2020, Thu, Oct 29

Between Spaces, between Lines

With Stéphane Grumbach & Olivier Hamant, Orit Halpern, Johannes Bruder, Karolina Sobecka, Sandi Hilal, Ela Spalding

Some of the most interesting work on the Anthropocene takes place in between places, in between disciplines and even in between the lines. Four case studies present research that finds ways of moving between these various spaces and the lines that connect them.

5 pm
Suboptimality
Stéphane Grumbach & Olivier Hamant

As is evident in discussions on climate policy and other matters, scientific knowledge is increasingly mismatched with actions upon global issues. Taking this problem to task, data analyst Stéphane Grumbach and biologist Olivier Hamant delve into the concept of “suboptimality” in ecological, academic, and political systems to sketch out how better models and better responses to climate issues can become possible at a system scale.

5.40 pm
Suelo
Ela Spalding

Moving between Germany and Panama, Estudio Nuboso attempts to connect scientific and artistic discourses around ecology between the two places while confronting the challenges that come with working in two radically different contexts.

6.20 pm
The Mont Pèlerin Rewrite
Orit Halpern, Johannes Bruder, Karolina Sobecka

The Mont Pèlerin Rewrite is a performative and collective effort to imagine a different world, and a different future, through the creative rewriting and reinterpreting of central economic policy documents that were written nearly seventy years ago in Switzerland and that continue to encode neoliberal ideologies in the present.

7 pm
The Living Room
Sandi Hilal

The Living Room is an ongoing experiment using living rooms as spaces for self-representation. The living room is a meeting space that has the potential to subvert the roles of “guest” and “host” and to give a different sociopolitical meaning to the act of hospitality, particularly as it concerns the experience of refugees in Europe.

Do, 29. Oktober 2020

Between Spaces, between Lines

Mit Stéphane Grumbach & Olivier Hamant, Orit Halpern, Johannes Bruder, Karolina Sobecka, Sandi Hilal, Ela Spalding

Die Forschung zum Anthropozän wird häufig vor allem dann produktiv, wenn sie sich quer zu Disziplinen und Orten und zwischen den Zeilen bewegt. In vier Präsentationen werden Forschungsprojekte vorgestellt, die diese Räume und Sphären auf experimentelle Weise miteinander verknüpfen.

17h
Suboptimalität
Stéphane Grumbach & Olivier Hamant

Gegenwärtige klimapolitische Diskussionen machen deutlich, dass wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse in einem zunehmenden Missverhältnis zu tatsächlichen Handlungsweisen in globalen Fragen stehen. Der Datenanalytiker Stéphane Grumbach und der Biologe Olivier Hamant untersuchen das Konzept der „Suboptimalität“ in ökologischen, akademischen und politischen Systemen, um zu skizzieren, wie bessere Modellierungen und bessere Antworten auf die Klimakrise im Systemmaßstab möglich werden können.

17.40h
Suelo
Ela Spalding

Die Plattform Estudio Nubioso verknüpft wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Diskurse zu ökologischen Themen in Panama und Deutschland und setzt sich dabei mit den Fragen auseinander, die das Arbeiten in unterschiedlichen lokalen Kontexten aufwirft.

18.20h
The Mont Pèlerin Rewrite
Orit Halpern, Johannes Bruder, Karolina Sobecka

Die 1947 gegründete Mont Pèlerin Society ist ein zentrales Netzwerk neoliberaler Theorie- und Strategiebildung. The Mont Pèlerin Rewrite ist der gemeinschaftliche und performative Versuch, über das kreative Um- und Neu-Schreiben ihrer Veröffentlichungen der Gesellschaft eine andere Welt und Zukunft vorstellbar zu machen.

19h
The Living Room
Sandi Hilal

The Living Room ist ein Langzeitexperiment, in dem das Wohnzimmer als Raum für Selbstdarstellung und -Wahrnehmung in den Blick genommen wird. Wohnzimmer sind Orte der Begegnung, in dem eingespielte Rollenverhältnisse zwischen „Gast“ und „Gastgeber*in“ aufgehoben werden können. Auf diese Weise bekommt in The Living Room die Geste der Gastfreundschaft eine sozialpolitische Bedeutung, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit den Erfahrungen nach Europa geflüchteter Menschen.