2020, Sat, Sep 26

Conference: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

With Burcu Doğramacı, Steffen Haug, Eckart Marchand, Johannes von Müller, Elizabeth Sears, Bill Sherman, Matthew Vollgraff, Claudia Wedepohl

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg’s research approach was interdisciplinary, collaborative and international. What concepts came about due to his open assessments of artists such as Domenico Ghirlandaio and Albrecht Dürer? What significance did thinkers and researchers like Ernst Cassirer and Gertrud Bing have for the “workshop” in which the Bilderatlas Mnemosyne took shape? Scientists and curators discuss the concepts that were developed there and how they continue to influence contemporary art history and visual studies.

Day 1 | Day 2

Photography and Exhibitions

11 am
Welcome, introduction
Bill Sherman, Claudia Wedepohl

11.15 am
Before the Atlas. Exhibiting Cultural History in Wilhelmine Germany
Matthew Vollgraff
Lecture

Over a decade before Warburg began work on his atlas, two international exhibitions with with a strikingly similar approach took place: on the history of hygiene (Dresden 1911) and on the development of scientific images (Leipzig 1914). Both were curated by the Leipzig medical historian Karl Sudhoff, whose work Warburg knew and admired. Sudhoff sought to elucidate medical and scientific history in tandem with art and cultural history. The exhibitions testified to this ambition and consisted of assemblages of photographic reproductions (some provided by Warburg himself) recalling Bilderatlas Mnemosyne in form as well as content. What was the relationship between the atlas and these exhibitions? What were their diverging aims and understandings of history?

12 noon
Aby Warburg’s Dürer Exhibition at the Volksheim in 1905
Eckart Marchand
Lecture

In 1907 Aby Warburg published a text on recent and forthcoming exhibitions at the Hamburg Volksheim, mentioning his Dürer exhibition of 1905 in the Volksheim’s Annual Report. This occasional piece came to unexpected fame when, after Warburg’s death, Gertrud Bing included it in Warburg’s Gesammelte Schriften. As a result, the Dürer exhibition is relatively well known, while Warburg’s contributions to the Volksheim’s earlier exhibitions has been overlooked. What was Warburg’s role and agency in the staging of exhibitions in 1902? What is the significance of the Dürer exhibition in this, its original context? Rather than acting on his own, Warburg collaborated with others, as some of his sketches from that period show. What was the impact of these early curatorial experiences upon the designs of his later image series and the panels of the Bilderatlas Mnemosyne?

12.45 pm Q&A

1.15–2.45 pm Break

2.45 pm
Image Politics of Resistance: Exhibitions of the Exile Association 'Free German League of Culture' in London in the 1940s
Burcu Doğramacı
Lecture (via video)

In 1942, the exhibition Allies Inside Germany opened in an empty London shop. The show was organized by the Free German League of Culture. Its aim was to make the resistance in Nazi Germany visible and convince visitors that they had potential allies in Germany. Allies Inside Germany primarily utilized picture panels with photographs mounted on them about the rise of National Socialism and the resistance against it. The artist John Heartfield, who fled to London via Prague in 1938, produced the panels. Allies Inside Germany later toured successfully through cities such as Birmingham, Glasgow and Manchester. What image politics did these exhibitions employ? What is their relationship to the simultaneous shows at the Warburg Institute in London?

3.30 pm
A Tele-Visual History: Exhibitions after the Bilderatlas
Johannes von Müller
Lecture

After its arrival in London in 1933, the Warburg Institute conducted a series of photographic exhibitions. In doing so, the Institute’s staff relied on the experience of working in Hamburg alongside Aby Warburg on his Bilderatlas. In contrast to the atlas though, the photographic displays were in fact planned as exhibitions, designed even to be sent on tour and to address an unusually wide audience. Which are the new perspectives on the Bilderatlas that the exhibitions curated in the aftermath of the Institute’s emigration promise to offer due to such crucial differences?

4.15 pm Q&A

4.45–5.15 pm Break

The Atlas as Workshop

5.15 pm
Warburg’s Hertziana Lecture, January 1929: The Documents
Elizabeth Sears
Lecture (via video)

Documents in the Warburg Institute Archive allow us to follow Aby Warburg’s working process as, with Gertrud Bing’s help, he prepared to deliver a lecture, his last public lecture, at the Bibliotheca Hertziana in Rome and thus to produce a “Hauptkapitel” of his Bilderatlas. He did not show slides but instead pinned photographs on nine specially constructed screens and had the image clusters recorded in twenty large photographs taken by Pompeo Sansaini. Dictated drafts of the opening and closing of Warburg’s talk, as well as entries in the Tagebuch and Warburg’s diary, extant correspondence, and sketches and charts, serve to fill out the story. In his opening words, Warburg analyzed Plate 1 (Sansaini 1-2). This text provides a rare indication of what the Bilderatlas might have been, if finished.

