2020, Sat, Oct 31

A Seed, a Sound

With Monica Moses Haller, Michael Swierz

The experience of the Anthropocene is multidimensional, and apprehending it requires using novel human and nonhuman sensoriums. Attuning oneself to the transformations of the Anthropocene is therefore not only an intellectual but also an embodied affair. But how can such embodied experiences be shared or even communicated to one another, especially online? Further, how do each of these sense modalities produce different ramifications for how and why certain transformations are registered and others not?

5 pm
When a House on the Prairie Became Possibility Island: A Case Study in How to Build a Perceptual Framework for Wiggling Through and Out of the Anthropocene
Michael Swierz

Michael Swierz, whose work synthesizes aspects of poetry, visual art and interspecies communication, introduces the concept of “participatory ecology” by interrogating panspecies interrelations and global stewardship through embodied inquiry.

5.40 pm
Listening to the Mississippi
Monica Moses Haller

In this guided-listening session, artist Monica Moses Haller uses underwater recordings to generate a perceptual account of the Mississippi River through sounds that enable listeners to enter the river’s historical, social and environmental materiality.

Sa, 31. Oktober 2020

A Seed, a Sound

Mit Monica Moses Haller, Michael Swierz

Die Erfahrungen des Anthropozäns sind mehrdimensional und um sie erfassen zu können, braucht es neuartige menschliche und nicht-menschliche Sinnesapparate. Sich den Transformationen des Anthropozäns anzupassen ist daher nicht nur ein intellektuelles, sondern auch ein körperliches Unterfangen. Aber wie können solche körperlichen Erfahrungen miteinander geteilt oder zumindest mitgeteilt werden, insbesondere online? Und wie wirken sich diese Sinneserfahrungen darauf aus, wie und warum bestimmte Transformationen wahrgenommen werden können und andere nicht?

17h
When a House on the Prairie Became Possibility Island: A Case Study in How to Build a Perceptual Framework for Wiggling Through and Out of the Anthropocene
Michael Swierz

Michael Swierz, dessen Arbeit Lyrik, bildende Kunst und artenübergreifende Kommunikation zusammenführt, stellt das Konzept der „partizipativen Ökologie“ vor, das sich mithilfe einer ganzheitlich ausgerichteten Recherche artenübergreifenden Wechselbeziehungen und globaler Verantwortung widmet.

17.40h
Listening to the Mississippi
Monica Moses Haller

In dieser angeleiteten Listening-Session nutzt die Künstlerin Monica Moses Haller Unterwasseraufnahmen, um den Mississippi durch Klänge erfahrbar zu machen und den Zuhörer*innen so einen Zugang zur historischen, sozialen und umweltbezogene Materialität des Flusses zu gewähren.