2020, Thu, Oct 29

A Trace, a Breath

With Babak Afrassiabi & Nasrin Tabatabai, Katrin Hornek, moderated by Margarida Mendes

Taking a cue from the more emergent properties of the Anthropocene, these two artist talks focus on making durational processes of accumulation sensible. The talks conclude with a discussion led by artist and researcher Margarida Mendes.

9 pm
Labour Lung
Babak Afrassiabi & Nasrin Tabatabai

Artists Babak Afrassiabi and Nasrin Tabatabai present their most recent work, Labour Lung, which uses a generative audio piece to depict the deleterious effects of smoking opium on the lungs and to explore how the corporeal effects of opium relate to colonialist and capitalist extraction.

9.30 pm
A Landmass to Come
Katrin Hornek

Artist Katrin Hornek discusses her work A Landmass to Come, which employs literal earth to convey a speculative tale of the geological landscape of Latvia and the industries that have flourished thanks to it.

Do, 29. Oktober 2020

A Trace, a Breath

Mit Babak Afrassiabi & Nasrin Tabatabai, Katrin Hornek, Moderation: Margarida Mendes

Ausgehend von den sich abzeichnenden Merkmalen des Anthropozäns beschäftigen sich zwei Gespräche mit Künstler*innen mit der Frage, wie über lange Zeiträume verlaufende Akkumulationsprozesse wahrnehmbar gemacht werden können. Im Anschluss an die beiden Gespräche folgt eine gemeinsame Diskussion, moderiert von der Künstlerin und Forscherin Margarida Mendes.

21h
Labour Lung
Babak Afrassiabi & Nasrin Tabatabai

Die Künstler*innen Babak Afrassiabi und Nasrin Tabatabai stellen ihre jüngste Arbeit Labour Lung vor, die die schädlichen Auswirkungen des Opiumrauchens auf die Lunge in ein Audiostück transponiert und die körperliche Erfahrung des Opiumkonsums ins Verhältnis zu kolonialistischen und kapitalistischen Ausbeutungsprozessen setzt.

21.30h
A Landmass to Come
Katrin Hornek

Die Künstlerin Katrin Hornek spricht über ihre Arbeit A Landmass to Come, in der sie mithilfe von buchstäblicher Erde eine spekulative Geschichte der geologischen Landschaft Lettlands und der in ihr angesiedelten Industrien erzählt.