2020, Thu, Jul 30

1000 Serpentinen Angst

Reading performance with Banafshe Hourmazdi, Minh Duc Pham, Malu Peeters and Olivia Wenzel

Film still from 1000 serpentinen angst (trailer) | © Hai Anh Trieu, Olivia Wenzel, Philipp Rühr

Film still from 1000 serpentinen angst (trailer) | © Hai Anh Trieu, Olivia Wenzel, Philipp Rühr

“I have more privileges than anyone in my family has ever had. And still I’m screwed. I’m hated by more people than my grandmother can imagine. On the day of the Bundestag election, I spend 20 minutes using this claim to try and talk her out of voting for a right-wing party.”

Polyphonic and witty, Olivia Wenzel writes about loss and anxiety disorders, origin and racism, about flirting with capitalism and recurring encounters with snack vending machines. About five months have passed since the publication of her debut novel 1000 Serpentinen Angst – time for an interim assessment: How was the novel received by whom and why? What absurdities transpired during Instagram readings? And what questions have not been asked yet?

The performance intertwines various types of feedback: public, private, tonal. Readings, video works, live music and talks associatively merge. The question “Where are you now?” with which the first-person narrator of the novel is constantly confronted, is the center of gravity, productive digressing from this question is the motto.

By and with Banafshe Hourmazdi, Malu Peeters, Minh Duc Pham and Olivia Wenzel

Do, 30. Juli 2020

1000 Serpentinen Angst

Performative Lesung mit Banafshe Hourmazdi, Minh Duc Pham, Malu Peeters und Olivia Wenzel

Filmstill aus 1000 serpentinen angst (Trailer) | © Hai Anh Trieu, Olivia Wenzel, Philipp Rühr

Filmstill aus 1000 serpentinen angst (Trailer) | © Hai Anh Trieu, Olivia Wenzel, Philipp Rühr

„Ich habe mehr Privilegien, als je eine Person in meiner Familie hatte. Und trotzdem bin ich am Arsch. Ich werde von mehr Leuten gehasst, als meine Großmutter es sich vorstellen kann. Am Tag der Bundestagswahl versuche ich ihr mit dieser Behauptung 20 Minuten lang auszureden, eine rechte Partei zu wählen.“

Vielstimmig und mit Witz schreibt Olivia Wenzel über Verlust und Angststörungen, Herkunft und Rassismus, Flirts mit dem Kapitalismus oder immer wiederkehrende Begegnungen mit Snackautomaten. Seit dem Erscheinen ihres Debütromans 1000 Serpentinen Angst sind ungefähr fünf Monate vergangen – Zeit für eine Zwischenbilanz: Wie wurde der Roman von wem aufgenommen und warum? Was ereignete sich Absurdes in Instagram-Lesungen? Und welche Fragen wurden bisher nicht gestellt?

Die Performance verschränkt Feedbacks verschiedener Art: öffentliches, privates, klangliches. Lesungen, Videoarbeiten, Livemusik und Talks gehen assoziativ ineinander über. Die Frage „Wo bist du jetzt?“, mit der die Ich-Erzählerin des Romans ständig konfrontiert wird, ist Gravitationszentrum, produktives Abschweifen von dieser Frage das Motto.

Von und mit Banafshe Hourmazdi, Malu Peeters, Minh Duc Pham und Olivia Wenzel