2020, Fri, Oct 302020, Thu, Nov 26

Field Station 5 – Migration: Perspectives on Displacement in the Anthropocene

Abbéy Odunlami with Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, Roberto Forin, Fawad Durrani, Sabine Minninger and others

The transformations wrought by the Anthropocene amplify inequalities around the world. The methods and practices that have allowed so-called developed countries to industrialize and accrue wealth continue to produce emissions that are contributing to climate changes that disproportionately harm those who do not benefit from this industrialization. While most future climate migrants are likely headed to Europe, the EU still lacks an adequate migrant policy.

A podcast by curator Abbéy Odunlami brings together researchers, politicians and activists to grasp the role of Europe as a political agent and a geographical destination in future climates.

Friday, Oct 30, 6 pm & 10 pm
#2: “Refugees Welcome”: The Commodification of Political Status and Perspectives from the Cultural Industry
With Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, Isaiah Lopaz

In this episode, Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, a former policy advisor in the European Commission’s Division of Disaster and Crisis Management, talks about her work serving at the International and External Relations Directorate, where she managed an area of policy dealing with climate migration. Burnley then discusses her current role as a cultural worker interrogating the buzzword “refugees welcome,” how arts, culture and symbolic gestures are practiced and whether they contribute to significant change or merely apathetic participation.

Thursday, Nov 5, 6 pm
#3: Migration from the Perspective of Data and Evidence-Based Policy
With Roberto Forin, Diana Ihring, Sabine Minninger

For this episode, Odunlami sits down with policy advisor Sabine Minninger and data researcher Roberto Forin, both of whom are researching migration patterns and advocating for climate policies that incorporate migration. What do we understand about migration from a policy and data perspective? What does the data say? How are evidence-based policies being drafted?

Thursday, Nov 26, 6 pm
#4: Migration from the Outside Looking In
With Fawad Durrani

This episode with Fawad Durrani looks at the experiences, opinions, and emotional responses of those labeled as having a “migration background.” Those not born in Germany or in Europe have had to intimately engage with this euphemism and can offer a nuanced perspective on the question: Who gets to be an “expat,” and who is an “immigrant”?

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Fr, 30. Oktober 2020Do, 26. November 2020

Field Station 5 – Migration: Perspectives on Displacement in the Anthropocene

Abbéy Odunlami mit Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, Roberto Forin, Fawad Durrani, Sabine Minninger u. a.

Die Transformationen, die das Anthropozän mit sich bringt, verstärken die Ungleichheiten auf der Welt. Die Methoden und Praktiken, die es den sogenannten entwickelten Ländern gestatteten, sich zu industrialisieren und Reichtum anzuhäufen, produzieren nach wie vor Schadstoffe, die zu einem Klimawandel beitragen, der disproportional diejenigen trifft, die nicht von der Industrialisierung profitieren. Obwohl vermutlich die meisten zukünftigen Klimaflüchtenden sich nach Europa wenden werden, hat die EU immer noch kein entsprechendes Migrationskonzept entwickelt.

Ein Podcast des Kurators Abbéy Odunlami bringt Forscher*innen, Politiker*innen und Aktivist*innen zusammen, um die Rolle Europas als politischer Akteur und geografisches Ziel in den Klimata der Zukunft zu erfassen.

Freitag, 30.10. 18h & 22h
#2: “Refugees Welcome”: The Commodification of Political Status and Perspectives from the Cultural Industry
Mit Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, Isaiah Lopaz

In dieser Episode spricht Clementine Ewokolo Burnley, ehemalige Politikberaterin im Ressort für humanitäre Hilfe und Krisenschutz der Europäischen Kommission, über ihre Arbeit beim Direktorat für Internationale und externe Beziehungen, wo sie einen Bereich koordinierte, der sich mit der Klima-Migration befasste. Im Anschluss befragt sie das Schlagwort „Refugees Welcome“ und arbeitet heraus, wie die Künste, die Kultur und symbolische Gesten sich dazu verhalten und ob sie zu einem nachhaltigen Wandel beitragen oder sich auf ein apathisches Mitmachen beschränken.

Donnerstag, 05.11. 18h
#3: Migration from the Perspective of Data and Evidence-Based Policy
Mit Roberto Forin, Diana Ihring, Sabine Minninger

Für diese Episode setzt sich Abbéy Odunlami mit der Politikberaterin Sabine Minninger und dem Datenforscher Roberto Forin zusammen, die Migrationsmuster analysieren und sich für eine Klimapolitik einsetzen, die Migration einbezieht. Was können wir über Migration aus der Perspektive von politischen Strategien und Daten lernen? Was sagen die Daten überhaupt? Wie lassen sich faktenbasierte politische Richtlinien entwickeln?

Donnerstag, 26.11. 18h
#4: Migration from the Outside Looking In
Mit Fawad Durrani

Fawad Durrani befasst sich in dieser Episode mit den Erfahrungen, Meinungen und emotionalen Reaktionen der Menschen, die durch den Begriff „Migrationshintergrund“ markiert werden. Jene, die nicht in Deutschland oder Europa geboren wurden, mussten sich mit diesem Euphemismus engagieren und bieten eine differenzierte Perspektive auf die Frage, wer darf ein „Expat“ sein und wer ist „Immigrant*in"?