2020, Fri, Sep 25

Conference: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

With Linda Báez-Rubí, Emilie Carréon, Philippe Despoix, Axel Heil, Roberto Ohrt, Giovanna Targia, Martin Treml, Tullio Viola

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Exhibition view | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg’s research approach was interdisciplinary, collaborative and international. What concepts came about due to his open assessments of artists such as Domenico Ghirlandaio and Albrecht Dürer? What significance did thinkers and researchers like Ernst Cassirer and Gertrud Bing have for the “workshop” in which the Bilderatlas Mnemosyne took shape? Scientists and curators discuss the concepts that were developed there and how they continue to influence contemporary art history and visual studies.

Day 1 | Day 2

Kulturwissenschaftliche Bibliothek Warburg (KBW) as Collective Biography

11 am
Welcome, introduction
Bernd Scherer, Roberto Ohrt, Axel Heil

11.30 am
Edgar Wind on Symbols and Memory. Pragmatist Variations on a Warburgian Theme
Tullio Viola
Lecture

The art historian and philosopher Edgar Wind in the early 1930s wrote several texts on symbols and cultural memory. How do these texts establish a connection between Warburg’s ideas and the pragmatist philosophy to which Wind was exposed during his first stay in the United States? Wind's interpretation of the polarity of symbols takes up a quintessential pragmatist focus on habit as the mechanism that lets us understand how expressive gestures develop out of practical actions. He used the idea of a mnemonic power of symbols to fine-tune the pragmatist conception of thought and action as a permanent oscillation between doubt and belief. Interpreted along these lines, Wind’s symbol theory invites a comparison to the other great pragmatist aesthetic of the early ’30s, namely John Dewey’s book on Art as Experience.

12.15 pm
Gertrud Bing - Zentralfigur im intellektuellen Netzwerk Aby Warburgs
Philippe Despoix, Martin Treml
Lecture in German

Gertrud Bing (1892-1964), a student of the philosopher Ernst Cassirer and a librarian at the KBW, was Aby Warburg’s closest confidante in the latter years of his life. They toured Italy together. Bing collaborated on Warburg’s final project, the Bilderatlas Mnemosyne; she was largely responsible for its coordination and – after Warburg’s death in 1929 – also for the KBW’s correspondence. She and Fritz Saxl were a perfect research duo. She later became the third director of the Warburg Institute in London. But, as she published little under her own name, her achievements have gone unnoticed. The lecture aims to highlight Bing’s achievements, not least because of her contributions to an intellectual biography of Warburg.

1 pm Q&A

1.30–3 pm Break

3 pm
The “mexikanischer Feldzug” of Aby Warburg: a Journey to trace
Linda Báez-Rubí, Emilie Carréon
Lecture (via video)

Little is known about the interest that subjects relating to Mesoamerican cultures sparked in Aby Warburg after his trip between 1895 and 1896 to New Mexico and Arizona. The ceremonies and ritual life of the different Pueblo Indians he witnessed there were seminal to his future reflections on the affective power of images as well as on their “afterlife”. His notes reveal his fascination for the serpent’s association to the form of lightning, for the stylized fret ornament on Pueblo pottery and architecture, and for the process of symbolization through which human beings, with lines, seek to grasp an unseen natural power. The Landesmuseum of Württemberg, Germany, possesses a feathered shield with a fret ornament at its center that dates to the fall of Tenochtitlan, the Mexican capital, in 1521. Why did this singular object attract Warburg’s attention? What light does his research shed on the study of Ancient Amerindian images and their afterlife?

3.45 pm
Symbolic Function, Language and Myth. Notes on Ernst Cassirer and the Mnemosyne Project
Giovanna Targia
Lecture

A focus on the earliest exchanges between Ernst Cassirer and Aby Warburg, starting from an analysis of Cassirer’s 1921 lecture Die Begriffsform im mythischen Denken: although Warburg could not attend it, it arguably contributed to reorient his own research priorities. What were the consequences of this episode? What are the reasons of what Cassirer himself called a ”prästabilierte Harmonie“ between his and Warburg’s work? To what extent does such a ”prästabilierte Harmonie“ resonate in the Mnemosyne project during Warburg’s latest years? Stressing a direct link with another lecture delivered in 1924 on “Language and Myth“,Targia will discuss Cassirer’s decisive reference to philology and comparative religion scholar Hermann Usener, interpreting it also as a source for the constructive principle of the Bilderatlas.

