese Bilder politisiert und polarisiert worden, vor allem über die sozialen Medien.

Im Gespräch untersuchen die Beitragenden diese Bildpolitiken und ihre Instrumentalisierung: Wie sind Bilder mit nationalen Narrativen, Erinnerungspolitiken, wirtschaftlichen Interessen und populistischen Instrumentalisierungen verknüpft? Welche Strategien gibt es, diese Mechanismen zu unterlaufen? Wie lassen sich alternative Bilderzählungen entwickeln?

Unter anderem analysiert die Kunsthistorikerin Costanza Caraffa nationale Bildpolitiken und die Mobilisierung visueller Narrative. Der Künstler Massimo Ricciardo zeigt die stummen Zeugnisse der Flucht aus seiner Sammlung Objects of Escape – Inventories of Migration und Reza Haidari von dem Netzwerk #everydaygolshahr erzählt von dem unsichtbaren Alltag in einem Geflüchtetenlager in Iran.

Teil der Reihe The Broken Archive – eine Kooperation von Villa Romana und HKW gefördert durch das Auswärtige Amt im Rahmen von Das ganze Leben. Ein Archiv-Projekt