2020, Fri, Oct 30

Coordinating Practice

Due to the many scale effects and asymmetrical local concerns of the Anthropocene, coordinating action and research responses is riddled with challenges. This series of conversations highlights the problems faced when developing Anthropocene-related projects at different scales, both spatially and temporally. The contributors aim to both share and mitigate these collective coordination challenges by negotiating how context, power and communication all factor in to realizing a project or knowledge community while, at the same time, synthesizing how strategies can be translated into specific effects in the world.

7.30 pm
Coordinating Practice: Introduction
Patricia Reed

7.45 pm
Scale 1
Spółdzielnia “Krzak””, Gilly Karjevsky & Rosario Talevi, Monique Verdin

Members of the Warsaw-based collective „Krzak”, whose project deals with a singular site, speak with Gilly Karjevsky and Rosario Talevi about the complexities of working on their respective sites, both of which were repurposed for their activities during the Climate Care and Floating University projects.

8.15 pm
Scale 2
Fernando Silva e Silva, Nikiwe Solomon

Cape Town–based anthropologist Nikiwe Solomon and Porto Alegre–based philosopher Fernando Silva e Silva discuss the challenges around coordinating research projects that encompass entire regions.

8.45 pm
Between Scales
Raphaël Grisey & Bouba Touré, Ela Spalding, Simon Turner

This conversation focuses on projects that move between multiple sites and continents. With artist Ela Spalding of the nomadic platform Estudio Nuboso, geologist Simon Turner of the international Anthropocene Working Group and filmmaker Raphaël Grisey and photographer Bouba Touré, who document and participate in the Somankidi Coura farming project in Senegal.

9.15 pm
Discussion

Fr, 30. Oktober 2020

Coordinating Practice

Das gemeinsame Handeln und Forschen im Anthropozän wird erschwert durch die gewaltige Größe der Transformationsprozesse und die gleichzeitige Vielfältigkeit der lokalen Anliegen. Diese Gesprächsreihe beleuchtet die Probleme, die sich bei der Entwicklung von Projekten in verschiedenen räumlichen und zeitlichen Dimensionen im Zusammenhang mit dem Anthropozän stellen. Die Beitragenden diskutieren, wie gemeinsame Strategien entwickelt werden können, um Kontexte, Machtverhältnisse und Kommunikationsprozesse zu überwinden, die die Durchführung von Projekten und die Entwicklung von Wissensgemeinschaften erschweren.

19.30h
Coordinating Practice: Einleitung
Patricia Reed

19.45h
Scale 1
Spółdzielnia “Krzak”, Gilly Karjevsky & Rosario Talevi, Monique Verdin

Mitglieder des Warschauer Kollektivs „Krzak“, deren Projekt sich auf einen spezifischen Standort konzentriert, erörtern mit Gilly Karjevsky und Rosario Talevi die Komplexität ihrer Arbeit an den jeweiligen Orten, die während der Projekte Climate Care und Floating University umfunktioniert wurden.

20.15h
Scale 2
Fernando Silva e Silva, Nikiwe Solomon

Die Anthropologin Nikiwe Solomon aus Kapstadt und der Philosoph Fernando Silva e Silva aus Porto Alegre diskutieren die Herausforderungen rund um die Koordination von Forschungsprojekten, die ganze Regionen umfassen.

20.45h
Between Scales
Raphaël Grisey & Bouba Touré, Ela Spalding, Simon Turner

Dieses Gespräch richtet den Fokus auf Projekte, die sich zwischen verschiedenen Orten und Kontinenten bewegen. Mit Ela Spalding, Künstlerin und Gründerin der nomadischen Plattform Estudio Nuboso, dem Geologen Simon Turner von der Anthropocene Working Group, dem Filmemacher Raphaël Grisey und Fotografen Bouba Touré, der das landwirtschaftliche Projekt Somankidi Coura im Senegal dokumentiert.

21.15h
Diskussion