4.30 pm Q&A

5–5.30 pm Break

5.30 pm
Der Atlas und seine Spuren zu anderen Mitgliedern der „Arbeitsgemeinschaft in der KBW“ am Beispiel der Tafel 39
Roberto Ohrt, Axel Heil
Lecture in German

The atlas was conceived as a collective project by the KBW. Warburg always spoke of “our” atlas, at least in the inner circle of Fritz Saxl and Gertrud Bing, even if it was ultimately assembled almost exclusively by Aby Warburg. Panel 39 is often presented as a representative of the entire Atlas, as it leads back to the Hamburg researcher’s well-known dissertation and can therefore be placed on a solid theoretical basis. At the same time, it consolidates the author’s singular position, but the structure of this panel also reveals the “contributions” of other pillars of the KBW – or a debate with them: Ernst Cassierer, Edgar Wind and Erwin Panofsky.

6.15 pm Q&A

Day 1 | Day 2

Fr, 25. September 2020

Konferenz: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne

Mit Linda Báez-Rubí, Emilie Carréon, Philippe Despoix, Axel Heil, Roberto Ohrt, Giovanna Targia, Martin Treml, Tullio Viola

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Ausstellungsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne | Ausstellungsansicht | © Silke Briel / HKW

Aby Warburgs Forschungsansatz war interdisziplinär, kollaborativ und international. Welche Konzepte entstanden durch seinen offenen Blick auf Künstler*innen wie Domenico Ghirlandaio und Albrecht Dürer? Welche Bedeutung hatten Denker*innen und Forscher*innen wie Ernst Cassirer und Gertrud Bing für die „Werkstatt“, in der der Bilderatlas Mnemosyne seine Form gewann? Wissenschaftler*innen und Kurator*innen diskutieren die Konzepte, die hier entwickelt wurden, und ihr Fortwirken in der zeitgenössischen Kunstgeschichte und Bildwissenschaft.

Tag 1 | Tag 2

Kulturwissenschaftliche Bibliothek Warburg (KBW) as Collective Biography

11h
Begrüßung, Einführung
Bernd Scherer, Roberto Ohrt, Axel Heil

11.30h
Edgar Wind on Symbols and Memory. Pragmatist Variations on a Warburgian Theme
Tullio Viola
Vortrag

In den frühen 1930er Jahren schrieb der Kunsthistoriker und Philosoph Edgar Wind mehrere Texte über Symbole und das kulturelle Gedächtnis. Welche Verbindung zog er zwischen Warburgs Ideen und der pragmatischen Philosophie, mit der er sich bei seinem ersten Aufenthalt in den USA auseinandersetzte? Winds Interpretation der Polarität der Symbole gründete in einem konsequent pragmatischen Fokus auf das Gewohnte als Mechanismus, der uns verstehen hilft, wie praktisches Handeln in ausdrucksstarke Gesten mündet. Seine Referenz war die mnemonische Kraft der Symbole im Sinne einer Schärfung des pragmatischen Verständnisses von Denken und Handeln als permanentes Oszillieren zwischen Zweifel und Glaube. So gedeutet lädt Winds Symboltheorie zu einem Vergleich mit der anderen großen, pragmatischen Ästhetik der frühen 1930er Jahre ein: John Deweys Buch über Kunst als Erfahrung.

12.15h
Gertrud Bing - Zentralfigur im intellektuellen Netzwerk Aby Warburgs
Philippe Despoix, Martin Treml
Vortrag auf Deutsch

Gertrud Bing (1892-1964), Schülerin des Philosophen Ernst Cassirer und Bibliothekarin an der KBW, war die engste Vertraute Aby Warburgs in dessen letzten Lebensjahren. Zusammen bereisten sie Italien. Bing arbeitete mit an Warburgs abschließendem Projekt, dem Bilderatlas Mnemosyne: Sie besorgte weitgehend die Koordination und – nach Warburgs Tod 1929 – auch die Korrespondenz der KBW. Mit Fritz Saxl bildete sie ein perfektes Forschungstandem. Später wurde sie dritte Direktorin des Londoner Warburg Institute. Doch ihre Leistungen sind bisher unbeachtet geblieben, da sie wenig unter eigenem Namen publizierte. Der Vortrag will Bings Leistung in ein helleres Licht stellen, nicht zuletzt durch ihre Verdienste um eine intellektuelle Biografie Warburgs.

