2020, Sun, Jun 14

#4 Caring: Workshops & Performance

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

To care is to recognize all bonds, between both humans and non-humans; between humans and their systems, their infrastructures and institutions, and to attend to their fragility. Ethics of care challenge us to construct social relations and systems based on situational and contextual moral-ity, beyond abstract or universal notions of justice, to allow us to turn to processes of care, re-pair, maintenance and healing. More information...

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

Sunday, Jun 14

The third, and last day of the program invites the participants to follow and to join artist-led workshops, performances and meditative rituals of care. These acts of care challenge normative concepts, regulations and myths around motherhood, autonomy and infrastructures from diverse perspectives.

11am–1pm online, with registration

Workshop #4: Who depends on who? Deconstructing ableist perspectives of autonomy and dependence

With Júlia Souza Ayerbe

Dis*abled people have always designed mechanisms and structures to support and respect their own special needs and bodies to face ableism. At the present moment, the global population is trying to understand and develop new forms of life due to the limitations imposed by Covid-19, and much can be learned from the functional diverse community and disability studies. In the workshop participants are invited to interrogate their experiences and perspectives about “autonomy” and “dependence”. Together, they will investigate how invisible are the entangles of caring and the chains of production that sustain the ableist system, unmasking the neoliberal illusion of the “independent man” that stigmatizes vulnerable bodies as dependent, unproductive and worthless.

3–4pm Live stream on hkw.de
Public program: Love and Labor. Intimacy and Isolation. Care and Survival. A performance between mothers and children in a state of lockdown.
Online screening of a performance by Maternal Fantasies

Who cares for whom and what are the consequences? The feminist art collective Maternal Fantasies lets viewers peak into their homes, where artistic production exists alongside domestic tasks and childcare. Household items become toys. Kitchens become backdrops. Care work and parenting have historically been marked by gender-based inequalities, yet the current conditions of social distancing have acutely magnified these injustices. Against this backdrop, the performance seeks to understand “mothering” not as a physical and fixed category or identity, but instead as dedicated time, attention, nurturance, protection and an interrupted state of mind.

4–6pm online, with registration
Workshop #5: Cleansing the Pipes
With Teresa Dillon

Tubes, lines, pipes, connectors of fibre, submarine communications chains and forked paths, colonial plumbing circumnavigating the globe. Infrastructures support us to exchange and communicate. What stories do they hold? Casting telecom-spells, the workshop participants activate their collective imaginaries, traveling through the superhighways of the digital. Teresa Dillon will guide this mediation and visioning, which will be followed by a group conversation on the histories of the Internet, its environmental and colonial footprint and what it takes to keep it going. Why should we care about the environmental costs of the Internet? How is this balanced by its multiple uses, particularly in supporting expressions of care during times of hyper regulation, isolation and physical distancing?

Day 1 | Day 2 | Day 3

So, 14. Juni 2020

#4 Caring: Workshops & Performance

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Wattenmeer (2019) | © Maternal Fantasies

Fürsorge – hier mit dem mehrschichtigen englischen Begriff „Care“betitelt – bedeutet, die Fragilität von Beziehungsgeflechten anzuerkennen, die zwischen Menschen und Nicht-Menschen bestehen, zwischen Menschen und ihren Systemen, Infrastrukturen und Institutionen. Care als ethisches Konzept regt dazu an, soziale Bindungen und Systeme zu erschaffen, die auf einer kontext-spezifischen Moral beruhen, jenseits abstrakter oder universeller Vorstellungen von Gerechtigkeit – um Prozesse der Fürsorge, Reparatur, Pflege und Heilung in den Blick zu nehmen. Mehr Informationen...

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3

Sonntag 14.06.

11–13h online, mit Anmeldung
Workshop #4: Wer ist von wem abhängig?
Ableistische Perspektiven der Autonomie und Abhängigkeit dekonstruieren
Mit Júlia Souza Ayerbe

Be*hinderte Menschen haben schon immer Mechanismen und Strukturen erfunden, die ihre eigenen spezifischen Bedürfnisse und Körper unterstützen und respektieren und sich somit gegen Ableismus (ableism) wenden, also gegen eine Diskriminierungspraxis gegenüber Menschen, denen körperliche oder psychische Einschränkungen zugeschrieben werden. Aufgrund der Einschränkungen durch Covid-19 versucht die Weltbevölkerung momentan neue Lebensformen zu verstehen und zu entwickeln und kann dabei viel von der funktional vielfältigen Community und den Disability Studies lernen. Der Workshop lädt die Teilnehmenden dazu ein, ihre Erfahrungen und Perspektiven zu „Autonomie“ und „Abhängigkeit“ zu teilen. Gemeinsam untersuchen sie, wie unsichtbar das Geflecht der Fürsorge und jene Produktionsketten sind, die die Grundlage des ableistischen Systems bilden. Dabei wird die neoliberale Illusion des „unabhängigen Menschen“ entlarvt, die verletzliche Körper als abhängig, unproduktiv und wertlos stigmatisiert.

15–16h Livestream auf hkw.de
Öffentliches Programm: Liebe und Arbeit. Intimität und Isolation. Care und Überleben. Eine Performance von Müttern und Kindern in Zeiten der Quarantäne
Online-Screening einer Performance von Maternal Fantasies

Wer kümmert sich um wen und mit welchen Folgen? Das feministische Kunstkollektiv Maternal Fantasies erlaubt den Zuschauer*innen einen Blick in ihre Wohnungen, in denen künstlerisches Schaffen parallel zur Arbeit im Haushalt und Kinderbetreuung stattfindet. Hier werden Haushaltsgegenstände zu Spielzeug, Küchen zu Kulissen. Sorgearbeit und Kindererziehung sind historisch von Geschlechterungleichheit geprägt. Die momentane Situation des „social distancing“ hat diese Ungerechtigkeiten noch verstärkt. Vor diesem Hintergrund versuchen Maternal Fantasies in ihrer Performance, „Mütterlichkeit“ (mothering) nicht als eine physische und festgelegte Kategorie oder Identität zu verstehen, sondern als gewidmete Zeit, Aufmerksamkeit, Hegen und Pflegen, Beschützen sowie als unterbrochenen Geisteszustand.

16–18h online, mit Anmeldung
Workshop #5: Cleansing the Pipes
Mit Teresa Dillon

Rohre, Pipelines, Leitungen, Faserkabelanschlüsse, Tiefsee-Kommunikationsketten mit sich verzweigenden Übertragungswegen, koloniale Rohrleitungen: Sie umspannen unseren Planeten. Diese Infrastrukturen helfen dabei, sich auszutauschen und zu kommunizieren. Doch welche Geschichten tragen sie in sich? Auf einer imaginären Reise über die Datenautobahnen des Digitalen aktivieren die Teilnehmenden kollektive Vorstellungswelten und bemächtigen sich Zauberformeln der Telekommunikation. Diese Reflexionen und das Entwickeln von Visionen werden von Teresa Dillon angeleitet, gefolgt von einer Gruppendiskussion über die Geschichte des Internets, seinen ökologischen und kolonialen Fußabdruck und was es für sein Fortbestehen braucht. Warum ist es nötig, sich um die Umweltkosten des Internets Gedanken zu machen? Können sie durch vielfältige Anwendungen ausgeglichen werden – etwa durch Formen der Fürsorge, die in Zeiten enormer Einschränkungen, Isolierung und physischer Distanz, im Internet aufleben?

Tag 1 | Tag 2 | Tag 3