6 pm
“Thirty Years of Pre-work”: Ghirlandaio and his Workshop as a Leitmotif in Warburg’s Life Project
Claudia Wedepohl
Lecture

Aby Warburg’s so-called Hertziana lecture was entitled: Die römische Antike in der Werkstatt Domenico Ghirlandaios. Although the accompanying visual apparatus on large screens went far beyond the oeuvre of Ghirlandaio, this Florentine goldsmith and painter, who had created fresco cycles for the Florentine bourgeoisie, was, remarkably, made a focus of the talk, and his work was intended to be a central component of Warburg’s Bilderatlas Mnemosyne. This paper will try to explain Ghirlandaio’s prominence by reconstructing the long ‘pre’-history of both lecture and Bilderatlas through the recurring theme of Ghirlandaio, his patrons and his workshop, proceeding from Warburg's student days to his first attempts at an Atlas through to a lecture delivered in Florence on the eve of the First World War.

6.45 pm
The Atlas as „Weltspiegel“. Warburg’s Reformation Panels 1928/29
Steffen Haug
Lecture

In 1928, Warburg has arranged several Atlas-panels on the German Reformation. Here, he has continued and expanded his research from this essay on Pagan-Antique Prophecy in Word and Image in the Time of Luther (1920). These preliminary panels document his interest on the early mass images of the Reformation and the relation between superstition and science. These panels were not included in the 1929 version of the Atlas. In what way did the characteristic use of images developed in these panels also influence the later panels?

7.30 pm Q&A

Day 1 | Day 2

Sa, 26. September 2020

Konferenz: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

Mit Burcu Doğramacı, Steffen Haug, Eckart Marchand, Johannes von Müller, Elizabeth Sears, Bill Sherman, Matthew Vollgraff, Claudia Wedepohl

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Ausstellungsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Ausstellungsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburgs Forschungsansatz war interdisziplinär, kollaborativ und international. Welche Konzepte entstanden durch seinen offenen Blick auf Künstler*innen wie Domenico Ghirlandaio und Albrecht Dürer? Welche Bedeutung hatten Denker*innen und Forscher*innen wie Ernst Cassirer und Gertrud Bing für die „Werkstatt“, in der der Bilderatlas Mnemosyne seine Form gewann? Wissenschaftler*innen und Kurator*innen diskutieren die Konzepte, die hier entwickelt wurden, und ihr Fortwirken in der zeitgenössischen Kunstgeschichte und Bildwissenschaft.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

Photography and Exhibitions

11h
Begrüßung, Einführung
Bill Sherman, Claudia Wedepohl

11.15h
Before the Atlas. Exhibiting Cultural History in Wilhelmine Germany
Matthew Vollgraff
Vortrag

Mehr als zehn Jahre bevor Warburg die Arbeit an seinem Atlas begann, gab es zwei Ausstellungen mit überraschend ähnlichem Ansatz: über die Geschichte der Hygiene 1911 in Dresden und in Leipzig 1914 über die Entwicklung der wissenschaftlichen Bilder. Kurator war in beiden Fällen der Leipziger Medizinhistoriker Karl Sudhoff, dessen Werk Warburg kannte und schätzte. Sudhoff forschte zur Medizin- und Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Verbindung mit Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte. Die Ausstellungen in Dresden und Leipzig illustrieren dieses Interesse. Sie präsentierten Anordnungen fotografischer Reproduktionen, die Warburg zum Teil selbst zur Verfügung stellte und die sowohl in ihrer Form als auch inhaltlich an den Bilderatlas Mnemosyne erinnern. Welche Beziehung bestand zwischen dem Atlas und diesen Schauen? Welche unterschiedlichen Ziele verfolgten sie und von welchem Geschichtsverständnis waren sie jeweils geprägt?

12h
Aby Warburg’s Dürer Exhibition at the Volksheim in 1905
Eckart Marchand
Vortrag

1907 publizierte Aby Warburg einen Text über die aktuellen und geplanten Ausstellungen im Hamburger Volksheim. Im Jahresbericht des Volksheims erwähnt er auch seine eigene Dürer-Schau aus dem Jahr 1905. Durch Gertrud Bings Aufnahme in die Gesammelten Schriften Warburgs erlangte der Artikel posthum unerwartete Popularität, und mit ihm erreichte auch die Dürer-Ausstellung relative Bekanntheit. Dagegen blieben Warburgs Beiträge zu früheren Ausstellungen im Volksheim weitgehend unbeachtet. Welche Rolle spielte Warburg bei der Inszenierung und Gestaltung der Ausstellungen des Jahres 1902? Welche Bedeutung hat die Dürer-Schau in ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext? Wie Warburgs Skizzen aus jener Periode belegen, arbeitete er selten allein, sondern zog die Kooperation mit anderen vor. Welche Konsequenzen hatte diese frühe kuratorischen Erfahrung für die Gestaltung seiner späteren Bilderreihen und die Tafeln des Bilderatlas Mnemosyne?

