2020, Sat, Aug 01

Hanna Hartman, Els Vandeweyer, Window Magic

In cooperation with Ausland

Hanna Hartman | © Helga Brekkan

Hanna Hartman | © Helga Brekkan

Hanna Hartman

You can hear the world in Hanna Hartman’s music. Whether in her works for radio, electroacoustic music or in her installations, the multi-award-winning composer weaves sounds together that she records during her travels. The collected sounds and Hartman’s world experience are a genuine experience for her audience. All the more so because she integrates everyday objects like hoses and bowls as instruments in her performances.

Els Vandeweyer | © Lothar Fietzek

Els Vandeweyer | © Lothar Fietzek

Els Vandeweyer

The vibraphone is a special instrument. It takes special musicians to compose for it. With her album Debut (2019), Els Vandeweyer proved she is one of them. The studio and stage partner of artists as diverse as Hans Unstern and the Serenus Zeitblom Octet also exhibited her jazz background by covering Thelonious Monk. The focus, however, was on weightless abstractions permeated with tense rhythms.

Window Magic | © Anne Bonkowksi

Window Magic | © Anne Bonkowksi

Window Magic

With his Window Magic project, Andreas Bonkowski goes back to where it all started for him: the tape deck. The musician, otherwise active in the indie segment, has been experimenting with cassette manipulations since 2011, which he arranges with a selection of synths to create atmospheric collages. Too nostalgic for noise, too gripping for ambient: Window Magic not only works out completely new music from old material, but also moves in its own sphere with his ghostly compositions.

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Sa, 01. August 2020

Hanna Hartman, Els Vandeweyer, Window Magic

In Zusammenarbeit mit Ausland

Hanna Hartman | © Helga Brekkan

Hanna Hartman | © Helga Brekkan

Hanna Hartman

In Hanna Hartmans Musik ist die Welt zu hören. Ob in ihren Arbeiten fürs Radio, mit elektroakustischer Musik oder in ihren Installationsarbeiten: Die mehrfach preisgekrönte Komponistin flicht Klänge zusammen, die sie selbst auf ihren Reisen aufgenommen hat. Aus gesammelten Geräuschen und Hartmans Welterfahrung wird so ein echtes Erlebnis für ihr Publikum. Umso mehr, weil sie bei ihren Performances alltägliche Objekte wie Schläuche und Schalen zu Instrumenten verbaut.

Els Vandeweyer | © Lothar Fietzek

Els Vandeweyer | © Lothar Fietzek

Els Vandeweyer

Das Vibrafon ist ein besonderes Instrument und für die Komposition darauf braucht es ebenso besondere Musiker*innen. Els Vandeweyer bewies mit ihrem Album Debut (2019), dass sie so eine ist. Die Studio- und Bühnenpartnerin von so unterschiedlichen Künstler*innen wie Hans Unstern und dem Serenus Zeitblom Oktett stellte darauf auch ihren Jazz-Hintergrund in Form eines Thelonious-Monk-Covers aus. Im Zentrum standen aber schwerelose, von spannungsgeladenen Rhythmen durchzogene Abstraktionen.

Window Magic | © Anne Bonkowksi

Window Magic | © Anne Bonkowksi

Window Magic

Mit seinem Projekt Window Magic geht Andreas Bonkowski dahin zurück, wo für ihn alles begonnen hat: ans Tapedeck. Seit 2011 widmet sich der sonst im Indie-Bereich aktive Musiker experimentellen Kassettenmanipulationen, die er mithilfe einer Auswahl von Synths zu atmosphärischen Collagen arrangiert. Für Noise zu nostalgisch, für Ambient zu packend: Window Magic arbeitet nicht nur aus altem Material ganz neue Musik heraus, sondern bewegt sich mit seinen gespenstischen Kompositionen auch in einer ganz eigenen Sphäre.