13h Q&A

13.30–15h Pause

15h
The “mexikanischer Feldzug” of Aby Warburg: a Journey to trace
Linda Báez-Rubí, Emilie Carréon
Vortrag (per Video)

Wenig ist bekannt über das Interesse, das Aby Warburg nach seiner Reise nach New Mexico und Arizona 1895 und 1896 an Themen im Zusammenhang mit den mittelamerikanischen Kulturen entwickelte. Die Zeremonien und das rituelle Leben der Pueblo, das er dort beobachtete, blieben jedoch nicht ohne Wirkung auf seine späteren Reflektionen über die affektive Macht der Bilder und ihr „Nachleben“. Warburgs Notizen belegen, wie sehr ihn die Assoziation der Schlange mit der Form des Blitzes faszinierte. Die stilisierten Mäander-Ornamente in Töpferwaren und Architektur der Pueblo begeisterten ihn ebenso wie der Prozess der Symbolisierung, bei der Menschen versuchen, durch Linien unsichtbare Naturgewalten zu verstehen. Im Besitz des Landesmuseums Württemberg befindet sich ein gefiedertes Schild mit einem Mäander-Ornament in der Mitte aus der Zeit um den Fall der mexikanischen Hauptstadt Tenochtitlan im Jahr 1521. Warum erregte dieses einzigartige Objekt Warburgs Aufmerksamkeit? Welches Licht wirft seine Forschung auf das Studium der alten indigenen Bilder und ihres Nachlebens?

15.45h
Symbolic Function, Language and Myth. Notes on Ernst Cassirer and the Mnemosyne Project
Giovanna Targia
Vortrag

Im Zentrum steht die erste Korrespondenz von Ernst Cassirer und Aby Warburg, ausgehend von der Analyse der Cassirer-Vorlesung Die Begriffsform im mythischen Denken von 1921. Zwar war Warburg nicht unter den Zuhörer*innen im Saal, doch der Vortrag hatte nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die Neuausrichtung seiner eigenen Forschungsprioritäten. Welche Konsequenzen hatte diese Episode? Woher rührt das, was Cassirer als „prästabilierte Harmonie“ des eigenen und des Warburgschen Werks beschrieb? Inwieweit findet eine solche „prästabilierte Harmonie“ Resonanz in Warburgs letzten Lebensjahren im Mnemosyne Projekt? Unter Verweis auf eine direkte Verbindung zu einem weiteren Vortrag von 1924 über „Sprache und Mythos“, diskutiert Targia Cassirers evidente Referenzen an die Philologie und den Vergleichenden Religionswissenschaftler Hermann Usener. Gleichzeitig interpretiert sie diese als Quelle für das Konstruktionsprinzip des Bilderatlas.

16.30h Q&A

17–17.30h Pause

17.30h
Der Atlas und seine Spuren zu anderen Mitgliedern der „Arbeitsgemeinschaft in der KBW“ am Beispiel der Tafel 39
Roberto Ohrt, Axel Heil
Vortrag auf Deutsch

Der Atlas war als kollektives Projekt der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Bibliothek Warburg (KBW) gedacht. Zumindest im engeren Kreis mit Fritz Saxl und Gertrud Bing sprach Warburg immer von „unserem“ Atlas, auch wenn er letztlich nahezu ausschließlich von Aby Warburg konstruiert wurde. Die Tafel 39 wird gern stellvertretend für den gesamten Atlas vorgestellt, da sie zur bekannten Dissertation des Hamburger Forschers zurückführt und somit auf eine solide theoretische Basis gestellt werden kann. Gleichzeitig festigt sie die singuläre Position des Autors, doch auch in der Struktur dieser Tafel lässt sich der „Beitrag“ anderer Stützen der KBW benennen – oder eine Auseinandersetzung mit ihnen: Ernst Cassierer, Edgar Wind und Erwin Panofsky.

18.15h Q&A

Tag 1 | Tag 2