12.45h Q&A

13.15–14.45h Pause

14.45h
Image Politics of Resistance: Exhibitions of the Exile Association 'Free German League of Culture' in London in the 1940s
Burcu Doğramacı
Vortrag (per Video)

1942 eröffnete die Ausstellung Allies inside Germany in einem leerstehenden Londoner Ladengeschäft. Organisiert wurde die Schau von der Free German League of Culture. Sie sollte dem Widerstand in NS-Deutschlands Sichtbarkeit geben und die Besucher*innen davon überzeugen, dass es potentielle Verbündete in Deutschland gab. Allies Inside Germany funktionierte vor allem über Bildtafeln und darauf montierte Fotografien, die dem Aufstieg des Nationalsozialismus und dem Widerstand gegen ihn gewidmet waren. Verantwortlich für die Bildtafeln war der Künstler John Heartfield, der 1938 über Prag nach London geflüchtet war. Allies inside Germany tourte später erfolgreich durch Städte wie Birmingham, Glasgow oder Manchester. Welche Bildpolitiken nutzten diese Ausstellungen? Was ist ihre Bezug zu den zeitgleich stattfindenden Schauen des Warburg Institute in London?

15.30h
A Tele-Visual History: Exhibitions after the Bilderatlas
Johannes von Müller
Vortrag

Nach der Ankunft in London 1933 organisierten die Mitarbeiter*innen des Warburg Institutes eine Reihe von Fotoausstellungen. Dabei stützten sie sich auf die Erfahrungen, die sie in Hamburg bei der Arbeit mit Aby Warburg am Bilderatlas gemacht hatte. Anders als beim Atlas waren die fotografischen Darstellungen jedoch für Ausstellungen konzipiert, die auch reisen und ein ungewöhnlich breites Publikum erreichen sollten. Angesichts dieses relevant anderen Ansatzes stellt sich die Frage, welchen neuen Blick auf den Bilderatlas die nach der Emigration kuratierten Schauen des Instituts erlauben.

16.15h Q&A

16.45–17.15h Pause

The Atlas as Workshop

17.15h
Warburg’s Hertziana Lecture, January 1929: The Documents
Elizabeth Sears
Vortrag (per Video)

Aby Warburgs Arbeitsprozess lässt sich durch Dokumente im Archiv des Warburg Institute nachvollziehen, mit denen er – unterstützt von Gertrud Bing – seine letzte öffentliche Vorlesung in der römischen Bibliotheca Hertziana und damit das „Hauptkapitel“ seines Bilderatlas vorbereitete. Zu diesem Zweck montierte er Fotografien auf neun speziell konstruierte Wandschirme und ließ die Bildzusammenstellungen von Pompeo Sansaini in zwanzig großformatigen Fotografien festhalten. Diktate von Entwürfen für die Eröffnung und den Schluss seiner Rede, Einträge im Tagebuch und Warburgs Kalender, Korrespondenzen, Skizzen und Karten ergänzen die Dokumentation. In seiner Einleitung analysiert Warburg die erste Bildtafel (Sansaini 1-2). Dieser Text ist einer der seltenen Hinweise auf das, was der Bilderatlas hätte werden können, wäre er nicht unvollendet geblieben.

18h
“Thirty Years of Pre-work”: Ghirlandaio and his Workshop as a Leitmotif in Warburg’s Life Project
Claudia Wedepohl
Vortrag

Aby Warburg gab seinem so genannten Hertziana-Vortrag den Titel Die römische Antike in der Werkstatt Domenico Ghirlandajos. Der eigens dafür aufgebaute Apparat aus großen Tafeln mit hunderten von Einzelbildern ging zwar weit hinaus über das Œuvre des Goldschmieds und Malers, der für das Florentiner Bürgertum Freskenzyklen schuf, doch Ghirlandaio war – bemerkenswerterweise – die zentrale Figur in Warburgs Argumentation und sein Werk sollte auch im Atlas eine prominente Rolle spielen. In diesem Tagungsbeitrag wird der Prominenz Ghirlandaios nachgegangen; es werden die lange Vorschichte von Hertizana-Vortrag und Atlas über das wiederkehrende Thema von Werk, Werkstatt und Auftraggeberschaft Ghirlandaios, ausgehend von Warburgs Studentenzeit über die frühen Ansätze zu einem Atlas bis zum einem am Vorabend der Ersten Weltkriegs in Florenz gehaltenen Vortrag, rekonstruiert werden.

18.45h
The Atlas as „Weltspiegel“. Warburg’s Reformation Panels 1928/29
Steffen Haug
Vortrag

1928 arrangierte Warburg mehrere Atlas-Tafeln zur Reformation in Deutschland. Es handelt sich dabei um eine Fortschreibung und Erweiterung seiner Studien seit dem Aufsatz über Heidnisch-Antike Weissagungen in Wort und Bild zu Luthers Zeiten (1920). Diese ersten Tafeln dokumentieren Warburgs Interesse an den ersten Massenbildern der Reformation und an der Beziehung zwischen Aberglaube und Wissenschaft. In der 1929 erstellten Version des Atlas sind sie jedoch nicht enthalten. In welcher Weise beeinflusste der charakteristische Einsatz der Bilder auf diesen ersten Tafeln die späteren Tafeln?

19.30h Q&A

Tag 1 | Tag 2