2020, Sun, Aug 23

Space for Listening

With Lyra Pramuk, Lamin Fofana, Hüma Utku and Ramsha

Lyra Pramuk | © George Nebieridze

Lyra Pramuk | © George Nebieridze

Creating more space between one another, making the listening room bigger and the area where we can listen quietly and attentively – with one another. This is how artists can open up new areas with their sound, invite us to travel and explore. It is high time to listen carefully, to notice the surrounding structures and processes, to pay attention to different perspectives and thus open ourselves to changes, to be open to listening.

Curated by Andrea Goetzke

Lyra Pramuk

Lyra Pramuk has worked with Holly Herndon and Colin Self and, like them, gives the voice a leading role in her music. The classically trained singer always uses recordings of her own vocals as the basis for multi-layered and compositionally complex pieces. On her recently released debut album Fountain, she touches on classic pop and contemporary club motifs while also joining the ranks of avant-garde traditions.

Lamin Fofana | © Taliesin Gilkes Bower

Lamin Fofana | © Taliesin Gilkes Bower

Lamin Fofana

Ambient is often dismissed as wallpaper music. Lamin Fofana, however, employs rich textures and slowly unfolding dynamics as a basis for discourse. Since his debut in 2010, the versatile artist has repeatedly dealt with socio-political issues such as structural racism. Fofana’s latest album Blues, inspired by Amiri Baraka’s Blues People, completed a trilogy exploring the writings of Black authors.

Hüma Utku | © Oscar Rohleder

Hüma Utku | © Oscar Rohleder

Hüma Utku

Hüma Utku’s music makes the air clank. Under the pseudonym Roads at Night, she explored the tension between powerful electronic bass and melancholic moments on the highly regarded EP Şeb-i Yelda. She then perfected her approach last year on her LP Gnosis where abstract techno meets traditional instruments from the Arab world and choir chants, experimental forms and traditional styles.

Ramsha | © Promo

Ramsha | © Promo

Ramsha

Powerful, layered drones, eerie field recordings, booming noise, choral elements and, in the end, resounding orchestral sounds: all of this goes through the composition Hymns for Midnight in just eight and a half minutes. It can be found on the compilation HKH Cryosphere recently released by Chinabot. The sound artist and interdisciplinary designer Ramsha Shakeel thus presents her poetology. Her approach is versatile, the results are highly intense.

So, 23. August 2020

Space for Listening

Mit Lyra Pramuk, Lamin Fofana, Hüma Utku und Ramsha

Lyra Pramuk | © George Nebieridze

Lyra Pramuk | © George Nebieridze

Mehr Platz zwischen einander schaffen, den Hörraum größer werden lassen und das Gebiet, in dem es sich still und aufmerksam zuhören lässt – miteinander. So können Künstler*innen mit ihrem Sound neue Bereiche erschließen, zu Reisen und Erkundungstouren einladen. Es ist höchste Zeit, genau hinzuhören, die umgebenden Strukturen und Abläufe beachten, verschiedenen Perspektiven Beachtung zu schenken und sich so auf Veränderungen einzulassen. Sich dem Zuhören öffnen.

Kuratiert von Andrea Goetzke

Lyra Pramuk

Lyra Pramuk hat bereits mit Holly Herndon und Colin Self zusammengearbeitet und lässt wie diese beiden der Stimme eine tragende Rolle in ihrer Musik zukommen. Die in Operngesang ausgebildete Sängerin nutzt ausnahmslos Aufnahmen ihres eigenen Gesangs als Grundlage für vielschichtige und kompositorisch komplexe Stücke. Auf ihrem kürzlich veröffentlichten Debütalbum Fountain streift sie so klassischen Pop und zeitgenössische Club-Motive ebenso wie sie sich in avantgardistische Traditionen einreiht.

Lamin Fofana | © Taliesin Gilkes Bower

Lamin Fofana | © Taliesin Gilkes Bower

Lamin Fofana

Ambient wird gerne als Wandtapetenmusik abgetan. Lamin Fofana aber nutzt satte Texturen und sich langsam entfaltende Dynamiken als Diskursgrundlage. Seit seinem Debüt im Jahr 2010 setzt sich der vielseitige Künstler immer wieder mit sozialpolitischen Themen wie strukturellem Rassismus auseinander. Fofanas jüngstes, von Amiri Barakas Blues People inspiriertes Album Blues komplettierte eine Trilogie, die sich mit den Schriften Schwarzer Autor*innen auseinandersetzt.

Hüma Utku | © Oscar Rohleder

Hüma Utku | © Oscar Rohleder

Hüma Utku

Hüma Utku bringt mit ihrer Musik die Luft zum Klirren. Nachdem sie bereits unter dem Pseudonym Roads At Night auf der vielbeachteten EP Şeb-i Yelda das Spannungsfeld zwischen wuchtigen elektronischen Bässen und melancholischen Momenten erkundet hatte, perfektionierte sie ihren Ansatz letztes Jahr mit der LP Gnosis. Abstrakter Techno trifft darauf auf traditionelle Instrumente aus dem arabischen Raum und Chorgesänge, experimentelle Formen und bewährte Ausdrucksweisen.

Ramsha | © Promo

Ramsha | © Promo

Ramsha

Mächtige geschichtete Drones, gespenstische Field Recordings, dröhnender Noise, Chorelemente und zuletzt sogar schallende Orchesterklänge – all das durchläuft das Stück Hymns For Midnight in gerade einmal achteinhalb Minuten. Zu finden ist es auf der kürzlich über Chinabot veröffentlichte Compilation HKH Cryosphere. Die Klangkünstlerin und interdisziplinär arbeitende Designerin Ramsha Shakeel stellt damit ihre Poetologie vor: Ihr Ansatz ist vielseitig, die Resultate hochgradig intensiv.